IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Andinel
post Feb 17 2010, 08:41 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 144
Joined: 18-November 08
Member No.: 16,609



QUOTE
A spell’s Force limits the number of hits (not net hits) that can be achieved on the Spellcasting Test. So if you cast a Force 3 spell and get 5 hits, only 3 of those hits count. In other words, Force has a limiting effect on spells—the more oomph you put into the spell, the better you can succeed with it. This limitation does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.


So... what uses of Edge does this cover? Is it only Edge to add dice to the dice pool? Or does rerolling all dice that didn't get a hit also count for this?

For example, say a character has 3 Edge and 12 Magic + Spellcasting to cast a Force 5 spell.
If the character gets 4 hits and uses Edge to reroll the other 8 dice for another 2 hits, does the spell have 6 hits or 5 hits?
Alternately, if the character spends Edge beforehand to roll 15 dice and gets 5 hits on Magic + Spellcasting and 1 hit on Edge, and gets another 2 hits from Rule of 6, does the spell have 7 hits?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Medicineman
post Feb 17 2010, 10:12 AM
Post #2


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,748
Joined: 25-January 05
From: Good ol' Germany
Member No.: 7,015



I Would Agree to that

HougH!
Medicineman
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
- Andinel   A little clarification on Spellcasting   Feb 17 2010, 08:41 AM
- - Dakka Dakka   Rerolls are not affected, because you don't ro...   Feb 17 2010, 09:00 AM
|- - Medicineman   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 05:00 A...   Feb 17 2010, 10:03 AM
- - Surukai   But if edge is spent before the roll is made then ...   Feb 17 2010, 09:58 AM
- - Andinel   Let me pose another example. Say you cast at F5 an...   Feb 17 2010, 10:10 AM
- - Medicineman   I Would Agree to that HougH! Medicineman   Feb 17 2010, 10:12 AM
- - Dakka Dakka   Not by my reading of the rule. Only hits from Edge...   Feb 17 2010, 01:18 PM
|- - otakusensei   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 08:18 A...   Feb 17 2010, 04:11 PM
|- - Dakka Dakka   QUOTE (otakusensei @ Feb 17 2010, 05:11 P...   Feb 17 2010, 04:32 PM
- - Draco18s   Or we could say that its stupidly complicating mat...   Feb 17 2010, 04:38 PM
|- - Dakka Dakka   QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 17 2010, 05:38 PM) ...   Feb 17 2010, 04:58 PM
|- - Draco18s   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 11:58 A...   Feb 18 2010, 04:23 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   This just makes it more probable that the wording ...   Feb 18 2010, 05:08 PM
|- - Shinobi Killfist   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 18 2010, 12:08 P...   Feb 18 2010, 06:10 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   It is not poorly written. Actually it is very prec...   Feb 18 2010, 07:27 PM
|- - Shinobi Killfist   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 18 2010, 03:27 P...   Feb 18 2010, 09:19 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   Actually, Edge dice are described in the section a...   Feb 18 2010, 10:05 PM
- - Draco18s   Note how in bullet two the only dice you're ro...   Feb 18 2010, 10:12 PM
- - DireRadiant   QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 18 2010, 04:12 PM) ...   Feb 18 2010, 11:07 PM
- - Draco18s   QUOTE (DireRadiant @ Feb 18 2010, 06:07 P...   Feb 18 2010, 11:13 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th June 2025 - 09:37 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.