Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Is cyberware important to hackers?
kakos
post Jul 12 2006, 07:27 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 8,869

So, I'm new to Shadowrun and I'm wanting to make a hacker character, but I didn't take any cyberware. My GM, who has been playing Shadowrun since 1st, tells me that in order to be a competitive hacker character, I should have a lot more cyberware, such as a datajack and an implanted commlink. However, in the book, I can't find any major benefits from these things in the rules. Am I missing something or did this change in 4th edition? If I am missing something, could you post a page in the book that lists of the importance of DNI to a hacker character?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Jul 12 2006, 07:51 AM
Post #2

Shooting Target

Member No.: 6,465

You don't need cyberware to be a hacker in SR4. There are no inheritant bonuses doing something with an implant instead of externally. It's a convienence, not a requirement in SR4. With the new freedoms hackers enjoy it allows anyone with the desire to hack.

+Quote Post
Taki
post Jul 12 2006, 08:00 AM
Post #3

Moving Target

Member No.: 7,343

Yes you need cyberware to be on the top ...
have any reflexe augmentation, to have more IP in AR.

+Quote Post
GrinderTheTroll
post Jul 12 2006, 08:26 AM
Post #4

Shooting Target

QUOTE (Taki)
Yes you need cyberware to be on the top ...
have any reflexe augmentation, to have more IP in AR.

Magic would work too, PhysAd or a Mage and they dont need cyberware. AR is good, but if things get rough, full hot-VR is where it's at.

+Quote Post
ornot
post Jul 12 2006, 08:38 AM
Post #5

Running Target

Member No.: 8,638