IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A question about the Armor Spell, and Force
TheUrbanMonkey
post Jan 7 2007, 08:53 PM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 4-December 06
From: ein Loch in der Wand
Member No.: 10,192



QUOTE
Armor (Physical)
Type: P • Range: LOS • Duration: S • DV: (F ÷ 2) + 3
This spell creates a glowing field of magical energy
around the subject that protects against Physical damage. It
provides both Ballistic and Impact armor (cumulative with
worn armor) to the subject equal to the hits scored.


Is it possible to cast this spell at Force 1 with no reduction in effectiveness? I am seeing nothing in the way it is written to say otherwise.

However, I am GMing in shadowrun for the first time, so I don't know if I've overlooked something here. Am I correct in assuming that the "hits scored" bit is referenceing a Spellcasting + Magic test? If so, is there any reason to cast the spell at higher Force than 1?

I tried to search for an answer to this, but i did not find it... perhaps my search-fu is weak.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hyzmarca
post Jan 7 2007, 08:59 PM
Post #2


Midnight Toker
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,686
Joined: 4-July 04
From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop
Member No.: 6,456



Fits are limited by force. At force 1 only 1 hit counts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheUrbanMonkey
post Jan 7 2007, 09:08 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 4-December 06
From: ein Loch in der Wand
Member No.: 10,192



oh really? hm. well, that makes that decision easier! thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
James McMurray
post Jan 7 2007, 09:09 PM
Post #4


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,430
Joined: 10-January 05
From: Fort Worth, Texas
Member No.: 6,957



Beaten to the punch, so I'll just chirp in with a "hyzmarca's right." Sorry I don't have a book handy so can't give a page reference, but if you missed that you may want to reread the magic section, as there's a few little things like that which, if missed, can make magic users much more powerful than they should be.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Konsaki
post Jan 7 2007, 09:15 PM
Post #5


Runner
******

Group: Members
Posts: 2,526
Joined: 9-April 06
From: McGuire AFB, NJ
Member No.: 8,445



QUOTE (BBB End of Pg171 and Start of Pg172)
A spell’s Force limits the number of hits (not net hits) that can be achieved on the Spellcasting Test. So if you cast a Force 3 spell and get 5 hits, only 3 of those hits count. In other words, Force serves as a limiter effect on spells—the more oomph you put into the spell, the better you can succeed with it. This limitation does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheUrbanMonkey
post Jan 8 2007, 10:00 PM
Post #6


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 4-December 06
From: ein Loch in der Wand
Member No.: 10,192



another question on a similar topic:

Spells can be cast while Astrally Projecting, right? I'm not seeing anything saying otherwise, but i wanted to check. Also, for some reason, I had the idea that only Mana spells can be cast while Astrally Projecting, which is why i went looking for the info, to show to someone else, but i couldn't find it. Did i make this up, or what?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon-Hawk
post Jan 8 2007, 10:02 PM
Post #7


Genuine Artificial Intelligence
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,019
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 4,715



You didn't make it up, you got it from an old edition.

And you can cast spells while Astrally Projecting, but the spellcaster and the target always have to be on the same plane. So when you're Projecting you can only cast spells against other people who are projecting, or dual-natured (such as someone astrally perceiving). Mundanes are totally safe from the projecting sorceror.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demerzel
post Jan 8 2007, 10:03 PM
Post #8


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,206
Joined: 9-July 06
From: Fresno, CA
Member No.: 8,856



Spells can be cast while astrally projecting.

Spells must be Mana spells (Not physical).

You cannot target objects/people/etc. that are not astrally active.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon-Hawk
post Jan 8 2007, 10:10 PM
Post #9


Genuine Artificial Intelligence
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,019
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 4,715



QUOTE (Demerzel)
Spells must be Mana spells (Not physical).

Are you sure?

I might be wrong about that above, I'm not positive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 8 2007, 10:50 PM
Post #10


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Well, there's this little tidbit ...

QUOTE (SR4-pg.171)
A spell that affects a target physically is called a physical spell, while a spell that affects a target through mana is called a mana spell. A physical spell can only affect a target that has a physical form, and is incapable of affecting an astral form (see the Astral World, p. 181). Mana spells can only affect living things or entities composed of mana—such as spirits or foci.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Banaticus
post Jan 8 2007, 10:54 PM
Post #11


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 510
Joined: 19-May 06
From: Southern CA
Member No.: 8,574



What if the magician goes onto the astral plane then manifests somewhere -- he can then cast physical spells as he's on the physical plane, correct?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 8 2007, 10:59 PM
Post #12


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Nope, as he is not actually on the Physical Plane in that example. He would still be Astrally Projecting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Banaticus
post Jan 8 2007, 11:05 PM
Post #13


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 510
Joined: 19-May 06
From: Southern CA
Member No.: 8,574



But a mage astrally projecting from the physical plane to the astral plane doesn't count as being on the physical plane and can't cast physical spells, so why isn't the mage "projecting" or manifesting from the astral plane count as being on the physical plane?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 8 2007, 11:09 PM
Post #14


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Because he is still Astrally Projecting, and merely extending his (senses? aura? whatever?) to the Physical, usually for communication purposes. Note that the manifesting mage is not as vulnerable to attacks on the Physical as he would be if he were actually physically present on that plane.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Demerzel
post Jan 8 2007, 11:14 PM
Post #15


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,206
Joined: 9-July 06
From: Fresno, CA
Member No.: 8,856



This is one that always gets me.

Manifesting != Materialization.

Materialization is what spirits do. It gives them a physical form, they materialize.

Manifesting is what an astrally projecting mage does or a Watcher spirit (Maybe a real spirit can do it too), it puts an image of the mage into the physical world, sort of. It is not really there, physical recording devices do not record it, but people can see it. It is basically a mana based affect that puts you into peoples heads like a mana illusion would.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon-Hawk
post Jan 9 2007, 02:30 PM
Post #16


Genuine Artificial Intelligence
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,019
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 4,715



QUOTE (Fortune)
Well, there's this little tidbit ...

QUOTE (SR4-pg.171)
A spell that affects a target physically is called a physical spell, while a spell that affects a target through mana is called a mana spell. A physical spell can only affect a target that has a physical form, and is incapable of affecting an astral form (see the Astral World, p. 181). Mana spells can only affect living things or entities composed of mana—such as spirits or foci.

Hmmm, well that is a good point, isn't it? :P

Still, depending on your interpretation of exactly how sorcery works I could see an argument for an astrally projecting mage using a physical spell to target a dual-natured creature.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RunnerPaul
post Jan 10 2007, 01:08 AM
Post #17


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,086
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 364



QUOTE (Moon-Hawk @ Jan 9 2007, 09:30 AM)
QUOTE (Fortune @ Jan 8 2007, 05:50 PM)
Well, there's this little tidbit ...

QUOTE (SR4-pg.171)
A spell that affects a target physically is called a physical spell, while a spell that affects a target through mana is called a mana spell. A physical spell can only affect a target that has a physical form, and is incapable of affecting an astral form (see the Astral World, p. 181). Mana spells can only affect living things or entities composed of mana—such as spirits or foci.

Hmmm, well that is a good point, isn't it? :P

Still, depending on your interpretation of exactly how sorcery works I could see an argument for an astrally projecting mage using a physical spell to target a dual-natured creature.

Well, if that didn't convince you, how about this:

"An astral target can only be affected by mana spells" p.173, SR4 core rules.

"But my target is dual-natured," you may protest. To which I retort:

"Spells are never dual-natured" p.167, SR4 core rules.

In short, if you're casting the spell from the astral plane, it exists soley on the astral plane, and must follow the rules for targeting astral targets, one of which is "mana only".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon-Hawk
post Jan 10 2007, 02:30 PM
Post #18


Genuine Artificial Intelligence
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,019
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 4,715



Hahaha, okay, you guys win. I'm convinced.
Thanks for clearing that up for me. :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th October 2025 - 11:12 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.