IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ally Spirit question, The nature of Form
raverbane
post Oct 31 2007, 10:09 PM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 17-October 07
Member No.: 13,735



I did some searches and couldn't find a thread about this question.

If a mage of a possession tradition makes an ally spirit can it have both Materialization and Possession?

On page 103 of Street Magic under step 2: Choose Forms it says the spirit may have either Materialization or Inhabitation.

On page 104 of Street Magic under step 3: Choose Powers It says the extra powers for force are "chosen from any powers available to spirits the initiate may conjure"

Since Possession is a power available to spirits of his tradition, the mage takes it as one of the force powers.

I cant find anywhere in street magic that explicitly says Materialization and Possession are mutually exclusive.

There is a posibility for a spirit having both as per the listing under Free Spirits' new powers on page 107 of Street Magic. It lists Materialization and Possession together (literally) under the powers available and doesn't say anything about a single spirit not being able to have both.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GryMor
post Oct 31 2007, 10:13 PM
Post #2


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 24-September 07
Member No.: 13,404



This is covered in the Errata. Possession tradition mages can select Possession or Inhabitation, but not Materialization.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Big D
post Nov 1 2007, 06:22 AM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 524
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 8,455



A single spirit cannot have both, and Materialization mages can never have Possession Allies.

However, a Possession mage can effectively have Materialization Allies, by picking a vessel and skewing the roll so that an Inhabitation Merge has no chance of resulting in anything but a True Form.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darthmord
post Nov 1 2007, 07:16 PM
Post #4


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,245
Joined: 27-April 07
From: Running the streets of Southeast Virginia
Member No.: 11,548



QUOTE (Big D)
A single spirit cannot have both, and Materialization mages can never have Possession Allies.

However, a Possession mage can effectively have Materialization Allies, by picking a vessel and skewing the roll so that an Inhabitation Merge has no chance of resulting in anything but a True Form.

It also mentions in SM in one section that the true form is the spirit's own normal materialization form / its natural form.

Yet in another section it mentions that if the resulting Inhabitation merge comes out as True Form, then the spirit looks like the vessel but is fully a spirit rather than a combined being.

Which is it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Big D
post Nov 1 2007, 09:05 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 524
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 8,455



It means that the spirit will tend to take on a Materialized form looking like whatever the vessel looked like.

So, if you want a human-looking Ally, Inhabit a mannequin.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eryk the Red
post Nov 1 2007, 09:25 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 633
Joined: 23-February 06
Member No.: 8,301



Or a hobo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
raverbane
post Nov 1 2007, 09:51 PM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 236
Joined: 17-October 07
Member No.: 13,735



Or buy a cloned body (25,000 from Augmentation), get all the desired Cosmetic Surgery you dark heart desires....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Big D
post Nov 1 2007, 10:14 PM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 524
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 8,455



Yes, but in that case (spending real cash), you'll probably be aiming for a successful Inhabitation, rather than a Materialization (see: CyberAlly).

Also, don't forget... sustained Physical Mask or shapeshifting spells.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Nov 1 2007, 10:34 PM
Post #9


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



and of course, you'll have to dikote him . . her . . IT!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Big D
post Nov 2 2007, 06:18 PM
Post #10


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 524
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 8,455



That's a given. :P
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2024 - 12:23 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.