IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> counterspelling and sheilding
mattvo28
post Nov 20 2006, 02:22 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 10-November 06
From: Janesville, WI
Member No.: 9,825



I was reading up on Shielding and had some questions. Namely are the initiate dice provided able to be placed on people like the regular counterspelling dice.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Nov 20 2006, 02:29 AM
Post #2


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Yes. The Initiate's 'grade' is added to his Counterspelling dice, which can be used to protect himself and/or others, just as normal Counterspelling.

Shielding does not grant any benefits to other uses of the Counterspelling Skill though,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mattvo28
post Nov 20 2006, 02:52 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 10-November 06
From: Janesville, WI
Member No.: 9,825



Thank you for the clarification. That was the way I thought it worked but I just wanted to make sure I was reading correctly.

Once again thank you for your time and help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Nov 20 2006, 02:55 AM
Post #4


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



'Tis what we are here for. ;) :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Nov 20 2006, 02:59 AM
Post #5


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



QUOTE (Fortune)
'Tis what we are here for. ;) :)

i thought we were here for the pointless bickering and arguing ;)

and to await even the tiniest scrap of information that may get dropped about shadowrun, of course. but in the meanwhile, pointless bickering and arguing :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demerzel
post Nov 20 2006, 03:53 PM
Post #6


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,206
Joined: 9-July 06
From: Fresno, CA
Member No.: 8,856



QUOTE (Jaid)
i thought we were here for the pointless bickering and arguing ;)

No were not, you're fooling yourself.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RunnerPaul
post Nov 20 2006, 05:05 PM
Post #7


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,086
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 364



QUOTE (Demerzel)
QUOTE (Jaid @ Nov 19 2006, 06:59 PM)
i thought we were here for the pointless bickering and arguing ;)

No were not, you're fooling yourself.

That's not an argument, it's just contradiction.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
emo samurai
post Nov 20 2006, 05:07 PM
Post #8


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,589
Joined: 28-November 05
Member No.: 8,019



Shielding foci can be used to help with Absorbing and Reflecting, right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Nov 20 2006, 07:31 PM
Post #9


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



I can't find anywhere that spells it out explicitly ... only ...

QUOTE (Street Magic)
Shielding foci add their Force to the magicianís initiate
grade when she uses the Shielding metamagic on a Counterspelling Test.


If this is all we have to go on, an argument can be made for either side. While it does specify 'uses the Shielding metamagic' in the text, both Absorption and Reflection are considered advanced Shielding techniques.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2024 - 01:02 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.