IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Are there any range limits on sustaining powers?
burk
post Aug 14 2007, 12:53 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-March 06
Member No.: 8,339



This came up in a game recently and caused a big "discussion".

As I remember the rules they say that the critter must be on the same plane and within LOS to use most powers but that sustaining the power doesn't require any effort by the critter. I'm paraphrasing I know but I don't have the rules handy right now I'm afraid.

However, consider a spirit who conceals/moves a party then dematerializes and travels hundreds of kilometers away on the astral plane. Can the spirit still maintain the power?

As far as I've been able to determine the rules don't prohibit it but it conflicts with the way I imagine things working.

Any thoughts anyone?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
- burk   Are there any range limits on sustaining powers?   Aug 14 2007, 12:53 PM
- - Doctor Funkenstein   I'm pretty sure the caster -- spirit or otherw...   Aug 14 2007, 01:30 PM
- - DireRadiant   Critter sustaining a power over a period of time i...   Aug 14 2007, 02:09 PM
- - burk   That makes sense but I don't have the exact wo...   Aug 14 2007, 02:18 PM
- - Doctor Funkenstein   Line of sight isn't a requirement for sustaini...   Aug 14 2007, 02:20 PM
- - DireRadiant   The important bit is the same plane thing for sust...   Aug 14 2007, 02:25 PM
- - FrankTrollman   QUOTE (SR4 @ p. 286)Also, line of sight does...   Aug 14 2007, 02:27 PM
- - DireRadiant   The other requirement to remember is that if the s...   Aug 14 2007, 02:28 PM
- - Demerzel   QUOTE (SR4 p.286)Note that in order for a creature...   Aug 14 2007, 02:37 PM
- - burk   It does say "use" then. I'd have to ...   Aug 14 2007, 02:46 PM
- - darthmord   QUOTE (DireRadiant) The important bit is the same ...   Aug 14 2007, 03:40 PM
- - Fortune   I didn't find anything under Guard, but you mi...   Aug 14 2007, 03:47 PM
- - Demerzel   Heh, I read the whole paragraph describing Guard a...   Aug 14 2007, 03:58 PM
- - DireRadiant   QUOTE (darthmord) QUOTE (DireRadiant @ Aug 14...   Aug 14 2007, 04:45 PM
- - darthmord   Okay. The entry for "Guard" doesn't ...   Aug 14 2007, 04:47 PM
- - DireRadiant   p. 95 Street Magic "Passive powers such as As...   Aug 14 2007, 04:52 PM
- - FrankTrollman   Sustaining powers works the same as sustaining spe...   Aug 14 2007, 04:57 PM
- - darthmord   QUOTE (DireRadiant) Critters may sustain a number ...   Aug 14 2007, 05:04 PM
- - tisoz   QUOTE (darthmord) Say a spirit uses Guard on Runne...   Aug 14 2007, 09:08 PM
- - laughingowl   As stated three 'services' and 'one...   Aug 14 2007, 10:42 PM
- - darthmord   I understand that a command to use X power on Y ta...   Aug 15 2007, 05:15 PM
- - Fortune   QUOTE (darthmord @ Aug 16 2007, 03:15 AM) I w...   Aug 15 2007, 09:04 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2025 - 11:04 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.