IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Karoline
post Jan 29 2010, 02:30 PM
Post #1


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,679
Joined: 19-September 09
Member No.: 17,652



QUOTE (p178-179 SR4)
Note that since the test to learn a new
spell is not based on Magic, the magician suff ers no penalty to
her dice pool for having a bound spirit present.


Did I miss a rule where having a bound spirit around lowers your magic by 1 or something?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 10)
Draco18s
post Jan 29 2010, 02:35 PM
Post #2


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



Likely it was something that was removed elsewhere and this wasn't caught.

In either case though: interesting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Achsin
post Jan 29 2010, 02:38 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 99
Joined: 9-December 09
Member No.: 17,955



Maybe it is a reference to the optional rule in the sidebar on p.187 SR4A?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aerospider
post Jan 29 2010, 02:43 PM
Post #4


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,150
Joined: 15-December 09
Member No.: 17,968



This text doesn't appear in SR4A (it simply says that bound spirits may add dice) but it may be referring to what appears in a side bar in the Conjuring section (Bound Spirits, p.187 SR4A). There it suggests that should a bound spirit have reason to be boisterous or uncooperative (e.g. the summoner keeps putting him at risk) then the summoner suffers a -2 to his DPs like when sustaining a spell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BishopMcQ
post Jan 29 2010, 06:52 PM
Post #5


The back-up plan
**********

Group: Retired Admins
Posts: 8,423
Joined: 15-January 03
From: San Diego
Member No.: 3,910



That line is from SR4, and was listed in the Errata LINK. If I recall correctly it was fixed in the second or third Printing. All of the errata was included in the Anniversary printing which is why it is not found in SR4A.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Garou
post Jan 30 2010, 01:30 AM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 4-May 08
From: Brazil
Member No.: 15,955



By the way, wasn't Karma needed to bind a spirit? I thought i looked it somewhere, but when i looked at SR4a, found no trace of it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Karoline
post Jan 30 2010, 01:41 AM
Post #7


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,679
Joined: 19-September 09
Member No.: 17,652



QUOTE (Garou @ Jan 29 2010, 08:30 PM) *
By the way, wasn't Karma needed to bind a spirit? I thought i looked it somewhere, but when i looked at SR4a, found no trace of it.


Only if you are buying spirit services as part of karmagen.

The other thing you might be thinking about is spirit pacts, which are entirely different.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Garou
post Jan 30 2010, 01:53 AM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 186
Joined: 4-May 08
From: Brazil
Member No.: 15,955



QUOTE (Karoline @ Jan 30 2010, 01:41 AM) *
Only if you are buying spirit services as part of karmagen.

The other thing you might be thinking about is spirit pacts, which are entirely different.



Okay, thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Jan 30 2010, 05:28 AM
Post #9


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



there is also long-term binding, which lasts for a year and a day iirc but gets you a spirit which will do one service for the full time (ie, if the service is "provide magical defense to anyone in this area" the service will do that for the full time).

it costs (iirc) 1 karma per point of spirit force.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post Jan 30 2010, 06:28 AM
Post #10


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



In the basic SR4 book, the sidebar they are talking about is on page 178. The text you are talking about was removed because if you use the optional rule from the sidebar, it very clearly states that the mage has a -2 penalty to all tests.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tymeaus Jalynsfe...
post Jan 30 2010, 06:24 PM
Post #11


Prime Runner Ascendant
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 17,568
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Aurora, Colorado
Member No.: 17,022



QUOTE (Glyph @ Jan 29 2010, 11:28 PM) *
In the basic SR4 book, the sidebar they are talking about is on page 178. The text you are talking about was removed because if you use the optional rule from the sidebar, it very clearly states that the mage has a -2 penalty to all tests.



Which makes sense if you were trying to do things while controlling a recalcitrant spirit... we use that optional rule from time to time (when the mage "abuses" his spirits)... It is on page 187 of SR4A... under the Bound Spirits Sidebar...

Keep the Faith
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th July 2025 - 09:42 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.