IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dual-natured critters vs. materialized spirits, Do their attacks bypass Immunity?
kerbarian
post Jan 14 2007, 02:08 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 118
Joined: 16-December 06
Member No.: 10,387



Say a barghest is attacking a materialized earth spirit. Both are dual-natured, and the barghest has the Natural Weapon power for a 5P bite attack.

If the barghest bites the spirit, is the attack considered a magical weapon that bypasses Immunity to Normal Weapons? The list of what can bypass Immunity is "weapon foci, spells, adept or critter powers", and the attack is technically a critter power, but it seems like a purely mundane one.

What if the barghest is muzzled and physically attacks the spirit anyway with its standard 2S unarmed attack? Does that bypass the immunity just because the barghest is dual-natured? I would guess not.

Can the barghest attack the spirit in astral combat? Per the astral combat rules on p.184 of the BBB, "dual natured characters use their Physical attributes and skills to fight opponents with a physical body", which sounds like no actual astral combat occurs between two creatures with physical forms, even if they're both dual-natured, but it's not explicit on that count.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post Jan 14 2007, 03:08 AM
Post #2


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 6,603
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



natural weapon being a critter power would, officially at least, bypass immunity to normal weapons.

personally, i would probably limit it's effectiveness to dual natured or astral forms, however, and would rule that a dual natured being can bypass a critter's immunity to normal weapons.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toturi
post Jan 14 2007, 03:50 AM
Post #3


Canon Companion
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,966
Joined: 2-March 03
From: The Morgue, Singapore LTG
Member No.: 4,187



By the letter of the rules, I can see 2 rulings - 1) You rule that Immunity to Normal Weapons as not being affected by those rs unless stated in the description of those abilities/items or 2) As long as the ability/item is a weapon foci, spells, adept or critter power, it goes.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st August 2014 - 08:18 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.