![]() ![]() |
Mar 20 2007, 08:50 PM
Post
#1
|
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 398 Joined: 16-August 06 Member No.: 9,130 |
Ok, I am actively counterspelling which means I can counterspell spells I am unaware of. This also extends to my compadres. How far away can they get before they don't get counterspelling dice? I looked through the book and I couldn't find anything. Without active counterspelling I am rather sure you have to have LOS, but with it LOS is no longer necessary. Heck, you don't even have to be aware of the spell. There has to be a range restriction somewhere, is it the same as the spirit link magic*100? I highly doubt it was the developers intent to allow counterspelling overseas from North America to England.
|
|
|
|
Mar 20 2007, 09:15 PM
Post
#2
|
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 906 Joined: 16-October 06 Member No.: 9,630 |
Your friend has to be within line of sight not the magician casting the spell at him. As long as they are close enough to stab them in the back with manabolt there close enough for counterspelling.
|
|
|
|
Mar 20 2007, 10:49 PM
Post
#3
|
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 398 Joined: 16-August 06 Member No.: 9,130 |
Yes, but is there a range for this. Also, is this just your opinion and discretion or is there somewhere in the rules. I don't understand what your first sentence is replying to. I don't remember saying anything like that.
Manabolt is an LOS range spell. By stab them in the back I am guessing you mean within touch range. I definitely know touch range is against the intent of the rules. Could you maybe clarify what you are saying a bit? Edit DOH, I just posted as my friend. He has his account setup as auto login. That should be my name above this post. This post has been edited by fistandantilus3.0: Mar 21 2007, 05:08 AM |
|
|
|
Mar 20 2007, 10:56 PM
Post
#4
|
|
|
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,206 Joined: 9-July 06 From: Fresno, CA Member No.: 8,856 |
The only rule I'm aware of is LOS. So I think he's meaning if you could get them with a manabolt you can get cover them with counterspelling.
|
|
|
|
Mar 20 2007, 11:37 PM
Post
#5
|
|||
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 43 Joined: 1-March 06 From: NYC Member No.: 8,325 |
I'm pretty sure he meant it in a purely metaphorical sense. "A protected character must also stay within the magician’s line of sight in order for Counterspelling to be used." (SR4 p. 175) There is no range limit on counterspelling other than LOS, just like the spell manabolt. You have to be able to see the person you're protecting, just like manabolt. |
||
|
|
|||
Mar 21 2007, 01:51 AM
Post
#6
|
|
|
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,290 Joined: 23-January 07 From: Seattle, USA Member No.: 10,749 |
Well, even with no obstructions, you can only clearly see someone at a fairly short distance, I mean once you start pushing 100+ meters it gets really hard to see a target without technilogical aid and you can't cast spells, or counterspell, through technological devices.
Which brings a question, if you have a low-tech vision enhancer, say binoculars, could you cast a spell through them? You are not acually seeing the direct image with your eyes, but you are still getting an analog image created by bending light as opposed to a digitally reproduced image. |
|
|
|
Mar 21 2007, 02:24 AM
Post
#7
|
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 433 Joined: 26-February 02 From: Somewhere in Iraq Member No.: 1,789 |
If you use optical vision enhancers, such as optical binoculars or mage sight goggles, that do not use any electronics to enhance the image then it is ok. If you are using electronic vision enhancers you have to have paid for it with essence, in the case of cybereyes.
|
|
|
|
Mar 21 2007, 03:04 AM
Post
#8
|
|||||||
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 200 Joined: 22-June 06 Member No.: 8,764 |
Just for clarification:
The perception test modifier table does have a -3 penalty for "object is far away," is this the mechanic you use? |
||||||
|
|
|||||||
Mar 21 2007, 04:06 AM
Post
#9
|
|||||
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 906 Joined: 16-October 06 Member No.: 9,630 |
Yes I meant in a metaphorical sense, as long as there close enough to target them with a spell there close enough for counterspelling |
||||
|
|
|||||
Mar 21 2007, 05:59 PM
Post
#10
|
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 398 Joined: 16-August 06 Member No.: 9,130 |
So then to clarify. Active counterspelling works by the counterspelling magician actively manipulating the mana around his selected targets as long as they are in LOS of that magician.
I guess it was the unaware part that got me. It seemed to imply something other than LOS was going on here. |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:16 PM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.