IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Andinel
post Feb 17 2010, 08:41 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 144
Joined: 18-November 08
Member No.: 16,609



QUOTE
A spell’s Force limits the number of hits (not net hits) that can be achieved on the Spellcasting Test. So if you cast a Force 3 spell and get 5 hits, only 3 of those hits count. In other words, Force has a limiting effect on spells—the more oomph you put into the spell, the better you can succeed with it. This limitation does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.


So... what uses of Edge does this cover? Is it only Edge to add dice to the dice pool? Or does rerolling all dice that didn't get a hit also count for this?

For example, say a character has 3 Edge and 12 Magic + Spellcasting to cast a Force 5 spell.
If the character gets 4 hits and uses Edge to reroll the other 8 dice for another 2 hits, does the spell have 6 hits or 5 hits?
Alternately, if the character spends Edge beforehand to roll 15 dice and gets 5 hits on Magic + Spellcasting and 1 hit on Edge, and gets another 2 hits from Rule of 6, does the spell have 7 hits?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Dakka Dakka
post Feb 17 2010, 01:18 PM
Post #2


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,507
Joined: 11-November 08
Member No.: 16,582



Not by my reading of the rule. Only hits from Edge dice may exceed the Force cap. If you announce prior to rolling that you are using Edge to gain extra dice and exploding sixes, the exploding sixes of the original dice pool may be used to get the hits up to the cap, but only the exploding sixes of the edge dice may exceed the cap.

Example:
MAG(5)+Spellcasting(5)+EDG(3) comes up with
1,2,3,4,5,5,6,6 + 1,5,6
As such you get 4 normal hits, two of which may be rerolled, but the rerolls may only generate ONE additional hit (since those dice are subject to the cap). The other 6 in the EDG pool may be rerolled as long as another 6 comes up and any hit will add to the total.

I know it is a stupid and unwieldy rule but that's the way it is. Guess it is that way to make casting Improved Reflexes with 4 hits into a Force 1 Sustaining Focus very difficult and expensive. Even with Edge 8 three hits isn't that easy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
otakusensei
post Feb 17 2010, 04:11 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 695
Joined: 2-January 07
From: He has here a minute ago...
Member No.: 10,514



QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 08:18 AM) *
Not by my reading of the rule. Only hits from Edge dice may exceed the Force cap. If you announce prior to rolling that you are using Edge to gain extra dice and exploding sixes, the exploding sixes of the original dice pool may be used to get the hits up to the cap, but only the exploding sixes of the edge dice may exceed the cap.

Example:
MAG(5)+Spellcasting(5)+EDG(3) comes up with
1,2,3,4,5,5,6,6 + 1,5,6
As such you get 4 normal hits, two of which may be rerolled, but the rerolls may only generate ONE additional hit (since those dice are subject to the cap). The other 6 in the EDG pool may be rerolled as long as another 6 comes up and any hit will add to the total.

I know it is a stupid and unwieldy rule but that's the way it is. Guess it is that way to make casting Improved Reflexes with 4 hits into a Force 1 Sustaining Focus very difficult and expensive. Even with Edge 8 three hits isn't that easy.


I could see that, but wouldn't Rule of 6 rerolls themselves be considered edge successes as they would not exist without the expenditure of edge? Plus you'd essentially need to roll kosher, keeping the normal dice and the edge dice separate and then the exploded sixes separate for the reroll. I don't know about you, but I like to get the rolling done as quickly and simply as possible so we can get back to the action.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dakka Dakka
post Feb 17 2010, 04:32 PM
Post #4


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,507
Joined: 11-November 08
Member No.: 16,582



QUOTE (otakusensei @ Feb 17 2010, 05:11 PM) *
I could see that, but wouldn't Rule of 6 rerolls themselves be considered edge successes as they would not exist without the expenditure of edge?
Yes, but the rule doesn't make a distinction between hits generated by normal dice and those generated by Edge but between Edge dice and other dice. Dice you roll again because of Edge are not Edge dice IMHO.

QUOTE (otakusensei @ Feb 17 2010, 05:11 PM) *
Plus you'd essentially need to roll kosher, keeping the normal dice and the edge dice separate and then the exploded sixes separate for the reroll. I don't know about you, but I like to get the rolling done as quickly and simply as possible so we can get back to the action.
I agree. That's why I said this is an unnecessarily complicated and unwieldy rule, it's RAW nonetheless.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
- Andinel   A little clarification on Spellcasting   Feb 17 2010, 08:41 AM
- - Dakka Dakka   Rerolls are not affected, because you don't ro...   Feb 17 2010, 09:00 AM
|- - Medicineman   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 05:00 A...   Feb 17 2010, 10:03 AM
- - Surukai   But if edge is spent before the roll is made then ...   Feb 17 2010, 09:58 AM
- - Andinel   Let me pose another example. Say you cast at F5 an...   Feb 17 2010, 10:10 AM
- - Medicineman   I Would Agree to that HougH! Medicineman   Feb 17 2010, 10:12 AM
- - Dakka Dakka   Not by my reading of the rule. Only hits from Edge...   Feb 17 2010, 01:18 PM
|- - otakusensei   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 08:18 A...   Feb 17 2010, 04:11 PM
|- - Dakka Dakka   QUOTE (otakusensei @ Feb 17 2010, 05:11 P...   Feb 17 2010, 04:32 PM
- - Draco18s   Or we could say that its stupidly complicating mat...   Feb 17 2010, 04:38 PM
|- - Dakka Dakka   QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 17 2010, 05:38 PM) ...   Feb 17 2010, 04:58 PM
|- - Draco18s   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 11:58 A...   Feb 18 2010, 04:23 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   This just makes it more probable that the wording ...   Feb 18 2010, 05:08 PM
|- - Shinobi Killfist   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 18 2010, 12:08 P...   Feb 18 2010, 06:10 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   It is not poorly written. Actually it is very prec...   Feb 18 2010, 07:27 PM
|- - Shinobi Killfist   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 18 2010, 03:27 P...   Feb 18 2010, 09:19 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   Actually, Edge dice are described in the section a...   Feb 18 2010, 10:05 PM
- - Draco18s   Note how in bullet two the only dice you're ro...   Feb 18 2010, 10:12 PM
- - DireRadiant   QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 18 2010, 04:12 PM) ...   Feb 18 2010, 11:07 PM
- - Draco18s   QUOTE (DireRadiant @ Feb 18 2010, 06:07 P...   Feb 18 2010, 11:13 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th June 2025 - 08:14 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.