IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Spirit Initiative, astral and physical
Thanee
post Mar 21 2006, 11:22 PM
Post #1


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,551
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



I'm currently wondering how materialization affects spirit initiative for the round.

Let's say we have an air spirit (Force 4) with astral initiative total of 10 (8 + 2 hits) with 3 IP and physical initiative total of 17 (12 + 5 hits) with 2 IP.

The spirit starts the round on the astral, but materializes in the first action and then stays on the physical. Does the initiative change when the spirit materializes, or does it just stay the same (as for the state (astral or physical) at the beginning of the round)? Does it get the full 3 IP for its beginning initiative, or only 2 IP (as physical)?

So, in the example is it...

a) 1st IP: act on 10 / 2nd IP: act on 10 / 3rd IP: act on 10?
b) 1st IP: act on 10 / 2nd IP: act on 17 / 3rd IP: act on 17?
c) 1st IP: act on 10 / 2nd IP: act on 17 / 3rd IP: no action?
d) 1st IP: act on 10 / 2nd IP: act on 10 / 3rd IP: no action?
e) something else?

Any idea?

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Brahm
post Mar 21 2006, 11:48 PM
Post #2


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,635
Joined: 27-November 05
Member No.: 8,006



EDIT

Oops, missed the second set of Init stats for them. :oops:

So as far as I understand it is E)

IP 1: on 10 (8+2), IP 2 on 14 (12+2), IP 3 no action.

You don't reroll Init in the middle of the Combat Turn.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Mar 21 2006, 11:52 PM
Post #3


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,551
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



They have two sets of initiative given in the statline (or below).

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stevebugge
post Mar 21 2006, 11:55 PM
Post #4


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,026
Joined: 23-November 05
From: Seattle (Really!)
Member No.: 7,996



From my understanding of the rules and examples, option C is the correct one.

I'll look for references after work when I have my book handy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lagomorph
post Mar 21 2006, 11:55 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 834
Joined: 30-June 03
Member No.: 4,832



If there are IP or initiative changes, the rule seems to be that if they are negative effects, they take effect immediately, and that if they are positive, they take effect next round.

At least, thats how it works for riggers. But I'd assume that you can't go astral for 3 ip, and then on ip 1 of next round quit being astral and still get another 2 ip that round. But if you go astral or into VR, you only get that one pass for the round that you are going from RL to VR/Astral

edit: err so yeah, option D would be correct according to my understanding
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stevebugge
post Mar 21 2006, 11:56 PM
Post #6


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,026
Joined: 23-November 05
From: Seattle (Really!)
Member No.: 7,996



QUOTE (Lagomorph)
If there are IP or initiative changes, the rule seems to be that if they are negative effects, they take effect immediately, and that if they are positive, they take effect next round.

At least, thats how it works for riggers. But I'd assume that you can't go astral for 3 ip, and then on ip 1 of next round quit being astral and still get another 2 ip that round. But if you go astral or into VR, you only get that one pass for the round that you are going from RL to VR/Astral

Echo that, the rule of thumb seems to be that the lowest total applies for the current round.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Mar 22 2006, 12:02 AM
Post #7


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,551
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



Added option d) - you think that would be the right way to figure it then?

And just for the record, if the spirit would de-materialize on the second action, there would still be no action in the third pass then, right?

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Mar 22 2006, 01:04 AM
Post #8


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



i would say d) also.

and no, the spirit wouldn't get the third action if it materialised in the second action.

which, of course, means you should have it materialise on the third action (which it wouldn't have in the first place if it was materialised)...

provided you have something for it to do while it's on the astral of course ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Mar 22 2006, 09:19 AM
Post #9


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,551
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



QUOTE (Jaid)
and no, the spirit wouldn't get the third action if it materialised in the second action.

I meant go physical (materialize) on 1st and go astral (de-materialize) on 2nd. :)

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Butterblume
post Mar 22 2006, 12:24 PM
Post #10


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,150
Joined: 19-December 05
From: Rhein-Ruhr Megaplex
Member No.: 8,081



QUOTE (Thanee)
Added option d) - you think that would be the right way to figure it then?

And just for the record, if the spirit would de-materialize on the second action, there would still be no action in the third pass then, right?

Yes and yes.
QUOTE (Jaid)
which, of course, means you should have it materialise on the third action (which it wouldn't have in the first place if it was materialised)...

True as well ;).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eryk the Red
post Mar 22 2006, 02:30 PM
Post #11


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 633
Joined: 23-February 06
Member No.: 8,301



Actually, page 134 (I think, I just put the book away) has a section on Switching Initiative. It says if your Initiative rating changes during the turn, you apply the difference as a positive or negative modifier to your Initiative value. Basically, your Initiative rating changes, but you assume the same number of hits on the Initiative roll. That would mean that in the example given, the spirit's new initiative after materializing would be 14. So I'd say Brahm got it right.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thanee
post Mar 22 2006, 08:45 PM
Post #12


jacked in
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 9,551
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 463



Ahh... havn't checked back the general initiative rules (silly me :oops: ). Thanks, that clears it up! :)

Bye
Thanee
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th July 2025 - 11:24 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.