IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Multi-slot chipjack & Expert Driver, One driver per slot
JesterX
post Jun 7 2006, 06:13 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 358
Joined: 12-May 05
From: The nearest UV host near you...
Member No.: 7,390



Probably asked before... but:

Should the Chipjack Expert Driver be purchased for each slot in a multi-slot chipjack or it's applicable to every slots?

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Jun 8 2006, 07:05 AM
Post #2


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Per slot.

Mind you, you can attack a jukebox to that slot, and get the benefit, but then you have to switch every time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bodak
post Jun 13 2006, 11:57 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 573
Joined: 23-July 03
From: outside America
Member No.: 5,015



You don't need to buy Expert Driver for every slot in a Multichipjack if you don't need the extra dice in some of the chips. For example you could have EDs on the first two jacks and you might have no ED in the third slot because you just have a Lingsoft(5) in there, and you're pretty sure 5 dice will be enough for you to understand what people are saying in that language. You can always move the chip to a jack with EDs if the conversation starts getting technical.

As JesterX says, you can just have one chipjack and put good EDs on it then plug in a jukebox. If you control the jukebox using a separate datajack connection then you can activate skillsofts as a free action (and you're usually only going to be using one skill at a time anyway).

Also check out Cannon Companion p60. There are various options that reduce the effective load on your system, etc. but what is relevant here is:
QUOTE (CC60)
More than one skillsoft program from a cluster chip can be used at a time. Each requires a Free Action to access. If a skillsoft with the cluser option is used in a chipjack with an Expert Driver, all skills encoded on that chip that are in use share the Task Pool.
If you like Dumpshock you can also go with the DIMAP option which gives you up to (rating -1) dice from your natural pool(s) to use with that skillsoft.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nezumi
post Jun 14 2006, 01:48 PM
Post #4


Incertum est quo loco te mors expectet;
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,546
Joined: 24-October 03
From: DeeCee, U.S.
Member No.: 5,760



That said, there's nothing quite as nice as having three CEDs, two in your firearms of choice and one in something else, so you have an automatically refreshing pool for each shot, plus your combat pool happily saved for dodging.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th May 2024 - 12:50 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.