Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Styles of Gaming
SpasticTeapot
post Apr 23 2006, 05:14 AM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,893

I'm running SR4, and I just wanted to see how people run it.
I'm not much of a GM, and I'm playing with complete newbies, some of which have never played RPGs before-but we're having a blast! I must say, despite the lousy layout, Shadowrun 4 is a great RPG, for one simple reason: It's fun to play, and there's a simple mechanic usable for many tasks.
In order to keep the game under control (and to maintain my sanity), I put in some simple rules for the starting PCs: You can't have more than 3 points of cyberware (before alpha/beta adjustments, not including cyberlimbs), or more than 3 points of magic. This gives mundanes an advantage, and because a PC can have a high starting Resonance, the party otaku can actually do something useful while Timmy the PhysAd works twoard his improved reflexes.
Because of the PC's low power, and to help introduce them to SR and RPG's in general, my game has mostly revolved around simply living. The PC's don't change the world so much as they try to deal with it; they're aware that they can often be outnumbered or outgunned, and are'nt squeamish about morality.
This has also lead to a somewhat goofy style of play. During my version of Supermarket Shuffle, the line first stated when the power was cut: "Nobody cuts me off from my Soy MacMuffin!"