Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Real life EMT vs junkie battle = DocWagon campaign, Life imitates SR
Wounded Ronin
post Oct 16 2007, 11:57 PM
Post #1

Great Dragon

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,383

So over on bullshido.net someone wrote a story about being a DEADLY SHAOLIN EMT in Canada and how he would get into fights with junkies and the like. I thought that it really resembled possible events in a DocWagon campaign for Shadowrun 3rd edition.

I used to be an EMT in a nice bleak Northern industrial town. Nothing to do but get drunk, stoned, get in bar fights and skidoo. (Kinda like Edmonton, just not as much snowmobilling here). Anywhow, lots and lots of creaps how liked to attack ambulance attendants doing our job. So yes, lots of street fights. I'd say I have had at least 50-60 bad ones "on the street" just doing my job, even with a ton of skillful talkdowns instead of takeouts. If it was at all avoidable, we tried to stay out of scraps. Punching and kicking and maglight/O2 bottle beatdowns were reserved only for armed predators and the most deranged screwballs- it also made more work for us patching the fools up afterwards. But lots still happened.
So thank friggin' god, my roomate and ambulance partner knew BJJ, and worked corrections. He was a huge asset and helped boost up our training- which was rudimentary JJ and Judo from paramedic school. My MA stuff was all standup until then. But even then I saw how not pummeling my patients may have been a boon. lol