IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Which books are loaded with awesome?, Y'know, hypothetically.
Gelare
post Oct 2 2007, 07:08 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 12,235

Hey there folks, I've recently been lucky enough to be offered one Shadowrun book of my choice, from the list of all Shadowrun books ever. Obviously, I want to make a good selection, so I thought I'd come and see which books you all think are particularly impressive. Now, I just started playing SR as of fourth edition, but I am well aware that there are awesome books from times past, especially (it seems to me) third edition.

In the course of browsing the forums I've seen lots of books mentioned in a favorable light - System Failure, Cybertechnology, Mr. Johnson's Little Black Book, Corporate Shadowfiles (or something corporate), and the like. And forgive me if this has been discussed before (to be honest, I think it has), for my search-fu is weak. But if you all feel like chiming in with what your favorite book is (and really, who doesn't like talking about their favorite stuff), I'd appreciate it. :D
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
eidolon
post Oct 2 2007, 07:14 PM
Post #2

ghostrider

Group: Retired Admins
Member No.: 6,333

Actually, on the Awesomeometer, I'd have to give SR2 books a huge leg up on SR3. And if Shadowbeat was technically SR1 (can't remember at the moment), then it gets higher marks too. And this from an avowed SR3 junkie. But given that anything pre4 is just fluff and background if you now play 4, I'd have to say look hard at SR2 stuff.

Specific recommendations from me, in no order:
- Shadowbeat
- Lone Star
- Cybertechnology (actually, if there were an order, this would be 1 or 2; one word, name really: Hatchetman)
- Seattle Sourcebook (original)
- Portfolio of a Dragon (Dunk's will; chock full of badass)