IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Aspecting background counts., Possible without geomancy?
emo samurai
post May 17 2006, 12:32 AM
Post #1


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,589
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 8,019



How do you aspect a background count? Do you hold a concert in a place 50 times in a month or something?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post May 17 2006, 12:33 AM
Post #2


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



Blood rites.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emo samurai
post May 17 2006, 12:37 AM
Post #3


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,589
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 8,019



Oh... anything else? Do you mean blood magic and killing people and stuff?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post May 17 2006, 12:41 AM
Post #4


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



Yeah. Also, regular rituals held over a period of years...though things destabilized a bit during the Year of the Comet, so aspecting certain sites would be faster and easier.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emo samurai
post May 17 2006, 01:06 AM
Post #5


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,589
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 8,019



Anything in MITS so that I can expect rules for it in Street Magic?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post May 17 2006, 01:12 AM
Post #6


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



No hard-and-fast rules have ever been published.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emo samurai
post May 17 2006, 01:18 AM
Post #7


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,589
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 8,019



KHAAAAAANNNNNN!!!!!

Would it destroy game balance if you could?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kanada Ten
post May 17 2006, 01:40 AM
Post #8


Beetle Eater
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,797
Joined: 3-June 02
From: Oblivion City
Member No.: 2,826



Wasn't there a Power Site in the Basement quality in the SSG?

I don't think the idea is about balance, but more to do with cheese. "Real" power sites are the things magical groups fight over, even brining governments into it. Having a PC with one aspected to him/her is just sort of too much work, like a focus factory.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emo samurai
post May 17 2006, 03:08 AM
Post #9


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,589
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 8,019



What would be the benefit of having a power site?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ancient History
post May 17 2006, 03:30 AM
Post #10


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,748
Joined: 5-July 02
Member No.: 2,935



Bonus Dice On Demand™.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laser
post May 17 2006, 03:35 AM
Post #11


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 9-May 06
From: Right behind you!
Member No.: 8,538



Bonus dice for doing magical stuff. Doesn't help with everything, since you obviously can't be there all the time, but things like ritual magic, hermetic summoning, and enchanting can benefit from it. I also think there's a way to key it to you, in which case only people to whom it is keyed can get the bonus and everyone else gets no bonus, or if they are sufficiently ideologically opposed to the people who are keyed to it, treat it as background count equal to the rating of the power site.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fistandantilus4....
post May 17 2006, 04:29 AM
Post #12


Uncle Fisty
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 13,891
Joined: 3-January 05
From: Next To Her
Member No.: 6,928



also the virtuoso metamagic creates and aspected background count. And that's portable!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kanada Ten
post May 17 2006, 07:17 AM
Post #13


Beetle Eater
********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 4,797
Joined: 3-June 02
From: Oblivion City
Member No.: 2,826



QUOTE (fistandantilus3.0)
also the virtuoso metamagic creates and aspected background count. And that's portable!

It's why every dragon has Singing at rating 8.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fistandantilus4....
post May 17 2006, 11:16 AM
Post #14


Uncle Fisty
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 13,891
Joined: 3-January 05
From: Next To Her
Member No.: 6,928



IIRC, the Sea Dragon is the only one that's that cheap. The other dragons don't want to be called *uber* or *munchkin* (except for Damon, who thinks it means something else).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post May 17 2006, 02:59 PM
Post #15


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 8,021
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



Actually according to the latest book on SR dragons, only metamagics from MITS as well as other specific metamagics are mentioned. I have not seen a canon dragon with any adept power as yet, which leads me to believe that dragons do not have access to the adept metamagics although they may be aware of them and may tutor adepts in their use (Ryan "I Luv Brown Nipples" Mercury).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Daddy's Litt...
post May 17 2006, 05:47 PM
Post #16


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 976
Joined: 16-September 04
From: Near my daughters, Lansdale PA
Member No.: 6,668



QUOTE (Laser)
Bonus dice for doing magical stuff. Doesn't help with everything, since you obviously can't be there all the time, but things like ritual magic, hermetic summoning, and enchanting can benefit from it. I also think there's a way to key it to you, in which case only people to whom it is keyed can get the bonus and everyone else gets no bonus, or if they are sufficiently ideologically opposed to the people who are keyed to it, treat it as background count equal to the rating of the power site.

I think it probably is a spot or different power for differnet people. A Catholic Priest in St Peter's in Rome will get a juju boost from the atmosphere that an other caster would not.

A Jew at Massada would thrive BUT some sites are more ambigiuous.

Here is a thought. They say a concentration camp has a high back ground count, but whom would it aid? The people who were imprisoned but survived ? The people who did it but now regret it? I mean a Jewish mage at Belsen. Does he gain power from the jews who were there and survived? Does it smother him? Does a Nazi gain from the back ground because his ground were at their peak there? Does a German who regrets the holocaust gain power because he aknowledges the evil and repents? Do the spirits of it still weigh him down with the guilt?

Maybe it is even miore complex.

Maybe an angry ethnic Japanese standing in the west coast camps can draw on energy denied to a more accepting person.

I think I just found out why it has never set down in the rule books
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stevebugge
post May 17 2006, 06:03 PM
Post #17


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,026
Joined: 23-November 05
From: Seattle (Really!)
Member No.: 7,996



Not all sites with background counts are power sites either. Just because a site has a background count doesn't mean it can be aspected to a power site, some sites gained their background count because of their negative or even antimagical uses. A telescopic optics manufacturing facility for example would have to be so clean and sterile that t probably has a background count, but it would hinder any sort of magic. While an aspected power site acts like a background count to people outside the tradition of the aspecting group, it boosts power to the controlling group. Some power sites are new enough to have not been aspected, so they boost everyones power. Time and repetitive use is the most reliable way to aspect a site, my understanding was that geomancy simply helped you locate them, or in the case of Wuxing increase their power.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emo samurai
post May 17 2006, 09:45 PM
Post #18


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,589
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 8,019



So if I had a power site, I could basically multiply orihalcum production?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hyzmarca
post May 18 2006, 01:25 AM
Post #19


Midnight Toker
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,686
Joined: 4-July 04
From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop
Member No.: 6,456



QUOTE (stevebugge)
Not all sites with background counts are power sites either. Just because a site has a background count doesn't mean it can be aspected to a power site, some sites gained their background count because of their negative or even antimagical uses. A telescopic optics manufacturing facility for example would have to be so clean and sterile that t probably has a background count, but it would hinder any sort of magic. While an aspected power site acts like a background count to people outside the tradition of the aspecting group, it boosts power to the controlling group. Some power sites are new enough to have not been aspected, so they boost everyones power. Time and repetitive use is the most reliable way to aspect a site, my understanding was that geomancy simply helped you locate them, or in the case of Wuxing increase their power.

But then there is the matter of toxic Shamen and toxic spirits who draw power from the background counts of toxic domains. A sterile nature spirit summoned by a toxic shaman would draw power from the background count of the sterile optics factory.

It isn't just a matter of aspecting a site to the magic. It is also a matter of aspecting the magic to the site. A sufficiently corrupt toxic shaman could thrive in places where most magicians wouldn't even be able to astraly percieve without suffering grave injury.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fistandantilus4....
post May 18 2006, 04:39 AM
Post #20


Uncle Fisty
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 13,891
Joined: 3-January 05
From: Next To Her
Member No.: 6,928



QUOTE (emo samurai)
So if I had a power site, I could basically multiply orihalcum production?

no. At least , not in third edition, where the test is using the enchanting skill, and has very little to do with magic attributes or the site of where you're doing it. That could change in SR4 I suppose, although I don't see why it would.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th May 2024 - 01:32 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.