IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Mystweaver
post Oct 16 2005, 09:50 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 4-April 03
From: London UK
Member No.: 4,383



Bit of a noob question considering I have been playing for so long, but I'd just like to get it right about this one.

An example here goes.

An adept with centering of 6 wishes to overcome the penalty of multiple foes in combat. The adept is currently facing 5 unarmed foes so is at a +4 penalty. He wishes to attack with his Katana

His base target number to attack is 4-1(reach)= 3
Is therefore the target number for centering 3+4= 7?
Background count affects this right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hahnsoo
post Oct 16 2005, 09:58 PM
Post #2


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,587
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Berkeley, CA
Member No.: 7,014



The target number is equal to (TN of the test - Initiate Grade). Every 2 successes cancels 1 point of TN penalties, up to the "base" TN.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Oct 17 2005, 01:26 AM
Post #3


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



right. the TN for the centering test would be 7 - grade.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
caramel frappuci...
post Oct 17 2005, 02:51 AM
Post #4


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 7,782



In the given example, assuming maximum successes, would Centering reduce the TN to 4 or 3? I could see it being argued both ways.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Oct 17 2005, 03:36 AM
Post #5


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



given that the adept only has Centering of 6, the maximum reduction would be to TN 4 [(4 base) (-1 reach) (+4 friends in melee) (-3 for 6 possible Centering successes)]. if the adept had Centering of 8+, the maximum reduction would be to TN 3, because Centering negates TN penalties.

that's the best way to remember how Centering works: it doesn't reduce the TN, it negates modifiers to the TN. you don't need to worry about what the original TN was, when determining what Centering can do; you only need to worry about how many points of penalties there are. if there are 2 points of penalties, you can use up to 4 successes for penalty negation. if there are 4 points of penalties, you can use up to 8 successes for penalty negation. the base TN doesn't factor into it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
caramel frappuci...
post Oct 17 2005, 03:58 AM
Post #6


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 27-September 05
Member No.: 7,782



Thanks for clearing that up. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nick012000
post Oct 17 2005, 10:00 AM
Post #7


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,283
Joined: 17-May 05
Member No.: 7,398



Unless said adept begins adding Astral Pool dice to it...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Oct 17 2005, 12:18 PM
Post #8


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



you doubly can't do that. for one, astral pool can only be used while actually on the astral plane or in the metaplanes; i don't believe astral perception counts. adepts don't have much access to that, though these barriers can be overcome with the help of a friendly spirit and/or the limited projection metamagic.

for another, astral pool can't be used for magical skill tests. centering is a magical skill.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mystweaver
post Oct 17 2005, 02:46 PM
Post #9


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 4-April 03
From: London UK
Member No.: 4,383



Excellent that has cleared it up. Thanks for the replies.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Oct 18 2005, 12:21 AM
Post #10


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



for those who figured out how to hack centering and do it twice a pass: you can't, at least not according to the FAQ.

if you go by the MitS wording, it's actually possible to center twice per pass, if you have the multitasking adept power (SOTA:64), since centering is a free action. the catch is, you can't use centering on the same test twice. however, if you're performing two different actions--say, firing a semiautomatic weapon twice--you could center on each.

the FAQ, however, says you can't do that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SL James
post Oct 18 2005, 01:33 AM
Post #11


Shadowrun Setting Nerd
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,632
Joined: 28-June 05
From: Pissing on pedestrians from my electronic ivory tower.
Member No.: 7,473



Can't imagine why not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Oct 18 2005, 02:24 AM
Post #12


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



i can't imagine why MitS didn't just say "you can't center more than once in a single pass", if that's what was intended.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SL James
post Oct 18 2005, 02:29 AM
Post #13


Shadowrun Setting Nerd
*******

Group: Banned
Posts: 3,632
Joined: 28-June 05
From: Pissing on pedestrians from my electronic ivory tower.
Member No.: 7,473



That'd be too easy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th August 2025 - 04:36 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.