IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Armor and how to get it (Sky High!), Getting 100+ armor bonus consistantly for fun and profit
Tarantula
post Oct 20 2008, 02:37 PM
Post #176


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Neraph @ Oct 19 2008, 10:02 AM) *
I cede the point of permanent duration spells Tarantula, but there are still a lot of things I don't believe you're seeing. The fact that the rigger cocoon is treated as a barrier and is in the vehicle prevents stun damage from damaging the barrier, thus ending LoE for your soundwave. I don't believe it will affect the rigger. It should, but I don't think the rules support your claim. I suggest you use a manabolt, which if I am not mistaken will ignore all the unliving components and damage him anyways.

Manabolts won't work, because you do not have LOS to him. That is why a soundwave does work, is because it does not require LOS to anything except the center of the area that is affected.

QUOTE (Neraph @ Oct 19 2008, 10:02 AM) *
Even if your soundwave does work, all you've proven is you'll have to specially build a character to defeat this mecha, meaning in the real game world, he's virtually unbeatable. Only Military and Special Mages can hurt it. Good job Ragewind.

Not even a specially built character. Any mage with at least 5 magic who knows soundwave and is willing to overcast it as high as he can. Also, as was shown, quite a few normal AV weaponry can still damage the vehicle too. Since the vehicle just has 20 armor 10 body (plus whatever spells you're willing to give it).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 20 2008, 08:21 PM
Post #177


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE
Even if your soundwave does work, all you've proven is you'll have to specially build a character to defeat this mecha, meaning in the real game world, he's virtually unbeatable. Only Military and Special Mages can hurt it.

Or anyone with Edge and a lucky shot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 20 2008, 09:02 PM
Post #178


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Which depends on GM allowance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 20 2008, 10:00 PM
Post #179


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Oct 20 2008, 01:02 PM) *
Which depends on GM allowance.

So does the mechatank.

If a GM's allowing that, then don't tell me that I need to deal with a conservative GM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 20 2008, 10:02 PM
Post #180


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Whats so broken about the car? I see 20 armor (body 10, so book legal). 10 Personal armor. And a rigger cocoon. The "allowance" needed is letting him fit in the rigger cocoon with ballistic shields and so much armor on he can't move. Not the car.

You can't tell me most rigger characters doing the command vehicle thing haven't come up with something similar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 20 2008, 10:16 PM
Post #181


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Oct 20 2008, 02:02 PM) *
Whats so broken about the car? I see 20 armor (body 10, so book legal). 10 Personal armor. And a rigger cocoon. The "allowance" needed is letting him fit in the rigger cocoon with ballistic shields and so much armor on he can't move. Not the car.

You can't tell me most rigger characters doing the command vehicle thing haven't come up with something similar.

You're still relying on GM permission for his trick to work. And if he can presume GM permission, so can I.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 20 2008, 10:44 PM
Post #182


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 20 2008, 03:16 PM) *
You're still relying on GM permission for his trick to work. And if he can presume GM permission, so can I.


What GM permission? We still hit at least 50 armor, without any worn armor by the character at all. So no, we aren't. In fact, the version I argued for, was only able to wear armor such that he was at a 1 in a physical attribute. So no, it does not require "special gm permission" anymore than just having the character OKed.

For the sake of arguement, assume you are allowed to make your called shot, sure, but you have to sucessfully penetrate the rigger cocoon barrier that is surrounding him to actually damage him.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 01:20 AM
Post #183


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Oct 20 2008, 03:44 PM) *
What GM permission? We still hit at least 50 armor, without any worn armor by the character at all. So no, we aren't. In fact, the version I argued for, was only able to wear armor such that he was at a 1 in a physical attribute. So no, it does not require "special gm permission" anymore than just having the character OKed.

For the sake of arguement, assume you are allowed to make your called shot, sure, but you have to sucessfully penetrate the rigger cocoon barrier that is surrounding him to actually damage him.

The barrier qualifies as armor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 03:22 AM
Post #184


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



But calling a shot to avoid armor only negates armor he benefits from, it doesn't prevent the rules for shooting through a barrier from taking effect.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 03:32 AM
Post #185


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Oct 20 2008, 08:22 PM) *
But calling a shot to avoid armor only negates armor he benefits from, it doesn't prevent the rules for shooting through a barrier from taking effect.

The problem is, shooting through a barrier only adds armor:
QUOTE (SR4 @ p 157)
If a character wants to shoot through a barrier to hit a target
behind it, add the barrier’s Armor rating to whatever armor the
target already possesses. The attacker also suffers a –6 Blind Fire
dice pool modifier because he cannot see the intended target, unless
the barrier is transparent.

So, when you call a shot to bypass Armor, you also bypass Barriers as well. You still have the Blind Fire penalty to deal with; but since we're discussing a Longshot anyway, that doesn't matter at all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 03:41 AM
Post #186


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Wrong. And you obviously don't want to apply this because its the very next paragraph.
SR4, 157, "If the weapon’s modified Damage Value does not exceed the
barrier’s Armor rating (modified by the weapon’s AP), then the
weapon is simply not strong enough to pierce the barrier, and the
attack automatically fails."
You reduce the characters armor to 0 for the shot. The barrier still has 20 armor. So, unless your shot does more DV than barrier armor - AP then it doesn't do damage, even if you bypassed the characters armor rating that the barrier added to.

Now, before you refute this, let me make sure I can explain it as clearly as possible. Best way I can think of is to use variables.
B = barrier armor. In this case b = 20.
C = characters armor. In this case, 50+.
You make a called shot, for a penalty of -C. You are unable to make this, without taking a longshot test. This sets C = 0 for your shot.
You take a longshot test. This still goes through the barrier, which is why the barrier added to the characters armor.
Shooting through a barrier says the DV has to beat armor - ap. B still equals 20, because you reduced C, not B.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 03:59 AM
Post #187


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Note that your quote references "Modified" armor values. Even though you didn't reduce the barrier's rating, you modified its armor to 0. Using your equasion:

B= Barrier's armor = 20
C= Character's armor = 50+
A= Total Armor rating = 70+
M= Modified Armor rating = 0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 04:07 AM
Post #188


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 20 2008, 09:59 PM) *
Note that your quote references "Modified" armor values. Even though you didn't reduce the barrier's rating, you modified its armor to 0. Using your equasion:

B= Barrier's armor = 20
C= Character's armor = 50+
A= Total Armor rating = 70+
M= Modified Armor rating = 0

Wrong. You modify the characters armor, not the barriers. The 50+ was already the characters modified armor, as his actual armor is something in the 0-6 range. +20 vehicle armor + 10 personal armor + 20 barrier in the way + magical spells = 50+.
You even show that B is still 20. Which is what is compared for shooting through a barrier.

Not to mention,
SR4, 150, Called shot options "Target an area not protected by armor. The attacking character receives a negative dice pool modifier equal to the target’s armor (better armor is more difficult to bypass). If the attack hits, the target’s armor is ignored for the damage resistance test; the target rolls only Body."

So, it even is explicitly only ignored for the damage resistance test. Thus, when you check to see if it makes it past the barrier, no matter what, it has its full armor value, as that isn't the damage resistance test.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 04:17 AM
Post #189


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE
So, it even is explicitly only ignored for the damage resistance test. Thus, when you check to see if it makes it past the barrier, no matter what, it has its full armor value, as that isn't the damage resistance test.

But the part you cite is *part* of the damage resistance test. The modified armor is 0, so it bypasses it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 04:24 AM
Post #190


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 20 2008, 10:17 PM) *
But the part you cite is *part* of the damage resistance test. The modified armor is 0, so it bypasses it.

No, it isn't. Shooting through a barrier is not part of the damage resistance test. It is its own check done, when you shoot through the barrier. Not enough damage, no damage resistance test.

Also, you still are only modifying your target's armor. Not the barriers. The barrier still has 20 armor.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 04:34 AM
Post #191


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



You add the barrier's Armor to the target's. So, it does stack, and gets bypassed as a stack.

You're also assuming I'm not firing a weapon with a base power of 10 or greater.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 04:49 AM
Post #192


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 20 2008, 10:34 PM) *
You add the barrier's Armor to the target's. So, it does stack, and gets bypassed as a stack.

You're also assuming I'm not firing a weapon with a base power of 10 or greater.


You do add the barriers to the targets yes. But you only bypass the targets. And when checking to see if an attack passes through the barrier, you check against the barriers armor, not the targets.

You mean 20? Or something with a power that is greater than 20-its ap?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 04:59 AM
Post #193


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE
You do add the barriers to the targets yes. But you only bypass the targets. And when checking to see if an attack passes through the barrier, you check against the barriers armor, not the targets.

The barrier's *modifed* armor. Which, we have established, is zero.

And you're right. I was thinking about the Structure rating, and got confused. Nevertheless, weapon choice does not matter for the longshot test. We don't need skill in the weapon to default, and the defaulting penalty is just one more to add to the longshot pile.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 05:05 AM
Post #194


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



No, we have established that the targets modified armor is 0. The barrier is not the target, the character is. Thus, the barrier retains its full armor value for purposes of shooting through barriers.

Weapon choice does matter, as you have to be able to break through the barrier.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 06:00 AM
Post #195


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE
No, we have established that the targets modified armor is 0. The barrier is not the target, the character is. Thus, the barrier retains its full armor value for purposes of shooting through barriers.

The barrier is considered to be part of the target's modified armor, which is reduced to zero. Thus, a toothpick fired from a rubber band can now get through.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sgt_Pedro
post Oct 21 2008, 06:25 AM
Post #196


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 28-September 08
Member No.: 16,383



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Oct 20 2008, 10:37 AM) *
Manabolts won't work, because you do not have LOS to him. That is why a soundwave does work, is because it does not require LOS to anything except the center of the area that is affected.


Just use Manaball?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Oct 21 2008, 06:41 AM
Post #197


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Sgt_Pedro @ Oct 21 2008, 05:25 PM) *
Just use Manaball?


Manaball requires, as does every Direct Combat spell, actual LOS to each and every target in the Area of Effect. Indirect Combat spells do not have this requirement.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 02:32 PM
Post #198


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 20 2008, 11:00 PM) *
The barrier is considered to be part of the target's modified armor, which is reduced to zero. Thus, a toothpick fired from a rubber band can now get through.


You are incorrect. Lets break it down differently for you.

A = modified armor that will be checked for damage resitance test.
C = worn armor by the character
B = armor rating of barrier
V = vehicle armor rating
P = passenger armor rating

Now, typically, A = C+B+V+P.
You do a called shot, that makes A = 0.

B still is 20. V still is 20, and P still is 10. Even C is still 6 or whatever. Only A is modified to be 0, at the time of the damage resistance test. Which happens after you check to see if it goes through the barrier.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 04:44 PM
Post #199


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE
Now, typically, A = C+B+V+P.
You do a called shot, that makes A = 0.

For A = 0, C + B + V + P must equal 0 as well. Since you can't have negative armor, the only way CBVP can equal zero is if all of them equal zero.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 05:04 PM
Post #200


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



No. The rules say, A = 0. Think of variables.
Initially and normally, A = C+B+V+P.
You do a called shot, that sets A = 0.
C B V and P do not need to change their values. Because A is no longer equal to them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 6 7 8 9 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th June 2025 - 05:43 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.