IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
wind_in_the_ston...
post Apr 15 2010, 03:59 AM
Post #51


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 560
Joined: 4-March 06
From: Pueblo Corporate Council
Member No.: 8,332



Thanks, Peter.

I cannot find a sufficiently convincing argument to beat down the letter of the law. Primarily because of the imprecise wording.

Because of the vagueness, there is no letter of the law.

I can certainly see why people want to claim that rerolling failures adjusts the number of 1's in your result. ( I wonder if anyone's ever found lots of 1's in their second roll, and accepted the glitch?) It makes sense. But keeping the glitch while rerolling failures also makes sense.

However, adding the number of rerolled dice to the number of dice in your pool does not make sense. You're rerolling dice. Example: you roll ten dice, get three hits, and then reroll seven? You still have ten dice in your dice pool. You didn't roll seventeen dice (suddenly requiring nine of your seven dice to score 1's, for a glitch). Likewise, you didn't just make a seven-die test after spending the edge.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Apr 15 2010, 04:33 AM
Post #52


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (wind_in_the_stones @ Apr 14 2010, 11:59 PM) *
( I wonder if anyone's ever found lots of 1's in their second roll, and accepted the glitch?) It makes sense. But keeping the glitch while rerolling failures also makes sense.


Came very close once. I had 4 dice, crit-glitched, did "add Edge after" and added 4 more dice.* Got 1 more 1.

Not quite the same, but had those 4 Edge dice been a re-roll it'd have been very near.

*Odds are slightly in favor of rolling edge after, due to exploding 6s (which happened, I got 3 or 4 hits**) than just rerolling the dice.

**I've forgot, it was over a month ago.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muspellsheimr
post Apr 15 2010, 08:05 AM
Post #53


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,336
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Member No.: 15,706



QUOTE (wind_in_the_stones @ Apr 14 2010, 09:17 PM) *
And for the way they did mean, there is not a way to write the rule in such a clear and concise way.

"On a single test, you may reroll all dice that did not score a hit."

Regardless, with the current wording, it functions as (most) everyone has already described - as Written.

The reason for this is, while the wording can technically be (correctly) read to apply "Hit" to either "Test" or "Dice", within the definitions presented as to the meaning of these phrases for usage in the game, a die can score a "Hit" - a test cannot. If a sufficient number of dice score a hit, the test is a "Success". If not, the test fails.

Quite simply, by the definitions presented in the game, the wording cannot be "on a test that did not score a hit", as tests cannot score hits at all.



As to the effects of rerolling negating a Glitch or Critical Glitch, a reroll, by definition, replaces the previous roll with the new result. If the test, after the reroll, results in a Glitch or Critical Glitch, then the test is treated as such, regardless of if the initial roll before the use of Edge was a [Critical]Glitch or not (and because Edge was already used, you cannot spend Edge to negate the glitch).

If the result of the reroll does not result in a Glitch or Critical Glitch, the test is not treated as such, regardless of if the initial roll before the use of Edge was a [Critical]Glitch or not.




Edit: As for resulting in a Glitch after a reroll, not exactly. But I did have a similar occurrence before; I used Edge to increase the dice pool, & the result was a Critical Glitch - which I then could not negate, because Edge had already been used on it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
forgarn
post Apr 15 2010, 01:24 PM
Post #54


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 250
Joined: 22-December 09
Member No.: 17,988



QUOTE (Muspellsheimr @ Mar 7 2010, 05:34 AM) *
False. As worded, the modifier "did not score a hit" can technically be applied to either "dice" or "test". It is by far most often read to modify "dice". Regardless of the possibility of it modifying "test" as per literary rules, it cannot do so within the definitions given by the game, as a "test" cannot ever score a "hit"; thus, it can only modify "dice".

The correct reading, in a more precise format, would be:
"You may reroll all dice that did not score a hit on a single test"
or
"On a single test, you may reroll all dice that did not score a hit"



QUOTE (SR4A @ pg. 74)
You may re-roll all of the dice on a single test that did not score a hit.


Good explanation. The prepositional phrase "on a single test" adds more clarification to which dice we are talking about. The beautiful part about prepositional phrases are that they do not change the meaning of the sentence, only add to the detail. The sentence will have the same meaning with or without the phrase. So...

"You may re-roll all of the dice on a single test that did not score a hit" = You may re-roll all of the dice that did not score a hit.

The "on a single test" phrase just lets you know that you cannot spend a point of edge and then reroll all the non-hit scoring dice for the rest of the evening or adventure. So hit cannot be correctly applied to the test, only to dice.

As for a reroll remaining a glitch or critical glitch, that would only happen if the reroll were still a glitch or critical glitch, as you are using your luck to change the result of the test.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Apr 15 2010, 01:38 PM
Post #55


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Let's not blame the grammar. The phrase could just as easily be 'on a single test that did not score a hit', … 'you may re-roll all of the dice'.

Okay, as you were, gentlemen. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Apr 15 2010, 02:30 PM
Post #56


Old Man of the North
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 10,248
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe
Member No.: 5,463



QUOTE (Yerameyahu @ Apr 15 2010, 07:38 AM) *
Let's not blame the grammar. The phrase could just as easily be 'on a single test that did not score a hit', … 'you may re-roll all of the dice'.
Okay, as you were, gentlemen. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Grammar is never to blame. Only those who misuse it are at fault. Sort of like firearms. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Apr 15 2010, 03:13 PM
Post #57


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (Yerameyahu @ Apr 15 2010, 09:38 AM) *
Let's not blame the grammar. The phrase could just as easily be 'on a single test that did not score a hit', … 'you may re-roll all of the dice'.


If tests could score hits, you might have an argument. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Apr 15 2010, 03:17 PM
Post #58


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



Can they not?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Apr 15 2010, 03:53 PM
Post #59


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (Yerameyahu @ Apr 15 2010, 11:17 AM) *
Can they not?


Unless you can find otherwise:

QUOTE (Muspellsheimr @ Mar 7 2010, 05:34 AM) *
Regardless of the possibility of it modifying "test" as per literary rules, it cannot do so within the definitions given by the game, as a "test" cannot ever score a "hit"; thus, it can only modify "dice".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Yerameyahu
post Apr 15 2010, 04:01 PM
Post #60


Advocatus Diaboli
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,994
Joined: 20-November 07
From: USA
Member No.: 14,282



If I score hits on a test, the test scored hits. *shrug*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Enin
post Apr 15 2010, 04:31 PM
Post #61


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 12-November 08
From: Empire of Inland
Member No.: 16,586



I just don't see why they would make the rule of having to use a point of edge to downgrade a crit glitch to a regular one, if you can do the same only better by rerolling any dice that were not hits.

It seems a bit extraneous, and I have to believe that the intention behind the rule is that the glitch would not go away by rerolling non-hits. Otherwise, why the hell would they include the downgrade rule in the first place???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Apr 15 2010, 04:39 PM
Post #62


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (Enin @ Apr 15 2010, 12:31 PM) *
It seems a bit extraneous, and I have to believe that the intention behind the rule is that the glitch would not go away by rerolling non-hits. Otherwise, why the hell would they include the downgrade rule in the first place???


Why would you ever reduce your "shoot him" dice pool to reduce his armor, when you could instead spend 4 dice for +4 DV? (The same 4 dice negates 4 points of armor, but 4 damage is worth 12 points of armor in resistance, plus the +4DV counts for "modified damage").
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Apr 15 2010, 04:45 PM
Post #63


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



You'd almost think that a lot of the rules in the game aren't completely thought-out or cross-referenced, and in many cases, just poorly written outright.

But that's an impossible thought!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Apr 15 2010, 04:45 PM
Post #64


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



You'd almost think that a lot of the rules in the game aren't completely thought-out or cross-referenced, and in many cases, just poorly written outright.

But that's an impossible thought!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Enin
post Apr 15 2010, 04:50 PM
Post #65


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 12-November 08
From: Empire of Inland
Member No.: 16,586



QUOTE (Draco18s @ Apr 15 2010, 08:39 AM) *
Why would you ever reduce your "shoot him" dice pool to reduce his armor, when you could instead spend 4 dice for +4 DV? (The same 4 dice negates 4 points of armor, but 4 damage is worth 12 points of armor in resistance, plus the +4DV counts for "modified damage").


Because if the defender rolls more hits than you in the first place you miss. That is a calculated risk, and one that would probably work out for you more often than not.

In the case of this rule, rerolling all of the dice, would almost ALWAYS result in a better result than if you just downgraded the glitch. So I still believe in the spirit of the law, rather than the very vague letter of it in this case.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Apr 15 2010, 05:46 PM
Post #66


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (Enin @ Apr 15 2010, 12:50 PM) *
Because if the defender rolls more hits than you in the first place you miss. That is a calculated risk, and one that would probably work out for you more often than not.


So you're going to sacrifice 8 dice to ignore his armor?

Because "ignore armor" is "all of it" or "not." And a ballistics vest is 8/6.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Apr 15 2010, 05:55 PM
Post #67


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



QUOTE (Draco18s @ Apr 15 2010, 06:46 PM) *
And a ballistics vest is 8/6.

6/4.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Creel
post Apr 15 2010, 06:03 PM
Post #68


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 19-October 09
Member No.: 17,769



It has always seemed to me that a glitch is somewhat separate from the direct dice rolls. It's an indication that Something has gone Terribly Wrong. You can reroll the dice that didn't hit and try to mitigate the damage, but that doesn't get rid of the karmic smackdown triggered by the glitch.

The initial glitch means that the ever-present Murphy has decided to wake up and take note. A critical glitch indicates that he was out of coffee, and thinks someone else should be held responsible. When Murphy shows up on the scene the only way to chase him away (or calm him down in the case of a critical glitch), is a direct sacrifice to the God-of-Shit-that-Happens. i.e. burn edge.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Apr 15 2010, 06:05 PM
Post #69


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



QUOTE (Creel @ Apr 15 2010, 07:03 PM) *
You can reroll the dice that didn't hit and try to mitigate the damage, but that doesn't get rid of the karmic smackdown triggered by the glitch.

Look, it already was already cleared up that this isn't supported by RAW.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Apr 15 2010, 06:07 PM
Post #70


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



QUOTE (Rotbart van Dainig @ Apr 15 2010, 01:55 PM) *
6/4.


Oh, sorry. -6 dice to you (they have a greater chance to dodge) so you bypass their 6 armor.

Or you could take -4 to do +4 damage (of which their 6 armor will mitigate about 2).

The point is: sometimes there are options that are "less than ideal."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Apr 15 2010, 06:13 PM
Post #71


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



If you're up against, say, a spirit that you can't hit at all, why wouldn't you take a huge penalty in order to have a shot at it? If you have a dicepool of 20 with your Pistols skill, but it's only a Streetline Special loaded with Regular Rounds, your shots are just going to ping right off that Force 6 spirit. But if you use the Called Shot rules, you can get away with just lowering your dicepool of 20 to 8 and actually have a shot at doing some damage.

And, honestly, if you're using any of those Called Shot rules on a regular basis against any opponent you come up with, that's just asinine. Your GM had best be doing the same with all of his NPCs, too, so they can completely ignore your armor and/or get the same DV boost as you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Creel
post Apr 15 2010, 06:23 PM
Post #72


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 19-October 09
Member No.: 17,769



QUOTE (Rotbart van Dainig @ Apr 15 2010, 01:05 PM) *
Look, it already was already cleared up that this isn't supported by RAW.



I don't believe it was.

QUOTE
Glitches
If half or more of the dice pool rolled come up as 1s, then a glitch
results. A glitch is a mistake, error, fumble, or random fluke that causes
the action to go wrong in some way. It’s possible to both succeed in a
task and get a glitch at the same time. For example, a character who
rolls a glitch when jumping over something may knock the item over,
or land on a nail she didn’t see on the far side. The exact nature of
the glitch is up to the gamemaster, though we recommend you choose
a negative effect that is dramatic or entertaining, but not disastrous.
The nature of the glitch can be tempered against the number of hits
achieved: 6 hits and a glitch would be a minor setback, while 1 hit and
a glitch would be a severe annoyance.
Characters may spend Edge to negate a glitch (p. 74).


If half or more of the dice pool come up as 1s, then a glitch results. re-roll or not, something went wrong. The glitch isn't an effect of the test, it is a result of the roll. Even if you change the outcome of the test, the initial roll caused a glitch.

edit: first post should have read "separate from the test"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rotbart van Dain...
post Apr 15 2010, 06:33 PM
Post #73


Hoppelhäschen 5000
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,807
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 5,951



QUOTE (Creel @ Apr 15 2010, 07:23 PM) *
I don't believe it was.

It was.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Creel
post Apr 15 2010, 06:40 PM
Post #74


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 83
Joined: 19-October 09
Member No.: 17,769



QUOTE (Rotbart van Dainig @ Apr 15 2010, 01:33 PM) *
It was.



Was not!

If you want to address the point, please do so. Otherwise let's leave that sort of argument in second grade.

RAW for glitch says it's a result of the roll, not the test. Changing the effect of the test does not eliminate the original roll which resulted in a glitch.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Draco18s
post Apr 15 2010, 07:04 PM
Post #75


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



Nazis are to blame. Their propaganda is tampering with our dice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th July 2025 - 05:09 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.