IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Stahlseele
post Sep 19 2011, 07:29 PM
Post #51


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



If you use the LOCATION as the Anchor, then YES, the Ward is ANCHORED to the location . .
Make a hole somewhere, and the Ward goes poof . .
If you use an ANCHOR as the Anchor for the Ward, then no, it is NOT anchored to the Location the Anchor is in, but to the Anchor that is in the Location.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Sep 19 2011, 08:08 PM
Post #52


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



The rub, Bearclaw, is that we don't know that's true. I'm happy enough to *have* it be true, to have astral anchors tied directly to Gaia's astral shadow, but the rules are ambiguous about it. Some people are pretty interested in reading the rules as 'anchor and any enclosing space', instead.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adarael
post Sep 19 2011, 08:20 PM
Post #53


Deus Absconditus
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,742
Joined: 1-September 03
From: Downtown Seattle, UCAS
Member No.: 5,566



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Sep 19 2011, 12:16 PM) *
4 Dice (Threshold 2) is not likely at all. And, If the Vehicle is warded, the Spirit may never penetrate the ward.


Threshold 1 or 0. Vehicle tests for Average or Easy terrain are Threshold +1 or +2, respectively, with a -1 to the Threshold difficulty when piloting in hot sim. You may be thinking of the Threshold 3 Crash test induced by damage equal to or over the body of the vehicle? But an "out of nowhere" crash test is likely going to be based entirely on the terrain, since it's not a specific manouver and it's just a test against the terrain itself not to crash.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mardrax
post Sep 19 2011, 08:27 PM
Post #54


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,083
Joined: 13-December 10
From: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Member No.: 19,228



Threshold 0 doesn't exist. A threshold needs to be met, not exceeded.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adarael
post Sep 19 2011, 08:28 PM
Post #55


Deus Absconditus
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,742
Joined: 1-September 03
From: Downtown Seattle, UCAS
Member No.: 5,566



It does when you have a Threshold of 1 and your hot sim driving gives you a -1 to all Thresholds on driving tests - it means "You automatically succeed." Otherwise hot sim does nothing for basic driving.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mardrax
post Sep 19 2011, 08:37 PM
Post #56


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,083
Joined: 13-December 10
From: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Member No.: 19,228



QUOTE (Adarael @ Sep 19 2011, 10:28 PM) *
It does when you have a Threshold of 1 and your hot sim driving gives you a -1 to all Thresholds on driving tests - it means "You automatically succeed." Otherwise hot sim does nothing for basic driving.

It also means everyone and their mother's blind, mentally retarded, biodrone dog on BTLs is aware of a Force 6 spell being cast anywhere in the world. And don't even start asking about the implications of a threshold of (6-F) where F is greater than 6.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adarael
post Sep 19 2011, 08:44 PM
Post #57


Deus Absconditus
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,742
Joined: 1-September 03
From: Downtown Seattle, UCAS
Member No.: 5,566



Perception checks can only be made when you can percieve something because it's in sensory range. If a spell of Force 6 is cast and you have line of sight to the caster, yes, you do not need to roll perception to see it UNLESS there are somehow some extenuating circumstances which increase the threshold. If I am across the city, obviously I am outside of the range necessary to sense it. The fluff has always supported the idea that casters making use of powerful magics are easy to spot, barring said extenuating circumstances.

Basic mathematics indicates that 1-1=0. Hence, if you have any dice and must reach a threshold of 0, success is automatic. If you have 0 dice with a threshold of 0, then I would suggest you fail given that you have no ability to actually make the test, even if it is trivial, such as a lifting test on a bag of groceries, witha strength pool of 0.

If we are seriously about to argue that things which are sometimes rolled for cannot become automatic by reducing the threshold of the test, then we have stepped into some kind of crazy territory where this discussion can't continue rationally.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Sep 19 2011, 08:54 PM
Post #58


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Adarael @ Sep 19 2011, 01:20 PM) *
Threshold 1 or 0. Vehicle tests for Average or Easy terrain are Threshold +1 or +2, respectively, with a -1 to the Threshold difficulty when piloting in hot sim. You may be thinking of the Threshold 3 Crash test induced by damage equal to or over the body of the vehicle? But an "out of nowhere" crash test is likely going to be based entirely on the terrain, since it's not a specific manouver and it's just a test against the terrain itself not to crash.


Crash Tests are ALWAYS Threshold 3. So, again, 4 Dice (Threshold 2) for that Rigger with the Rig we were talkkking about to not Crash. The rolls leading up to the Crash test may bepend on other variables, but the Crash Test is always Threshold 3. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Could be wrong though. I will look it up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adarael
post Sep 19 2011, 08:55 PM
Post #59


Deus Absconditus
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,742
Joined: 1-September 03
From: Downtown Seattle, UCAS
Member No.: 5,566



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Sep 19 2011, 12:54 PM) *
Crash Tests are ALWAYS Threshold 3. So, again, 4 Dice (Threshold 2) for that Rigger with the Rig we were talkkking about to not Crash. The rolls leading up to the Crash test may bepend on other variables, but the Crash Test is always Threshold 3. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


Where does it say Crash Tests are always Threshold 3? I found my PDF, and I haven't been able to find a reference to that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mardrax
post Sep 19 2011, 08:56 PM
Post #60


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,083
Joined: 13-December 10
From: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Member No.: 19,228



QUOTE (Adarael @ Sep 19 2011, 10:44 PM) *
Perception checks can only be made when you can percieve something because it's in sensory range. If a spell of Force 6 is cast and you have line of sight to the caster, yes, you do not need to roll perception to see it UNLESS there are somehow some extenuating circumstances which increase the threshold.

Whoever said the Perception test in question was a (purely) visual one, or that it requires LoS? Who defined whatever 7th sense picks the casting up, let alone its range?
And even if it were a visual one, it means said dog could see the casting from the moon, as long as there was no cloud cover.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mardrax
post Sep 19 2011, 08:59 PM
Post #61


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,083
Joined: 13-December 10
From: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Member No.: 19,228



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Sep 19 2011, 10:54 PM) *
Crash Tests are ALWAYS Threshold 3. So, again, 4 Dice (Threshold 2) for that Rigger with the Rig we were talkkking about to not Crash. The rolls leading up to the Crash test may bepend on other variables, but the Crash Test is always Threshold 3. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

False, see Ramming (SR4A pg 169). The ramming VR-driver actually has a crash test with a Treshold of 1 to pass.
Also, the closest reference I could find to the Threshold 3 is under Vehicle Damage:
QUOTE (SR4A pg 170)
Just like Knockdown, if a vehicle takes more damage from a single attack than it has Body, then the driver must make an immediate Vehicle skill + Reaction (3) Test to avoid crashing.

Notes this only applies when the vehicle threatens to crash from taking damage.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adarael
post Sep 19 2011, 09:02 PM
Post #62


Deus Absconditus
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,742
Joined: 1-September 03
From: Downtown Seattle, UCAS
Member No.: 5,566



QUOTE (Mardrax @ Sep 19 2011, 12:56 PM) *
Whoever said the Perception test in question was a (purely) visual one, or that it requires LoS? Who defined whatever 7th sense picks the casting up, let alone its range?
And even if it were a visual one, it means said dog could see the casting from the moon, as long as there was no cloud cover.


I provided line of sight as an example. Maybe you have line of smell, I don't know.

You are steering this conversation into crazytown. By the rules, I can roll a perception test and - with enough hits - sense anything, anywhere, because there are no sensory limits on what a Perception test can pick up. See, the chart gives a difficulty for hearing subvocal speech, but no indication of how far away I can make that roll. So obviously, 10 miles is fair, because there's no range penalty listed. GM adjudication is required to make perception checks ever work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Sep 19 2011, 09:05 PM
Post #63


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Mardrax @ Sep 19 2011, 02:59 PM) *
False, see Ramming (SR4A pg 169).
Also, the closest reference I could find to the Threshold 3 is under Vehicle Damage:

Notes this only applies when the vehicle threatens to crash from taking damage.


Looked in the Books I have access to currently. Average Driving Conditions, Light Traffic is the typical encounter. Which is Threshold 3. That may be what I am thinking. Will have to peruse my books at home...

And again. Rammed Driver makes a Crash Test (Threshold 3). I am seeing a pattern here. Could it be higher? Conceviably; but I do not really see it going lower.

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Sep 19 2011, 09:05 PM
Post #64


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



It's not clear to me that the -1 Threshold effect reduces Threshold 1 to 'Threshold 0'. I don't know if/how that exists, nor if you can reduce below 1.

There are distance penalties for Perception, though not very good ones. :/ Presumably, the GM is supposed to know that there's a max range on some things. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Sep 19 2011, 09:07 PM
Post #65


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



WTF? Looks like a delayed Double, errr... Triple Post. Weird.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Sep 19 2011, 09:07 PM
Post #66


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



WTF? Looks like a delayed Double, errr... Triple Post. Weird.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adarael
post Sep 19 2011, 09:12 PM
Post #67


Deus Absconditus
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,742
Joined: 1-September 03
From: Downtown Seattle, UCAS
Member No.: 5,566



QUOTE (Yerameyahu @ Sep 19 2011, 02:05 PM) *
It's not clear to me that the -1 Threshold effect reduces Threshold 1 to 'Threshold 0'. I don't know if/how that exists, nor if you can reduce below 1.

There are distance penalties for Perception, though not very good ones. :/ Presumably, the GM is supposed to know that there's a max range on some things. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


I think the "-1 Threshold" type effects are poorly thought out, especially since it means that they are not strictly applicable in opposed tests. Personally, I apply it as 1 extra automatic success on all tests, but that's not entirely germane to RAW.

But I would counsel everyone reading this to do the same, since it avoids these kinds of arguments. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Sep 19 2011, 09:24 PM
Post #68


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



I agree: the mechanic should either use Threshold mods extensively, or not. No messy in-between, and not without explaining corner cases like this. Another fun question is how that -1 Threshold rigger bonus affects combat. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif) And yes, that's the way we usually handle it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mardrax
post Sep 19 2011, 09:48 PM
Post #69


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,083
Joined: 13-December 10
From: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Member No.: 19,228



QUOTE (Adarael @ Sep 19 2011, 11:02 PM) *
I provided line of sight as an example. Maybe you have line of smell, I don't know.

You are steering this conversation into retardedville. By the rules, I can roll a perception test and - with enough hits - sense anything, anywhere, because there are no sensory limits on what a Perception test can pick up. See, the chart gives a difficulty for hearing subvocal speech, but no indication of how far away I can make that roll. So obviously, 10 miles is fair, because there's no range penalty listed.

On the contrary. You'll note the penalty for 'far away' range on a Perception test is -3. This wil rob the average human being of any chance to perceive whatever he's trying to perceive. Add in the -2 for being distracted and even the human trained to see things will be chanceless. Give the test a Threshold of 2, and even the world's best unaugmented perceiver will not reliably see the street sign his mark way ahead in the the distance just walked by.
This isn't a game where dealing with a trained baseline human is the baseline situation though. At what range someone with a Perception dicepool of 20 could detect subvocal speech? Who knows? I've always been a staunch advocate of playing up the effects of transhumanism there, not to mention a hater of the purely GM fiat denial that tends to be the alternative.

*shrug* It adds little to the discussion any more though. My point is: if you allow a Treshold 0 to be an automatic success, you might be creating more trouble than it's worth, and Retardedville is often the place to demonstrate these breaks, or see the angry mob carry them out of town for not being so retarded after all. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif)



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bodak
post Sep 19 2011, 11:53 PM
Post #70


Moving Target
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 583
Joined: 23-July 03
From: outside America
Member No.: 5,015



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Sep 20 2011, 01:01 AM) *
You do know that the Accident Power works without the Spirit entering a Vehicle, Right? And the theoretical Ward inside does bupkiss. :P
Not according to Frank.

QUOTE (onlyghostdanceswhiledrunk @ Sep 20 2011, 05:02 AM) *
thank you for the many opinions here; they are pretty much what we surmised in our debate. We both agree that the ward can be made in the vehicle but the key to our issue was the location of the warding (ie is it anchored inside the vehicle etc or would the spirit have to act through the ward if its a field around the vehicle). We decided the spirit could act without dealing with the ward because wards would want to be constructed the easiest way possible ie the interior of the vehicle is much less likely to change its shape/ disposition (think ramming or weapon damage) than the inside of the vehicle would (ala the placement off the widget etc).
Not according to Frank:

QUOTE (FrankTrollman @ Jun 7 2007, 08:43 AM) *
Remember that Wards are like walls. More than that, they are like air tight walls that go all around something. That's fine for a computer server or something else that doesn't have to get moved, but you'd never put one around anything that something magical might have to go through legitimately.

So you're not usually going to see a ward around a citymaster, because sometimes Ares likes to send spirits in to provide Movement and Guard, and having some third party wage mage put up a ward would keep that spirit from using it.


QUOTE (Traul @ Sep 20 2011, 02:47 AM) *
No it's not. What makes the ward sometimes move with its anchor, sometimes not?
Did you even read the thread I linked to which already dealt with this topic? Here are some choice extracts from it that should clear that up for you.

QUOTE (Synner @ Jun 6 2007, 08:33 AM) *
There seems to be a misunderstanding here.

A ward's frame of reference is not the "largest physical object" that the ward can encompass, but rather its relation with its anchor when the ward is raised (note the anchor must be inside the ward).

A ward must maintain its relative frame of reference with regards to its anchor (though that anchor may move around as long as the ward retains its shape). For instance: I want to ward a room. I tell the gamemaster that I want the ward to conform to the walls of the room (although I could tell him I want the ward to conform to a 5m³ of empty air in the middle of the room). I use the aforementioned rock/a magic circle/a series of candles in the center of the ward as the anchor. Once the ward is created, that relative frame of reference (with regards to the anchor) cannot be changed without disrupting the ward. Hence if the rock/circle/candles are kicked away, the ward is disrupted because the walls remain where they were and the anchor moves.

Were the walls able to move and maintain the same frame of reference with the moving rock/circle/candle (such as in the case of a container) then the ward would not collapse (and yes, this works much the same when warding in the open air though there the ground poses a problem, the anchor must be a meter off the ground if you stick to the rules literally). Hence you can ward a container or a car as long as the anchor remains static with regards to the ward. If the anchor moves the limits of the ward must be able to move with it.

The thing to grasp is that a ward's frame of reference is internal. What matters is that it remains at the same relative distance it was originally raised at with regards to its physical anchor (which must be inside it - see your quote below).


QUOTE (Synner @ Jun 6 2007, 06:09 PM) *
If the warded perimeter conforms to a physical reference (such as the walls of a building or the chassis of a van) and that physical reference is destroyed or seriously damaged then the ward collapses.

You might ask then why ever use a physical reference for the limits of a ward (ie. why not just ward a dome of "empty" space inside a room rather than its walls). Well, the best reason to do this is to hide it. If the ward conforms to the walls, the astral shadow of the physical wall hides the limits of the ward, this is convenient in a number of ways not least of which is to avoid people peeking in from "unwarded" corners of a room or vehicle.

During development we did discuss whether or not all wards should be limited to enclosed areas - but it was decided not to go with that option.


QUOTE (Synner @ Jun 6 2007, 11:12 PM) *
QUOTE (Aaron @ Jun 6 2007, 09:53 PM) *
QUOTE (Synner @ Jun 6 2007, 06:09 PM) *
No. At most you could physically pick up and move the anchor. Since the anchor itself is a physical reference and not an astral one then the "wards are not portable astral constructs" remains true. There is no means of moving the ward on the astral.
If a car with an internal anchor duct-taped to the ceiling moves, and the ward moves with it, does the ward not move on the astral as well?
Yes, the ward has moved and it has moved on the astral, this does not contradict the fact that it is not astrally portable. I believe that what we have here is a simply a misunderstanding as to the meaning of the word "portable."

It's physical form is portable, its astral form is not. Portable means that something "can be carried, transported or conveyed; easily transported by hand." (Webster's).

Nothing that I've said contradicts the fact that wards cannot be carried, transported or conveyed on the astral plane (hence "wards are not portable astral constructs" like say a focus. Wards can move however - if their physical anchor and its frame of reference can be carried, transported or conveyed on the physical plane.

I'll reiterate again not being astrally portable does not mean a ward cannot be moved (as long as its the physical components doing the moving). In your example, the ward has moved and has encountered an astral/projecting presence - resolve as usual (pressing through barriers rules)

This "ruling" is in fact simply a clarification that reflects both the intention of the author and the developers. It is not contradicted in either of the books you quote to the best of my knowledge. Nowhere does it say that wards are static and immobile.

All the base book says is that "a ward cannot be moved from its physical
component to another location" it mentions nothing about what happens when the physical components (the physical anchor and the frame of reference) are themselves moved. What the FAQ clarifies is that as long as the relative relation of the physical elements of the ward are not disturbed while being physically moved then the ward itself will move.

Note that the wards require both a physical component for its anchor and for its limits.


QUOTE (Synner @ Jun 7 2007, 08:44 AM) *
Note there is a difference between it being able to move and it being carried, transported, or moved. Had we said at any point that a ward's astral construct was immobile, static, or immovable, I'd concede your point. We did not. We said the astral construct of a ward is not portable.

I fail to see an inconsistency. Lack of clarity yes. Inconsistency no. The ward is erected with an anchor as its physical component — at the time it is raised an appropriate shape and size is defined which may or may not conform with physical elements present. As long as the internal relation between the ward and the anchor isn't changed the ward hasn't moved .

The core book (p.185) says as much, a ward cannot be moved from its physical component to another location. This means the two cannot be separated or distanced. It makes no reference as to what happens when the physical reference itself moves.

Because nobody actually thought of including it and because it went back and forth several times during development. Neither the authors nor the editors thought to include it. Note that the material you mention above is specifically about raising wards in the first place, nothing more, nothing less.

Again both Street Magic and the core book state that the ward cannot move in relation to the anchor. If the ward and anchor moves there has been no relative movement.

Because no one at the time thought it would be a huge issue since the rules astral constructs/entities/etc moving through one another had already been covered in the rule book.

The list in the relevant section of the rule book (p.185-186) covers all sorts of mana barriers including wards, mana barrier spells and magical lodges (p. 185 first paragraph). No where does it state that the aforementioned mana barriers have to be immobile. Please feel free to cite where the rules declare that wards are immobile astral constructs, or where the Passing through Barriers rules spell out what happens when an area astral barrier spell (which I assume you agree can be mobile and is a mana barrier), say cast by someone riding in a car, encounters a ward.

I reiterate, this is no new rule, it is a clarification on the interpretation of existing rules (especifically the basic rules on Wards in the BBB and in SM).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Sep 20 2011, 12:22 AM
Post #71


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



tldr; honestly, it makes you wonder why bother with the annoying rule about the anchor moving in the first place. A warded vehicle is a portable ward, so just let wards be portable… or fix it so they're not. That, and making a car a weapon focus. This question and more will be answered in an upcoming sourcebook. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/frown.gif) Feh.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bodak
post Sep 20 2011, 01:39 AM
Post #72


Moving Target
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 583
Joined: 23-July 03
From: outside America
Member No.: 5,015



QUOTE (Yerameyahu @ Sep 20 2011, 10:22 AM) *
tldr
Ahh so that's why people are just repeating the same "I think" arguments as were already expressed years ago. If you ignore the fact that it has been said before, you can imagine it still sounding fresh!

QUOTE (Synner @ Jun 7 2007, 08:44 AM) *
You are correct in that the wording in the corebook can be interpreted both as referring to the anchor or to the delimiters. Again this will be clarified in upcoming FAQ and errata.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Sep 20 2011, 01:49 AM
Post #73


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Let me introduce you to Dumpshock. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)

Ha, FAQ and errata. Dark humor, I see.

Anyway, I still don't see how 'you can move the anchor' jives with "If the physical anchor moves more than a few centimeters from its location at the time of the warding ritual, the entire ward collapses." You have to define 'location' as 'position relative to some things but not other things'. Writer's intent doesn't enter into it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Adarael
post Sep 20 2011, 02:20 AM
Post #74


Deus Absconditus
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,742
Joined: 1-September 03
From: Downtown Seattle, UCAS
Member No.: 5,566



I would just like to note that regardless of all content in this thread, and regardless of the fact that I agree with him in this instance, referencing Frank Trollman as a guideline on how to interpret things in Shadowrun is a very bad thing. This is a man who managed to somehow divine that if brainhacking could happen at short range, it could also happen at long range, because obviously the power required to transmit n bits between two points is constant regardless of distance, compression, modulation, or attenuation. And whose solution for this problem was to make brain hacking possible from anywhere, even if you were not using a computer, because obviously the only way to make commlinks ubiquitous is to make being without one a potential death sentence. Never mind that using his own logic, I'd never need to actually BRING my computer with me, because I could harden my headmeats from far away without risking my commlink being stolen.

So I wouldn't trust Frank's interpretation of ANYTHING as far as I could throw it, even if he wrote it himself. This is especially true when he hasn't bothered to read the rules all the way through, or actually comprehend the text, and throws out half-baked ideas and calls you rude names when you point out he hasn't understood what he's read.

(And also, he is one of the blandest writers the game line has ever seen. I know some have worshipped the ground he walked on, and he's an okay systems designer, but he is not a very impressive writer.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
KarmaInferno
post Sep 20 2011, 02:37 AM
Post #75


Old Man Jones
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,415
Joined: 26-February 02
From: New York
Member No.: 1,699



Um. Only one Frank quote so far.

It's been mostly Peter Taylor and Aaron Pavao. (Forum names "Synner" and "Aaron", respectively).





-k
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

7 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st June 2025 - 08:55 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.