Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Modifying Standard Guns
DrowVampyre
post May 4 2006, 06:33 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,484

Ok, I'm not a firearms expert by any means, but I was wondering what kinds of modifications could be made to an already made gun, and how much they would cost to do? I don't mean things like adding a Gas Vent system and such - I mean things like changing the fire modes, increasing ammo capacity, adding lengthened barrels, customizing the grips, adding foregrips, etc. And what types of effects would they have in game terms (aside form the obvious increased ammo and extra fire modes)?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Aku
post May 4 2006, 12:29 PM
Post #2

Running, running, running

Group: Dumpshocked
Member No.: 6,769

While rules for this stuff isnt in the SR4 rules, they did exist in sr3, in the canon companion, i beleive. Things like extended barrels, i beleive, reduced tn's, but made concealabiltiy harder, as well as having a cash cost.

+Quote Post
Austere Emancipa...
post May 4 2006, 12:51 PM
Post #3

Great Dragon

Member No.: 5,222

Extended and shortened barrels only cause a +/- 10% change in effective range in SR3, so the TN changes from that are pretty minimal. They do have an effect on concealability, as Aku mentioned.

Since discussing what effects such modifications would really have is more or less taboo in this forum, I suggest you just wait for the SR4 version of the Cannon Companion.

+Quote Post
blakkie
post May 4 2006, 01:29 PM
Post #4

Dragon

Member No.: 3,263

While I actively avoid slaving to "realism" in the game, I am actually interested in it. Especially where roughly capturing the spirit of reality would not get in the way of gaming, or even result in a cleaner set of rules. I find it also provides good tips for in-game descriptions even if the rules mechanics themselves are not changed.

Plus there is the general interest POV.