IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Rigging drones beyond signal strength
Mike_Black
post Oct 12 2005, 11:00 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 26-September 05
Member No.: 7,779



If I am rigging a drone hotsim (jumped in) and move it beyond it's signal strength, do I lose contract to the drone (and the ability to control it) if there is no wireless network in the area the drone is going? Or am I in the drone and therefore distance doesn't matter?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rifleman
post Oct 12 2005, 11:20 AM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 7-October 05
From: Glow City Safehouse
Member No.: 7,821



The Rigger is still relying on the transmission of information, regardless of if you are in hot sim mode, cold mode, or AR. The fact you just drove out of range riding the drone means the drone is probably a write off unless you have a good backup Pilot ready to take over when you suddenly disappear from the system.

However, I'm not sure if the signal degrades before failure first, since I do not have my book right here at the moment.

Edit: Minor semantic changes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike_Black
post Oct 12 2005, 12:22 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 26-September 05
Member No.: 7,779



So, if there is a wireless network net in range of the drone the signal strength doesn't matter as I can control it over the matrix?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 12 2005, 12:40 PM
Post #4


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



i would allow it yes.

i dont belive in a true peer to peer wireless networking system work.
i expect that the old matrix is still there in the background, and you use wimax/mobile phone towers to connect to it.

so i would say that as long as both the drone and the user have a matrix connection it can be used to carry the signals.

rember tho that this opens the drone and the user up for attacks from anywhere. including a decker/hacker running full vr from the other side of the globe.

only time signal strength can be a problem would be in areas where matrix access is a no go without sat access, like say deep in some jungle or out at sea.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rifleman
post Oct 12 2005, 01:18 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 123
Joined: 7-October 05
From: Glow City Safehouse
Member No.: 7,821



QUOTE (hobgoblin)
...only time signal strength can be a problem would be in areas where matrix access is a no go without sat access, like say deep in some jungle or out at sea.


While I agree with hobgoblin, wouldn't you have to mod a drone with a sat dish for that, the same way you would your commlink?

Also, the NAN wilderness and parts of the barrens which haven't been 'upgraded', Coverage in those areas would be spotty as best and often non-existent. Public Wi-Fi routers only have a range of 4km (pg. 212) and anything more powerful looks to be a little low on the bandwidth rating for Rigging.

A sat link, on the other hand, would get around this limitation but be subject to the weather and 'interference' as per the GM's intentions. Hmmm.... still..... Rigging from a world away.....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Oct 12 2005, 01:23 PM
Post #6


Chicago Survivor
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 5,079
Joined: 28-January 04
From: Canton, GA
Member No.: 6,033



There is a danger in the world away rigging. Now you're on the grid and can be traced like a standard hacker. So I'd call it balanced, close range has more security, long range has that partial anonymity but also that inherent risk because it's more like a standard hack.

You could always equip your drones and commlink with satellite links and be done with it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azralon
post Oct 12 2005, 04:29 PM
Post #7


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,651
Joined: 23-September 05
From: Marietta, GA
Member No.: 7,773



QUOTE (Nikoli @ Oct 12 2005, 09:23 AM)
You could always equip your drones and commlink with satellite links and be done with it.

Probably a good standardized investment anyway unless your physical presence is required.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Oct 12 2005, 10:45 PM
Post #8


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



i can't imagine it mattering, as long as both you and the drone are within range of another wirless transciever. it's not like being able to connect directly to your drone somehow makes you immune to being hacked, and it's not like routing your signal over other networks makes it any more vulnerable to hacking, or you any more vulnerable to being located. the whole point of the wireless Matrix is that direct connection is no longer necessary, or even desirable. after all, one signal can concievably be jammed without seriously disrupting other communications (assuming you've decrypted their hopset, which isn't unreasonable in SR4). if you're communicating over mesh network, no one can jam you unless they're jamming all radio traffic, and possibly several other communication methods as well.

that's one of my [relatively (few)] complaints about Matrix 2.0. had i designed it, i probably wouldn't have included a Signal stat at all--the entire design concept of Matrix 2.0 is intended to limit the need for powerful personal signal output; a high personal Signal rating should be as useful as tits on a boar except in certain extreme circumstances (eg, leaving the city).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 13 2005, 12:50 AM
Post #9


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



err, female boars have tits. rows of them. they are nothing like human female ones tho :silly:

anyways. yes, in an urban enviroment the range issue is more or less gone as riggers use the same matrix protocols as the rest of the world now.

still, im guessing that one could tell a drone to only accept signals thats never been routed. as in, are only coming directly from the riggers comlink.

this is assuming that routing in sr matrix works somewhat like routing today. one logical address and one hardware address. the hardware address only lasts as long as the next router. the logical address lasts all the way.

still, i dont think that ad-hoc routing over comlinks would be effective beying 2-3 comlinks. but if they have ranges in the km area or more, that can still cover a lot of ground.

im thinking that comlinks are kinda like a merge between a two-way radio and a mobile phone. close range and they can exchange data directly. long range and they jump onto the nearest matrix uplink to ensure reliable transfer. only as a last resort i would use comlink to comlink routing.

hmm, 4km may not sound as much but in open terrain that can cover a lot. get two within range doing mesh networking and you can cover a area about 4kmX8km square. 4-5 of these and i could cover most of the valley i live in and then some.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Oct 13 2005, 01:20 AM
Post #10


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



by definition, there is no such thing as a female boar.

female pigs would be sows. thus, since a boar (male pig) has no use for nipples, the expression "useless as tits on a boar" is entirely accurate to indicate that it isn't useful.

[edit] oh, and i would go with paying 500 :nuyen: per item if you really want to have long range contact without going through other stuff. i mean, it's at least cheaper than buying 5 commlinks with somewhat decent signal (not to mention having to protect those commlinks with software, and therefore needing good firewall/system/response too). of course, on the other hand, you may end up 'acquiring' commlinks from people you capture for interrogation and such, so you never know... [/edit]

This post has been edited by Jaid: Oct 13 2005, 01:25 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 13 2005, 01:41 AM
Post #11


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



i figured that a boar was basicly a wild pig, no matter the sex...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakkie
post Oct 13 2005, 04:23 AM
Post #12


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,718
Joined: 14-September 02
Member No.: 3,263



Wild boar, yes. Just plain boar, not nessarily.

EDIT: Note that "boar" when refering to males only can also be refering to mammals that are not pigs. One of them that isn't on that list provided are male bears, and female bears are refered to as sows.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 13 2005, 03:25 PM
Post #13


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



call me silly but to a a pig is a pig and boar is a boar :P
but this is going into the area of :silly:
lets get back on track people ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aku
post Oct 13 2005, 05:14 PM
Post #14


Running, running, running
*****

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 2,220
Joined: 18-October 04
From: North Carolina
Member No.: 6,769



all i care about is which one gives me bacon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 14 2005, 01:35 AM
Post #15


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



both as bacon is just salted fat...
heh, if you want to be nasty you can even make bacon based on humans...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Backgammon
post Oct 14 2005, 02:03 AM
Post #16


Ain Soph Aur
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,477
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 600



Could you access the bacon through a sat uplink?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 14 2005, 02:09 AM
Post #17


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



only if they have masterd transporter style technology in SR...
and last time i checked, not even magic can do that...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Oct 14 2005, 02:13 AM
Post #18


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



last i checked, PCs couldn't do that with their magic abilities.

certain NPCs apparently possess the ability to teleport, from what i have seen in certain published adventures.

of course, that's magic, not technology, so you can't access it by sattellite uplink... so the answer is still no.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 14 2005, 02:19 PM
Post #19


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



well the npcs have a bad habbit of walking all over the rules...

you could in theory say that a free spirit can teleport by going into the astral and use fast movement to travel to that other location. unless its to far away it should happen so fast that for people it would be just a blink.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Oct 14 2005, 02:25 PM
Post #20


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



you could also say that Ehran the Scribe and Harlequin can teleport.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakkie
post Oct 14 2005, 02:27 PM
Post #21


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,718
Joined: 14-September 02
Member No.: 3,263



I'm assuming you are talking Harley? Apparently there is an ED magic technique called Netherwalk or something like that (ED people please help me out here with the exact name). It isn't teleporting. The magician gates himself into Astral, and then moves at Astral rates to where they want to be and gates back out to the meat world.

In fact PCs can do this with the help of a Free Spirit with the Gate power, or could in SR3 and likely will still be able to in SR4 once Street Magic comes out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Oct 14 2005, 02:30 PM
Post #22


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



so far as i have seen, there are spells in ED that basically just let you teleport. most require some limited preparation though, so i guess probably the netherwalk thing is it...

however, according to the adventure, they are just gone. not in the astral plane and leaving fast (which an astrally perceiving character should be able to see, unless they can also make themselves invisible in the astral), but just plain old gone.

of course, that may have just been out of a desire not to make it too too obvious that ED and SR were linked...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 14 2005, 02:56 PM
Post #23


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



QUOTE (blakkie)
In fact PCs can do this with the help of a Free Spirit with the Gate power, or could in SR3 and likely will still be able to in SR4 once Street Magic comes out.

only power i can find in mits is astral gateway, and that only allows mundanes to project, or non-initiates to visit the meta-planes.

the socalled gate power sounds familiar tho...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
blakkie
post Oct 14 2005, 03:19 PM
Post #24


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,718
Joined: 14-September 02
Member No.: 3,263



QUOTE (hobgoblin @ Oct 14 2005, 08:56 AM)
QUOTE (blakkie @ Oct 14 2005, 04:27 PM)
In fact PCs can do this with the help of a Free Spirit with the Gate power, or could in SR3 and likely will still be able to in SR4 once Street Magic comes out.

only power i can find in mits is astral gateway, and that only allows mundanes to project, or non-initiates to visit the meta-planes.

the socalled gate power sounds familiar tho...

I've never used it myself, and i'm not sure where it's from. Since it is based on info from DSF i should append that it is such, and could be incorrect.

However i believe it did appear in a thread Ancient History was posting in, and he normally corrects things like that that are wrong if he sees them....and his head doesn't first implode from their sheer incorrectness. :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post Oct 15 2005, 12:58 PM
Post #25


panda!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 10,331
Joined: 8-March 02
From: north of central europe
Member No.: 2,242



well i tryed my hand at searching but all i could find was something about the astral gateway power. so unless you can find me the actual post he made im going to file it under bad memory :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2024 - 06:55 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.