![]() |
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Post
#26
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 164 Joined: 7-July 03 Member No.: 4,891 ![]() |
Aw, come on, Shifter + Sacrificing is a nifty trick. Gives me a nice idea for an NPC.
Anyway, I had a shifter PC in my game. I even let him cheat on attributes some. While he did some cool things, he was pretty drastically under-skilled for a character without equipment or magic. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#27
|
|
Great Dragon ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 7,116 Joined: 26-February 02 Member No.: 1,449 ![]() |
Shifters were hardly a min-maxers choice, although the powerful (but overrated) ability of regeneration probably made them attractive to munchkins.
When you pay 25 points on top of paying for being awakened (and mundane shifters are really hosed), then have to buy 9, rather than 6, Attributes... well, the result is usually something other than "overpowered". The only really decent build is a fox shifter full shaman. You can max out the mental Attributes, low physical Attributes in both forms are actually plausible, and you can start out with a character who is all-around good at magic and has regeneration. Plus, the fox form is small and has an initiative boost. My favorite magic builds are still the elven shaman and the Priority: A resources dwarven sorcerer, but fox shifter shamans aren't that bad. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#28
|
|
Manus Celer Dei ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 17,008 Joined: 30-December 02 From: Boston Member No.: 3,802 ![]() |
They get shafted by the fact that despite being foxes who can take human form, only the human form can use magic.
~J |
|
|
![]()
Post
#29
|
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 25 Joined: 26-March 05 Member No.: 7,239 ![]() |
Brightlights+Dikote Hand Razors+VenomSacks+Bliss+hyper combo: soak 3 seperate damage codes after the cyber-implant resolves, and take all subsequent actions at anywhere from +5-+10 TN. (Brightlights, Stun damage mod, phys damage mod, bliss effect, hyper effect)
Yes, I'm a bad person. But at least I'm not breaking out the 19+1d6 Ambidextrous Skillwires 6/36MP monstrosity. That guy gets ugly when he's on combat drugs. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#30
|
|||
Midnight Toker ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 7,686 Joined: 4-July 04 From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop Member No.: 6,456 ![]() |
Shapeshifter magicians can use all of their abilities in either form, unless they take a gesture or incantation geas that their animal form cannot fullfill. . It is Shapeshifter Adepts whose powers are limited to human form. |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#31
|
|
Man In The Machine ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 2,264 Joined: 26-February 02 From: I-495 S Member No.: 1,105 ![]() |
HA! All I can invision is the little red fox sitting on the chair summoning a high force nature spirit...
So I take my comment about shifter-adepts back. They get pooched. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#32
|
|
Manus Celer Dei ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 17,008 Joined: 30-December 02 From: Boston Member No.: 3,802 ![]() |
Gah, you're right. My error.
~J |
|
|
![]()
Post
#33
|
|||
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 586 Joined: 22-November 02 From: Gordonsville, Virginia, U.S.A. (or C.A.S.) Member No.: 3,630 ![]() |
Lindt: Very punny! Very punny! Or was that bit ("fox {shifters}....get pooched.") unintentional? :P BTW: It's "ENvision", not "INvision". ACK! Proofreader training again. --Foreigner |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#34
|
|
Man In The Machine ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 2,264 Joined: 26-February 02 From: I-495 S Member No.: 1,105 ![]() |
:D
Envision... envision... I am why the grammer checkers was invented. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#35
|
|||
Incertum est quo loco te mors expectet; ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 6,546 Joined: 24-October 03 From: DeeCee, U.S. Member No.: 5,760 ![]() |
An adept. That was in animal form (the GM agreed that since the animal form is the NATURAL form, adept powers should apply to that form. So at that point I realize the character isn't strictly canon.) I also noted the character had the 'lightning reflexes' edge. This is SR2 so I don't remember if that would have added to the initiative or not. By SR3, it wouldn't work any more. |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#36
|
|||||
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,283 Joined: 17-May 05 Member No.: 7,398 ![]() |
Well, if you make the player buy the Potency with Karma at the same cost as Initiation, it'll work out to about the same thing. You get the +1 Magic just the same, a bonus die in your Potency pool instead of your Astral pool, and a social stigma from the acts you've performed (and possibly a bounty on your head, depending on the type of Threat you are). Just replace the ordeals and metamagic groups with appropriate Potency-increasing acts. |
||||
|
|||||
![]()
Post
#37
|
|
Canon Companion ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 8,021 Joined: 2-March 03 From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG Member No.: 4,187 ![]() |
Dude, don't make shapeshifters if you want to min-max. Get yourself a free spirit with low Spirit Energy Hidden Essense instead.
Of course, there's always the Background 10 virtuso initiated adept. Not to mention the Background 10 virtuso initiated magician adept. Now that's min-maxing. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#38
|
|||||
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 577 Joined: 23-July 03 From: outside America Member No.: 5,015 ![]() |
Shapeshifter full magicians cannot Astrally Project while in animal form; only in human form. |
||||
|
|||||
![]()
Post
#39
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 619 Joined: 18-April 03 From: The UV Nexus Member No.: 4,474 ![]() |
It's impossible for EVERY character to be overpowered. That's implied by the prefix OVER. Maybe we should put all these characters in a ring, and crown the one that survives.
Nevermind. FASA tried that already. It's called BattleTech. Anybody see the movie Robot Jox? That one wins the prize for worst movie derived from a game or comic book. EDIT: I stand corrected. They made a sequel. As I didn't see it (and never will, cause I didn't get my money back from the first one) I have no idea if this one resembles BattleTech at all. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#40
|
|
Shadowrun Setting Nerd ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Banned Posts: 3,632 Joined: 28-June 05 From: Pissing on pedestrians from my electronic ivory tower. Member No.: 7,473 ![]() |
You obviously haven't seen the Hasselhoff made-for-tv Nick Fury movie.
Compared to that, Robot Jox is Lawrence of Arabia. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#41
|
|||||||
Midnight Toker ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 7,686 Joined: 4-July 04 From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop Member No.: 6,456 ![]() |
Which makes no sense. Of course, this limitation is explicitly limitd to full magicians which means that shapeshifters who want to project in animal form should just be aspected magicians instead and save a few BP. And yes, a certain interpertation of the rules allows aspected Shapeshifters to project. According to Critters any dual natured critter with magic skills can astrally project. Sahpeshifters are critters. |
||||||
|
|||||||
![]()
Post
#42
|
|||
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 577 Joined: 23-July 03 From: outside America Member No.: 5,015 ![]() |
Aspected magicians / shamen cannot project, only perceive. |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#43
|
|||
Midnight Toker ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 7,686 Joined: 4-July 04 From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop Member No.: 6,456 ![]() |
The rule doesn't differentiate between aspected and full magicians. All dual beings with any magical skills are capable of astral projection by default. Shapeshifters are dual beings. |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#44
|
|||||
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,095 Joined: 26-February 02 From: Ontari-airee-o Member No.: 1,115 ![]() |
Nezumi, did you have a chance to transcribe this beast yet? I am guessing that this char is not cannon. Lightning reflexes doesn't add dice, and the reaction bonus doesn't add to initiative. In SR2 if you used the priorites system shifters were tough. Paying for attributes twice is one of the stupidest rules I have seen and I just disregarded it, it should be simple. you have your attribs, and you gain modifiers in shifted form. How long till they just give physads get the regen power? 6 magic points for regen. |
||||
|
|||||
![]()
Post
#45
|
|||
Incertum est quo loco te mors expectet; ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 6,546 Joined: 24-October 03 From: DeeCee, U.S. Member No.: 5,760 ![]() |
Since you've asked, I will go ahead and do it (now that I know where the sheet is). The paying for physical attributes twice is an SR3, not SR2 rule. In SR2 you only paid for them once, however you didn't get regeneration in human form and it was slower. |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#46
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 470 Joined: 2-January 05 From: Quebec Member No.: 6,924 ![]() |
My GM once told me of a party member who's Ork starting character had a body of 20.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#47
|
|||
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 586 Joined: 22-November 02 From: Gordonsville, Virginia, U.S.A. (or C.A.S.) Member No.: 3,630 ![]() |
Kagetenshi: I read through that part of MITS earlier--mainly because I couldn't remember what the "Path of the Righ" was--and the book said that it was intended for NPCs only. Not that I'm arguing, mind you. GM's discretion, and all that. Hmm. I wonder if an assassin PC could follow that Path? :P --Foreigner |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#48
|
|||
Manus Celer Dei ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 17,008 Joined: 30-December 02 From: Boston Member No.: 3,802 ![]() |
You have discovered my point. ~J |
||
|
|||
![]()
Post
#49
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 586 Joined: 22-November 02 From: Gordonsville, Virginia, U.S.A. (or C.A.S.) Member No.: 3,630 ![]() |
Kagetenshi:
OUCH! So *that's* what was poking me--I thought that one of my cats was trying to get my attention.... Feeding time again, or something. :P --Foreigner |
|
|
![]()
Post
#50
|
|||||||
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Dumpshocked Posts: 577 Joined: 23-July 03 From: outside America Member No.: 5,015 ![]() |
But much like how the PC ghoul type is a nerfed version of the NPC Critter, PC shapeshifters differ from the Critter shapeshifters. Quoting from Critters is perfectly appropriate when discussing a Critter. But when debating a PC ghoul or shifter, MitS's ruling does differentiate between aspected and full magicians.
You cannot seriously rule that a Magic:E combat shapeshifter with 1 rank in Aura Reading can astrally project at any time in either form whereas a Magic:A full mage with Sorcery6 and Conjuring6 is restricted to only projecting when in human form? Clearly PC shapeshifters are different to NPC Critters. The Critter is a creature with its attributes and monster stats and class abilities and everything all rolled into one, and as such the package-deal includes projection. A PC gets to choose its stats, and takes on a class profile and decide how magically active the character will be. If they choose a class incapable of projection, then they have a shapeshifter incapable of projection. |
||||||
|
|||||||
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 27th February 2025 - 02:44 PM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.