IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Andinel
post Feb 17 2010, 08:41 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 144
Joined: 18-November 08
Member No.: 16,609



QUOTE
A spell’s Force limits the number of hits (not net hits) that can be achieved on the Spellcasting Test. So if you cast a Force 3 spell and get 5 hits, only 3 of those hits count. In other words, Force has a limiting effect on spells—the more oomph you put into the spell, the better you can succeed with it. This limitation does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.


So... what uses of Edge does this cover? Is it only Edge to add dice to the dice pool? Or does rerolling all dice that didn't get a hit also count for this?

For example, say a character has 3 Edge and 12 Magic + Spellcasting to cast a Force 5 spell.
If the character gets 4 hits and uses Edge to reroll the other 8 dice for another 2 hits, does the spell have 6 hits or 5 hits?
Alternately, if the character spends Edge beforehand to roll 15 dice and gets 5 hits on Magic + Spellcasting and 1 hit on Edge, and gets another 2 hits from Rule of 6, does the spell have 7 hits?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Draco18s
post Feb 17 2010, 04:38 PM
Post #2


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,289
Joined: 2-October 08
Member No.: 16,392



Or we could say that its stupidly complicating matters and merely say that "if edge is used before rolling, the hit cap may be exceeded."

Because the rules never specify "edge dice" are different from "normal dice" when using edge.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dakka Dakka
post Feb 17 2010, 04:58 PM
Post #3


Prime Runner
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,507
Joined: 11-November 08
Member No.: 16,582



QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 17 2010, 05:38 PM) *
Or we could say that its stupidly complicating matters and merely say that "if edge is used before rolling, the hit cap may be exceeded."
I'd be glad if the rule was revised like that. But unfortunately this isn't the case (yet).

QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 17 2010, 05:38 PM) *
Because the rules never specify "edge dice" are different from "normal dice" when using edge.

QUOTE ('SR4A p. 182')
This limitation* does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.
*No more hits than Force
With spellcasting the BBB does state that edge dice are handled differently.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
- Andinel   A little clarification on Spellcasting   Feb 17 2010, 08:41 AM
- - Dakka Dakka   Rerolls are not affected, because you don't ro...   Feb 17 2010, 09:00 AM
|- - Medicineman   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 05:00 A...   Feb 17 2010, 10:03 AM
- - Surukai   But if edge is spent before the roll is made then ...   Feb 17 2010, 09:58 AM
- - Andinel   Let me pose another example. Say you cast at F5 an...   Feb 17 2010, 10:10 AM
- - Medicineman   I Would Agree to that HougH! Medicineman   Feb 17 2010, 10:12 AM
- - Dakka Dakka   Not by my reading of the rule. Only hits from Edge...   Feb 17 2010, 01:18 PM
|- - otakusensei   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 08:18 A...   Feb 17 2010, 04:11 PM
|- - Dakka Dakka   QUOTE (otakusensei @ Feb 17 2010, 05:11 P...   Feb 17 2010, 04:32 PM
- - Draco18s   Or we could say that its stupidly complicating mat...   Feb 17 2010, 04:38 PM
|- - Dakka Dakka   QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 17 2010, 05:38 PM) ...   Feb 17 2010, 04:58 PM
|- - Draco18s   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 17 2010, 11:58 A...   Feb 18 2010, 04:23 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   This just makes it more probable that the wording ...   Feb 18 2010, 05:08 PM
|- - Shinobi Killfist   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 18 2010, 12:08 P...   Feb 18 2010, 06:10 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   It is not poorly written. Actually it is very prec...   Feb 18 2010, 07:27 PM
|- - Shinobi Killfist   QUOTE (Dakka Dakka @ Feb 18 2010, 03:27 P...   Feb 18 2010, 09:19 PM
- - Dakka Dakka   Actually, Edge dice are described in the section a...   Feb 18 2010, 10:05 PM
- - Draco18s   Note how in bullet two the only dice you're ro...   Feb 18 2010, 10:12 PM
- - DireRadiant   QUOTE (Draco18s @ Feb 18 2010, 04:12 PM) ...   Feb 18 2010, 11:07 PM
- - Draco18s   QUOTE (DireRadiant @ Feb 18 2010, 06:07 P...   Feb 18 2010, 11:13 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th May 2025 - 07:50 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.