Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Adept Powers, Can they be "turned off"
Sayburr
post Oct 18 2005, 06:03 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 7,522

If an adept has the power, found in an on-line book, called "Face Anonymous" which is simply a power that makes it hard to describe the adept because he looks so plain. Can that power, or for that matter any power, be turned off for a while?

It looks like the rules allude that an adept's powers stay on all the time. But, being a noob, I am not sure.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Smiley
post Oct 18 2005, 06:52 PM
Post #2

Running Target

Member No.: 6,191

That's been the subject of much debate. In our group, we allow the turning off of powers like Improved Reflexes, Killing Hands, and the like. Just because you CAN run as fast as bullet train and kill someone with a single blow doesn't mean you always HAVE to. If the Face Anonymous power comes from the Adept Handybook, as I suspect it does, it's not really canon anyway, so it should be up to the GM.

+Quote Post
Nikoli
post Oct 18 2005, 06:56 PM
Post #3

Chicago Survivor

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 6,033

It's usually accepted that you can forcibly turn off powers. Look at Death Trance, you turn it on, you turn it off.

+Quote Post
hyzmarca
post Oct 18 2005, 07:02 PM
Post #4

Midnight Toker

Member No.: 6,456

An adept can only have a number of active power points equal to or less than his magic rating at any given time. However, using the 20 karma per point rule, an adept can have a total number of power points grater than his magic rating.

The only way to reconsile these is to say that powers can be turned on and off and only (magic rating) or leff points worth of powers can be turned on at any given time.

+Quote Post
Glyph
post Oct 19 2005, 02:52 AM
Post #5

Great Dragon

Member No.: 1,449

Actually, according to the FAQ (italics mine):