IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Range of sustaining?, Perhapes a new metamagic
Pendaric
post Mar 1 2009, 12:09 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 993
Joined: 5-December 05
From: Crying in the wilderness
Member No.: 8,047



Now I have stayed away from indepth SR4 rules learning. As a SR3 ref, rules tend to get clouded with SR4 at the table which does not make for a smooth game, so forgive me if there some mention of this in the later edition.

Is there a range for sustaining a spell?

I house rule the range as that of a mage's ability to order an elemental before remote service. This is to stop magicains on the other side of world assisting team mates while creating an alibi and to make the run more personal.

As an aside I do the same for dispelling dice for the same reasons and I do not believe a magician should have to see their team mate to stop an otherwise invisible force. After all this is mine to interprete.

So, I know some require line of sight, some dont have a limit and some like me fall in between.

If you place a range limit on sustaining a spell in person, would a metamagic that increases this range seem reasonable?

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 6)
pbangarth
post Mar 1 2009, 03:29 AM
Post #2


Old Man of the North
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 10,259
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe
Member No.: 5,463



In SR4, p. 174, it tells us that area effect, sustained spells can be sustained and even moved as long as the area remains in LOS of the spellcaster. So range is LOS. It says nothing about spells that affect individuals. LOS should not matter for these, otherwise any spells the spellcaster puts on himself would disappear as soon as he looks away from his body. That would be kind of silly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Magus
post Mar 1 2009, 03:56 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 617
Joined: 28-May 03
From: Orlando
Member No.: 4,644



THere is no range by RAW for sustaining. A spirit can sustain any spell from the Astral or its MetaPlane. You can cast a spell on a teammate and then run away to the other side of the planet. But as soon as you goto sleep... poof spell goes bye bye.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pendaric
post Mar 1 2009, 07:50 PM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 993
Joined: 5-December 05
From: Crying in the wilderness
Member No.: 8,047



~Thank you for the replies. I shall go and ponder the merit of, both practicle and academic, of a metamagic that increases the range of sustaining opposed to the open range sustaining with in the background of magic.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muspellsheimr
post Mar 2 2009, 01:07 AM
Post #5


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,336
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Member No.: 15,706



QUOTE (pbangarth @ Feb 28 2009, 08:29 PM) *
In SR4, p. 174, it tells us that area effect, sustained spells can be sustained and even moved as long as the area remains in LOS of the spellcaster. So range is LOS.

The centerpoint of the affected area must be in Line of Sight to move it; it does not need to be in Line of Sight to sustain it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Mar 2 2009, 07:32 AM
Post #6


Old Man of the North
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 10,259
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe
Member No.: 5,463



QUOTE (Muspellsheimr @ Mar 1 2009, 06:07 PM) *
The centerpoint of the affected area must be in Line of Sight to move it; it does not need to be in Line of Sight to sustain it.


OK, that makes sense. It removes some of the contradiction in my mind between area and individual spells. Now, what if the center of the spell is on a character, and she moves?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muspellsheimr
post Mar 2 2009, 08:37 AM
Post #7


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,336
Joined: 24-February 08
From: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Member No.: 15,706



The center of an Area spell is always a point in space, never anchored to an object or creature the way a Ward is. Thus, if the character moves, they simply are no longer in the center of the spell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th July 2025 - 09:40 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.