Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 3rd ed Mage-ery, or, "what the hell does all this mean?"
jrpigman
post Nov 10 2006, 04:44 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 9,810

Hey all. I'm fairly new to Shadowrun, though the system seems awesome, but I'm not quite sure I understand some of the finer distinctions between types of mages. Maybe you can give me advice.

I'm playing a 3rd ed campaign with a 5 man party - couple street sams, a decker/rigger, and a face. As I have never had the opportunity, I have been delegated the task of being the mage. I'm pretty clear on the rules, and I've asked some of the guys I know about good builds, but some of the defining semantics between magic disciplines elude me. For example, what's the benefit of being a hermetic? Aside from the ability to summon up and wait out the drain. How about Shamans? Wuxing? Voodoo? The Wheel? I can read rules all day long, but how said characters functionally play is not something I can nessecerily predict.

In short, I'd like advice and experientially based stories about how different magic traditions actually play out in role playing. Any neat builds you're aware of would be interesting too.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
eidolon
post Nov 10 2006, 04:51 PM
Post #2

ghostrider

Group: Retired Admins
Member No.: 6,333

Heya, welcome to Dumpshock.

A lot of "how they play out" is in the flavor of each tradition. I'm guessing that you have access to Magic in the Shadows? It does a pretty good job of giving some background on playing the various magical traditions.

Also, in my experience, a lot of how a particular tradition gets played out is grounded in that player's or that groups collective ideas about that particular tradition. What I mean is that Voodoo, regardless of the information in the books, gets played out more in accordance with what that player thinks and knows about Voodoo.

+Quote Post
Dawnshadow
post Nov 10 2006, 06:08 PM
Post #3

Moving Target

Member No.: 7,086