IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dual handing weapons question, I've not been here in a long time, please forgive my derpherp.
Thadeus Bearpaw
post Aug 3 2012, 10:39 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 158
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 16,463



Hi everyone!

We've started playing Shadowrun again after a three year hiatus trying other games. I have not read the rules in ages and discovered a problem with the rules when I tried to read them concerning the following issue. I was hoping you all could shed some light on the correct way to handle the problem. For the record we're using the 4th ed 20th anniversary rules.

My Street Sam is dual wielding pistols, he has the ambidextrous quality, and he firing gun A as the first shot of the pass and gun B as the second shot of the pass. Does this count as a split pool or not and how should I handle the recoil?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Aug 3 2012, 10:52 PM
Post #2


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



That is not a Split Pool, since you are trying to fire 2 different guns in 2 different actions.

Recoil is handled across the IP, and across hands. SO, 1st shot causes no Recoil, 2nd Shot Causes 1 Point. If the 2nd pistol has at least 1 RC (or you have a 6 Strength), you are fine, and will suffer no recoil.

Good Luck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thadeus Bearpaw
post Aug 3 2012, 10:59 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 158
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 16,463



Ah okay, so as long as he is not firing simultaneously according to the rule back he suffers no penalty other than bog standard recoil rules?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Aug 3 2012, 11:02 PM
Post #4


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Thadeus Bearpaw @ Aug 3 2012, 04:59 PM) *
Ah okay, so as long as he is not firing simultaneously according to the rule back he suffers no penalty other than bog standard recoil rules?


Correct... Since he has ambidexterity, the penalty for off-hand does not apply. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UmaroVI
post Aug 3 2012, 11:03 PM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,700
Joined: 1-July 10
Member No.: 18,778



Right. Actually, you can use this to your advantage by doubling up on recoil compensation; for example, using a pair of SMGs, each of which has Gas-Vent 3, would allow a fully compensated short burst with one followed by a fully compensated short burst with the other, whereas you'd take -2 on the second short burst if you fired both bursts from the same gun.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Krishach
post Aug 3 2012, 11:35 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 310
Joined: 26-August 10
Member No.: 18,972



If you wanted to dual wield simultaneous shots, since shooting is a simple action and you get 2 simple actions a turn, you could potentially get 4 shots with your two guns.

You'd split your dice pool before bonuses (smartlink/laser sights don't count), and roll for each hand. It's a lower chance of hitting, but you can then dual wield for the next action as well, giving 4 shots for SA. If you have a target you are having trouble hitting, then you stop splitting and take one shot at a time.

This post has been edited by Krishach: Aug 4 2012, 12:39 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thadeus Bearpaw
post Aug 4 2012, 02:20 AM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 158
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 16,463



Ah okay, I understand. Thanks everyone.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Umidori
post Aug 4 2012, 02:55 AM
Post #8


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,575
Joined: 5-February 10
Member No.: 18,115



Also worth mentioning just in case, weapons weilded in the off-hand suffer a -2 dice pool modifer (unless you have the Ambidexterity Positive Quality or certain Martial Arts Maneuvers), and if you change targets between shots that also applies a separate -2 dice pool modifier to attack the second target. When I first got started I played half a campaign with a novice GM without anyone realizing we were getting more dice than we should have.

~Umi
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Medicineman
post Aug 4 2012, 05:52 AM
Post #9


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,748
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Good ol' Germany
Member No.: 7,015



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Aug 3 2012, 05:52 PM) *
That is not a Split Pool, since you are trying to fire 2 different guns in 2 different actions.

Recoil is handled across the IP, and across hands. SO, 1st shot causes no Recoil, 2nd Shot Causes 1 Point. If the 2nd pistol has at least 1 RC (or you have a 6 Strength), you are fine, and will suffer no recoil.

Good Luck.

Sorry ,but I have to disagree (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
The Recoil is per Weapon
so left Gun first shot = no Recoil
right Gun first shot = no Recoil either
(even if its the second shot for the Char it's still the first shot for this Gun)

with an Akimbo Dance
Medicineman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dakka Dakka
post Aug 4 2012, 06:11 AM
Post #10


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,507
Joined: 11-November 08
Member No.: 16,582



QUOTE (Tymeaus Jalynsfein @ Aug 4 2012, 12:52 AM) *
Recoil is handled across the IP, and across hands. SO, 1st shot causes no Recoil, 2nd Shot Causes 1 Point. If the 2nd pistol has at least 1 RC (or you have a 6 Strength), you are fine, and will suffer no recoil.
Not exactly. Recoil accumulates across the IP per weapon. Uncompensated recoil is only tranfered from the weapon if you use two weapons with the same simple action (i.e. dual-wiedling).
QUOTE ('SR4A p. 152')
Weapons that fire more than one round in an Action Phase suffer from an escalating recoil modifier as the rounds leave the weapon. Semiautomatic weapons that fire a second shot receive a –1 dice pool modifier for the second shot only.
Burst-fire weapons receive a –2 recoil modifier for the first burst fired in that Action Phase and –3 for the second. Long bursts suffer –5 (first burst in phase) or –6 recoil (second). Full auto bursts suffer –9 recoil.


Dang, ninja'd by Medicineman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Aug 4 2012, 02:36 PM
Post #11


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Medicineman @ Aug 3 2012, 10:52 PM) *
Sorry ,but I have to disagree (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
The Recoil is per Weapon
so left Gun first shot = no Recoil
right Gun first shot = no Recoil either
(even if its the second shot for the Char it's still the first shot for this Gun)

with an Akimbo Dance
Medicineman


Ahhh, okay, Better for me then... My Mistake. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UmaroVI
post Aug 4 2012, 02:37 PM
Post #12


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,700
Joined: 1-July 10
Member No.: 18,778



The followup example would be if you have two SMGs firing short bursts with 0 RC each. You fire the first one and are at -2, then you fire the second one and are at -4 (whereas if you fired two bursts from the same one, it would be -2 and -5).

(No contradiction to MM, just adding another example to clarify).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 5th September 2025 - 11:41 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.