Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SURGErs
Glayvin34
post Apr 26 2006, 08:40 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,275

I'm new to SR with the fourth edition, were there any rules for being affected by the SURGE associated with Halley's Comet from the third edition? Were there any other metatypes available?
A "SURGEr" Quality would make sense if you're not already a metatype other than human. You would get a diminished metatype-like set of effects, like +1 to an atrribute or two but you run at half speed because your hooves are cumbersome, or you take a -1 on most social interactions because of your third eye, something like that.
Has this ground been covered already?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
mdynna
post Apr 26 2006, 09:26 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 8,145

I was surprised that SR4 didn't have any of the "Changling" (that's what they call those affected by SURGE) traits. What you'll probably have to do is pick up Year of the Comet. That lists all of the SURGE traits. From there they should translate almost directly into Positive and Negative Qualities in SR4.

+Quote Post
Kanada Ten
post Apr 26 2006, 09:28 PM
Post #3

Beetle Eater

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 2,826

Take the BP cost of buying equvilant cyberware/bioware to gain the effect and then a little more BP for cosmetic surgery, then call it SURGE. Then maybe charge a BP or 2 to round it off. The advantage of not losing the essence is traded for being a freak.

+Quote Post
Glayvin34
post Apr 26 2006, 09:41 PM
Post #4

Moving Target

QUOTE (mdynna)
What you'll probably have to do is pick up Year of the Comet. That lists all of the SURGE traits. From there they should translate almost directly into Positive and Negative Qualities in SR4.