> Need some Story Teller Advice, …or Game Master, or what ever term you u
ZeroTrack
post Jul 1 2006, 04:39 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,817

Bottom line is HELP!
My players are so lazy! Ok ok ok, background, I’ve been running a weekly Shadowrun game for about 3 months now, and the player are doing well, but they really drive me crazy about not tracking details, like NPC names, maps, and even there own ammo.
I’ll draw out a detailed sewer map and give them a handout with a poorly draw map (they got from the Johnson) and they just say “We go to the other side” and when I ask them “What route do you take” they are like “The quickest” any attempt to slow down the action to create suspense is lost on there eager to get it over with mindset. And if I insist “Well you should have written the piece of info down” they lecture me on how there “characters” would have remembered so they don’t have to. Argggg! Sad thing is I have no other players to draw from, so it’s this group or bust.

Ok, so how can I get these guys intrested in keeping track of the details
Like fake SIN names, ammo, NPC names, even what there mission is at times.

Sorry for the rant, but any help would be gratefull.

Zero
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Jaid
post Jul 1 2006, 05:09 PM
Post #2

Great Dragon

Member No.: 7,813

you cannot force them to roleplay.

the best you can do is to reward roleplaying.

for example, i believe the BBB suggests handing out bonus karma for those who roleplay... if not in this edition, then certainly in previous editions it did.

if these guys are really that interested in just rollplaying without any roleplaying, then the words "bonus karma" adds an element of rollplaying to the roleplaying, thus bringing the two together into one unified whole (well... i guess that depends really, but you get the point).