IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How do non-awakend deal with spirits?, Is there something like magical bullets?
Jackstand
post Jun 10 2008, 04:02 PM
Post #126


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



QUOTE (crizh @ Jun 10 2008, 10:39 AM) *
Dual-Natured is a Critter Power and therefore penetrates ItNW. Dual Natured creatures have always had the great advantages of getting to use their normal physical stats against Spirits and other Astral threats, the ability to ignore ItNW and not suffering penalties for Astrally Perceiving.



Dual-Natured is a Critter Power, this I concede, but the capacity for Critter Powers to defeat Immunity to Normal Weapons doesn't apply to Dual-Natured. The Dual-Natured power is a reflexive one. A Dual-Natured Critter doesn't use its Dual-Natured power against a spirit when it attacks, though, it uses Unarmed Combat, which is not a power. An astral spirit does not have Immunity to Normal Weapons until it materializes. The Dual-Natured Critter would be able to bypass the spirit's immunity by attacking before it does so, but, unless there's something I'm unaware of, there's nothing in the rules that says it circumvents the immunity of a materialized spirit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
crizh
post Jun 10 2008, 04:19 PM
Post #127


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,666
Joined: 29-February 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 15,722



QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 10 2008, 05:02 PM) *
the capacity for Critter Powers to defeat Immunity to Normal Weapons doesn't apply to Dual-Natured.


I'm afraid I'm going to have to insist that you support that statement with a quote from the rules.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Jun 10 2008, 04:20 PM
Post #128


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



Natural Weapon is a critter power.
Immunity to Normal Weapons does not apply to critter powers.

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Drogos
post Jun 10 2008, 04:49 PM
Post #129


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 6-March 08
Member No.: 15,746



QUOTE (FrankTrollman @ Jun 10 2008, 11:20 AM) *
Natural Weapon is a critter power.
Immunity to Normal Weapons does not apply to critter powers.

-Frank

So cats and dogs are able to combat spirits without issue?

I always understood it that the materialized spirit had Immunity to Natural Weapons on the physical plane (because that's where the natural weapon existed). But since the spirit was dual natured, it could still be attacked on the astral plane as normal, per Astral Combat rules, and thus a dual natured critter interacted with the spirit via Astral Combat, bypassing the Immunity to Natural Weapons. Hence, barghests are teh badass.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
crizh
post Jun 10 2008, 05:53 PM
Post #130


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,666
Joined: 29-February 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 15,722



QUOTE (FrankTrollman @ Jun 10 2008, 05:20 PM) *
Natural Weapon is a critter power.
Immunity to Normal Weapons does not apply to critter powers.

-Frank


LOL.

I shan't hold my breath for errata there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Jun 10 2008, 08:46 PM
Post #131


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Frankly, the fact that things that bypass ItNW are explicitly listed in the power (weapon foci, spells, adept or critter powers, allergens) then its rather pointless to ask if there are any others.

Really, the only exception is astral combat, since ItNW is a P power, and astral combat requires at least 1 wholly astral entity, then obviously it wouldn't apply to any attacks from that entity.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post Jun 11 2008, 02:04 PM
Post #132


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



QUOTE (FrankTrollman @ Jun 10 2008, 11:20 AM) *
Natural Weapon is a critter power.
Immunity to Normal Weapons does not apply to critter powers.

-Frank


Natural Weapon doesn't affect the spirit, either. It affects the critter that has the natural weapon, by giving it that weapon. Unarmed combat affects the spirit, which is not a power.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Jun 11 2008, 04:31 PM
Post #133


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 11 2008, 07:04 AM) *
Natural Weapon doesn't affect the spirit, either. It affects the critter that has the natural weapon, by giving it that weapon. Unarmed combat affects the spirit, which is not a power.


That argument is like saying that a weapon focus sword doesn't affect the spirit, the edged weapon skill does. Its incorrect, as evidenced by weapon foci.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post Jun 11 2008, 04:36 PM
Post #134


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



It's not really the same, because the weapon focus says that it pierces Immunity, as does Killing Hands, which is a better comparison. Though, if the critter also was an adept and had killing hands, it could work.

Edit: Though, while looking at the description of the Natural Weapon power, it lists the range as Touch and the duration as Instant, rather than Auto and Always, I'm sure this is just referring to the use of that weapon, and they had hoped we would come to that conclusion as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WeaverMount
post Jun 11 2008, 07:54 PM
Post #135


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,069
Joined: 19-July 07
From: Oakland CA
Member No.: 12,309



Let's look at his for a sec.
QUOTE (SM 87)
Spirits possessing or inhibiting inanimate vessels won’t be
able to run around or throw a punch, but they may make full use
of their powers. As they are dual-natured, they may also be used
as weapons against astral forms (inflicting damage as appropriate
to the object type, or spirit’s Force ÷ 2, round up). For additional
effects and details refer to p. 101.


Does this mean a possessed bullet could 'be used as weapons against astral forms' and bypass ItNW as a wholly astral M attack? Also would energy Aura have a chance to trigger if the bullet isn't technically making or receiving a melee attack?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post Jun 11 2008, 09:32 PM
Post #136


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 10 2008, 03:46 PM) *
Frankly, the fact that things that bypass ItNW are explicitly listed in the power (weapon foci, spells, adept or critter powers, allergens) then its rather pointless to ask if there are any others.


This just occurred to me: While critter powers do break through Immunity to Normal Weapons, it doesn't, however, say that all critter powers do. The wording is ambiguous enough that it could mean either that all critter powers are exempt from immunity, or that some critter powers are exempt from immunity. In this way, the spirit could have his immunity against Natural Weapon, which makes sense, but not against, say, Elemental Attack or Energy Aura.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WeaverMount
post Jun 11 2008, 09:40 PM
Post #137


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,069
Joined: 19-July 07
From: Oakland CA
Member No.: 12,309



honestly the rules entity "critter power" got used for too much. Sapience shouldn't be the same thing as claws and teeth or the ability to Search for things in a huge radius. Even if it's a house rule feel like I need to use common sense when it comes to anything referencing critter powers as a class.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
crizh
post Jun 11 2008, 09:44 PM
Post #138


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,666
Joined: 29-February 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 15,722



Can a Materialized Spirit damage another Materialized spirit?

Why?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post Jun 11 2008, 09:57 PM
Post #139


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



QUOTE (WeaverMount @ Jun 11 2008, 04:40 PM) *
honestly the rules entity "critter power" got used for too much. Sapience shouldn't be the same thing as claws and teeth or the ability to Search for things in a huge radius. Even if it's a house rule feel like I need to use common sense when it comes to anything referencing critter powers as a class.


Well, if it's like I said, it's not a house rule. It's just an unclear one. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)

QUOTE (crizh @ Jun 11 2008, 04:44 PM) *
Can a Materialized Spirit damage another Materialized spirit?

Why?


This is actually something I was just thinking about. My answer would be that their basic attack doesn't penetrate the immunity (Unless they're something to which the other has a severe allergy), which makes for a more exciting all-out brawl between them, anyway, as they use all of their powers against eachother, instead. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Jun 12 2008, 04:23 PM
Post #140


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 11 2008, 10:36 AM) *
It's not really the same, because the weapon focus says that it pierces Immunity, as does Killing Hands, which is a better comparison. Though, if the critter also was an adept and had killing hands, it could work.

Edit: Though, while looking at the description of the Natural Weapon power, it lists the range as Touch and the duration as Instant, rather than Auto and Always, I'm sure this is just referring to the use of that weapon, and they had hoped we would come to that conclusion as well.

Weapon foci are described explicitly as ignoring ItNW yes. Adept powers (which killing hands is a part of) are described as ignoring ItNW too. Critter powers (which natural weapon is a part of) are described as ignoring ItNW also. What is so hard to understand?

QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 11 2008, 03:32 PM) *
This just occurred to me: While critter powers do break through Immunity to Normal Weapons, it doesn't, however, say that all critter powers do. The wording is ambiguous enough that it could mean either that all critter powers are exempt from immunity, or that some critter powers are exempt from immunity. In this way, the spirit could have his immunity against Natural Weapon, which makes sense, but not against, say, Elemental Attack or Energy Aura.
It also doesn't say all adept powers do. So, obviously since you're just punching them with killing hands, why should it pierce ItNW. If natural weapon doesn't ignore ItNW then killing hands shouldn't either.

QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 11 2008, 03:57 PM) *
Well, if it's like I said, it's not a house rule. It's just an unclear one. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)



This is actually something I was just thinking about. My answer would be that their basic attack doesn't penetrate the immunity (Unless they're something to which the other has a severe allergy), which makes for a more exciting all-out brawl between them, anyway, as they use all of their powers against eachother, instead. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)

Natural Weapon is a power, and they would be using it against each other, as using a power enhanced weapon is obviously a better alternative to just flailing with random body parts. If you really want a "fluff" explanation. Then without the natural weapon power, while the spirit might appear to be like a panther, it doesn't really use its claws/teeth to any advantage, since they're all the same "spirit matter". Having the natural weapon power would let it change the characteristics of the claws/teeth to be harder and sharper, making them actually more effective than the rest of the spirit to use in an attack.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Jun 12 2008, 04:44 PM
Post #141


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



And yes, the rule in Street Magic for picking up and hitting an astral entity with a spirit was intended to be the general rule as well. It's smoothly derivable from the rules as printed. If you hit an astral entity with a dual natured object or your own dual natured self, that totally works. It works if they are purely astral, it works if they are materialized and have immunity to normal weapons.

Now it's problematic to try to hit someone with a non-weapon focus, because it's not weaponized on the astral plane and it's just like hitting them with a ghoul. But if you're OK with the rather underwhelming damage code for improvised weapon, then go for it.

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Jun 12 2008, 04:48 PM
Post #142


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Frank, don't foci cease being dual-natured when they aren't active?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Jun 12 2008, 05:03 PM
Post #143


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 12 2008, 11:48 AM) *
Frank, don't foci cease being dual-natured when they aren't active?


Yes. But you can keep it active as long as it touches your body. So while you can't throw or shoot an active focus at someone, you can pick up your incredibly expensive power focus and smack a spirit with it.

Generally you're better off just using your fist or an attack of will through any random mundane object. You about the same damage and you aren't swinging around something that is worth tens of thousands of nuyen.

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post Jun 12 2008, 05:08 PM
Post #144


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 12 2008, 11:23 AM) *
Weapon foci are described explicitly as ignoring ItNW yes. Adept powers (which killing hands is a part of) are described as ignoring ItNW too. Critter powers (which natural weapon is a part of) are described as ignoring ItNW also. What is so hard to understand?

All weapon foci ignore Immunity to Normal Weapons, but that's in the description of Weapon Foci, whereas it's not in the description of Critter Powers or Adept Abilities that they all ignore Immunity to Normal Weapons, but only in the description of a particular adept ability, and, it would seem, left to GM discretion which Critter Powers, some of which it says are natural, and others magical, pass through.

QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 12 2008, 11:23 AM) *
It also doesn't say all adept powers do. So, obviously since you're just punching them with killing hands, why should it pierce ItNW. If natural weapon doesn't ignore ItNW then killing hands shouldn't either.

It should because the description of Killing Hands says that it does, whereas other adept powers, like, say, Power Throw or Penetrating or Critical Strike, which conceivably could, don't. You could also reason that some spells do and some don't, particularly, say, indirect combat spells, which are resisted with armor, or, even more likely, telekinetic manipulation spells like Fling, Magic Fingers or Poltergeist.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankTrollman
post Jun 12 2008, 05:15 PM
Post #145


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,732
Joined: 1-September 05
From: Prague, Czech Republic
Member No.: 7,665



QUOTE (Jackstand)
All weapon foci ignore Immunity to Normal Weapons, but that's in the description of Weapon Foci, whereas it's not in the description of Critter Powers or Adept Abilities that they all ignore Immunity to Normal Weapons, but only in the description of a particular adept ability, and, it would seem, left to GM discretion which Critter Powers, some of which it says are natural, and others magical, pass through.


Dude, it's in the description of Immunity to Normal Weapons that Adept and Critter powers pass through it. The text in Killing Hands to that effect is a redundant reminder.

-Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Jun 12 2008, 05:25 PM
Post #146


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 12 2008, 11:08 AM) *
All weapon foci ignore Immunity to Normal Weapons, but that's in the description of Weapon Foci, whereas it's not in the description of Critter Powers or Adept Abilities that they all ignore Immunity to Normal Weapons, but only in the description of a particular adept ability, and, it would seem, left to GM discretion which Critter Powers, some of which it says are natural, and others magical, pass through.

It is also in the description of ItNW that weapon foci, spells, and critter/adept powers bypass it.

QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 12 2008, 11:08 AM) *
It should because the description of Killing Hands says that it does, whereas other adept powers, like, say, Power Throw or Penetrating or Critical Strike, which conceivably could, don't. You could also reason that some spells do and some don't, particularly, say, indirect combat spells, which are resisted with armor, or, even more likely, telekinetic manipulation spells like Fling, Magic Fingers or Poltergeist.

Again, ItNW specifies magical weapons as being weapon foci, spells, adept or critter powers.

Natural weapon can replace the regular unarmed attack of a spirit, and is a spirit power, as such, it is a magical weapon that should bypass ItNW.

Indirect combat spells DO bypass the ItNW. Force 4 earth spirit. You cast a force 4 flamethower at it. It gets its reaction to dodge. And then its Body for soak if you still hit. Why no armor? Because flamethrower is a magical attack and bypasses the ItNW that it has, so it has effectively 0 armor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post Jun 12 2008, 06:46 PM
Post #147


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



QUOTE (FrankTrollman @ Jun 12 2008, 12:15 PM) *
Dude, it's in the description of Immunity to Normal Weapons that Adept and Critter powers pass through it. The text in Killing Hands to that effect is a redundant reminder.

-Frank


QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 12 2008, 12:25 PM) *
It is also in the description of ItNW that weapon foci, spells, and critter/adept powers bypass it.


So, do you mean to say that all Adept Powers penetrate Immunity to Normal Weapons, too? If it's a redundant reminder, as Frank suggests, they must, since otherwise, if it was showing that Killing Hands was the only adept power to do so, it wouldn't be redundant.

QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 12 2008, 12:25 PM) *
Indirect combat spells DO bypass the ItNW. Force 4 earth spirit. You cast a force 4 flamethower at it. It gets its reaction to dodge. And then its Body for soak if you still hit. Why no armor? Because flamethrower is a magical attack and bypasses the ItNW that it has, so it has effectively 0 armor.


But what about telekinetic manipulations? I'm totally willing to accept that indirect combat works, since that one I could have gone either way on, but I am in no way convinced about the manipulations, which you chose not to address.

QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 12 2008, 12:25 PM) *
Natural weapon can replace the regular unarmed attack of a spirit, and is a spirit power, as such, it is a magical weapon that should bypass ItNW.

Of the normal spirit types, Natural Weapon is actually only a power for Guardian and Beast spirits, and, it may actually be a magical weapon for them, because in their case, it is magical in nature. However, it is also a power of a runner's pet german shepherd, and should, in their case, in no way apply to piercing Immunity to Normal Weapons, no matter how lovable the dog may be.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoelHalpern
post Jun 12 2008, 07:14 PM
Post #148


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 656
Joined: 18-January 06
From: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Member No.: 8,177



It is clear what the rules say.
For reasons mysterious and strange the claws and teeth of predators ignore Immunity to Normal Weapons.
Why non-magical predators picked this up when the world awakened, but herbivores did not (a horses hooves ought to be quite dangerous, but do not pick up this power. Nor the back-kick of a mule. Nor, presumably, the bite of a hippo, one of the most fearsome natural beasts on the planet. Sure, its teeth are herbivorous molars designed to eat water plants. Get him angry and he wilbreak you. Even crocodiles have the sense not to mess with hippos.)

I can wish it made more sense, from a consistency standpoint. But it is pretty clear. Sharpened teeth and claws usually get special treatment. (There is no eagle or hawk example to tell which category they fall into.)

Yours,
Joel Halpern
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Jun 12 2008, 07:22 PM
Post #149


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 12 2008, 12:46 PM) *
So, do you mean to say that all Adept Powers penetrate Immunity to Normal Weapons, too? If it's a redundant reminder, as Frank suggests, they must, since otherwise, if it was showing that Killing Hands was the only adept power to do so, it wouldn't be redundant.

Well, the ones which are weapons... which are... killing hands, distance strike, and elemental strike.


QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 12 2008, 12:46 PM) *
But what about telekinetic manipulations? I'm totally willing to accept that indirect combat works, since that one I could have gone either way on, but I am in no way convinced about the manipulations, which you chose not to address.

What about them? They bypass it. Lets see, damaging manipulation spells... Fling doesn't count, because the spell doesn't cause the damage, it just lets the caster make a normal ranged attack roll. Ignite, yeah, that'd bypass it. Levitate no, same reason as fling, is resolved as a regular ranged attack roll. Magic fingers sure would. Poltergeist wouldn't, due to it not causing the damage, but the debris flying around causing it. [Element] Aura would for sure. So would [element] wall. Offensive mana barrier too. As would spirit barrier/zapper.

QUOTE (Jackstand @ Jun 12 2008, 12:46 PM) *
Of the normal spirit types, Natural Weapon is actually only a power for Guardian and Beast spirits, and, it may actually be a magical weapon for them, because in their case, it is magical in nature. However, it is also a power of a runner's pet german shepherd, and should, in their case, in no way apply to piercing Immunity to Normal Weapons, no matter how lovable the dog may be.

Critters are different. Maybe its because dogs aren't sentient and thus fully 100% no doubt at all believe their teeth work as well as on a person, so they do.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JoelHalpern
post Jun 12 2008, 07:45 PM
Post #150


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 656
Joined: 18-January 06
From: Leesburg, Virginia, USA
Member No.: 8,177



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Jun 12 2008, 03:22 PM) *
...
Critters are different. Maybe its because dogs aren't sentient and thus fully 100% no doubt at all believe their teeth work as well as on a person, so they do.


While I would like to find a reason to match the rules, the one you suggest doesn't seem to do it. Byt that reasoning, a horse would also bypass immunity. As would a camel's bite , etc. (I am inferring from the only available non-predator non-para critter, the horse.)

Joel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

8 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 7th June 2025 - 12:22 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.