IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Empathic Healing and First Aid
HeySparky
post Jun 7 2007, 07:48 PM
Post #1


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,077
Joined: 14-September 04
Member No.: 6,658



Q: RunnerB gets hurt. If RunnerA does First Aid on RunnerB then Empathically Heals the rest of the damage, can the 'new' damage to RunnerA be lessened by First Aid?

A: Hell no. If two Adepts had Empathic Healing and First Aid, they'd never have to suffer anything more painful than high costs of resupplying medkits.

Q: Okay... so then, what does it mean when you Empathically heal individual boxes of damage. EXAMPLE: RunnerB gets a lead-pipe to the ribs takes 6 boxes of damage... it cracks a few ribs and one of them punctures a lung. RunnerA heals RunnerB... what are the effects?

RunnerA and RunnerB both have sore ribs? RunnerB no longer has a punctured rib, but RunnerB does...? Ah, the mysteries of Magic. Anyone have insight?

A: ...?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post Jun 7 2007, 07:50 PM
Post #2


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,924
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



They obviously weren't hit hard enough with a lead pipe.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon-Hawk
post Jun 7 2007, 07:53 PM
Post #3


Genuine Artificial Intelligence
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,019
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 4,715



I would think it would probably vary based on the style of RunnerA. One adept might suffer the same broken ribs, another might not show anything but an overall decrease in well-being, and another might bleed from the hands and feet no matter what they heal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Aaron
post Jun 7 2007, 08:59 PM
Post #4


Mr. Johnson
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,148
Joined: 27-February 06
From: UCAS
Member No.: 8,314



Play RoleMaster?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HeySparky
post Jun 7 2007, 09:03 PM
Post #5


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,077
Joined: 14-September 04
Member No.: 6,658



1:2 signal to noise. Not bad.

That's keen Moon-Hawk.



So, back to the first question, is a given 'lot' of wounds 'healed magically' if it's transferred by Empathic Healing? If so - that BLOWS. The spell makes the wounds vanish and the caster break a sweat.

Boo-urns, I say. Booo... urns.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DireRadiant
post Jun 7 2007, 09:09 PM
Post #6


The Dragon Never Sleeps
*********

Group: Admin
Posts: 6,924
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,667



If a "Box" of damage was defined in terms of "real" injuries then the answer to this question would be simple. But it's not, so the answer is going to depend on how you define a "box" of damage, and whether or not it's fixed or mutable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon-Hawk
post Jun 7 2007, 09:17 PM
Post #7


Genuine Artificial Intelligence
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,019
Joined: 12-June 03
Member No.: 4,715



QUOTE (ES_Sparky)
So, back to the first question, is a given 'lot' of wounds 'healed magically' if it's transferred by Empathic Healing? If so - that BLOWS. The spell makes the wounds vanish and the caster break a sweat.

I would say that the wounds have been healed magically, yes.
You're right, this is worse than the heal spell, and a Mystic Adept (who theoretically has access to both) probably won't take this power.
But for a regular adept who otherwise can't do magical healing at all, the ability to heal magically might be kind of neat. If there isn't a spellcaster on the team, this could be a really handy use of 0.5 power points.

Then again, you could always rule (or convince your GM) that it doesn't count as magical healing and a given lot of wounds could be healed via spell and empathic healing, just not more than one of each.

AFAIK the rules aren't explicit either way, but my intuition tells me both probably count as the same "magical healing" and thus you can't do both.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th July 2024 - 07:32 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.