IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Remaining Conscious., Are you still able to remain conscious?
Mooseh
post Nov 13 2007, 10:42 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 12-December 06
Member No.: 10,348



Back in SR3 in "man and machine" there was a rule which I think was optional about remaining conscious after suffering a deadly wound, it was something like body + willpower success test. I was just wondering if this still existed because try as I might I cannot find any reference to such a rule in any of the books.

I just think it added a nice edge to the game.

"Frell I might be bleeding profusely and have an arm falling off, but I'm taking you with me laddie."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Voodoo_Aeion
post Nov 13 2007, 11:50 AM
Post #2


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-February 07
Member No.: 11,017



Don't have the rulebook in front of me but I think it says that if you take damage (physical or stun) that is greater than your Body attribute then you have to take a Body + Willpower (not sure of threshold or if the target is the amount of damage taken) to avoid going unconscious.
I don't know if this would apply if you exceded a condition track though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bogomips
post Nov 13 2007, 12:08 PM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 26-October 07
Member No.: 13,895



You could always apply Dead man's trigger and take out Frell with you as you die. ;)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eryk the Red
post Nov 13 2007, 03:49 PM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 633
Joined: 23-February 06
Member No.: 8,301



QUOTE
  Don't have the rulebook in front of me but I think it says that if you take damage (physical or stun) that is greater than your Body attribute then you have to take a Body + Willpower (not sure of threshold or if the target is the amount of damage taken) to avoid going unconscious.


You're thinking of the knockdown rule. If you suffer damage greater than your Body, you fall down. No test, no unconsciousness.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deek
post Nov 13 2007, 04:33 PM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,706
Joined: 30-June 06
From: Fort Wayne, IN
Member No.: 8,814



All I could find in BBB is:

Page 153
Unconsciousness
When all of the available boxes in a track (Physical or Stun)
are fi lled in, the character immediately falls unconscious and
drops to the ground. If the Stun track is fi lled in, the character
is merely knocked out. If the Physical track is fi lled in, however,
the character is near death and will die unless stabilized (see
Healing, p. 242).

This also applies if your Matrix Condition Monitor fills.

So, there doesn't appear to be any test to NOT fall unconscious. If a track is full, you are unconsious, if not, you are not. Pretty cut and dry.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mr. Unpronouncea...
post Nov 13 2007, 05:44 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 829
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 770



With the exception of one or two pieces of cyberware, which would let you stay conscious (with a full stun track, anyway.)

One thing that has come up in my group before...since stim patches no longer remove stun damage, merely give the ability to ignore modifiers from (rating) boxes...can they wake you up?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Nov 13 2007, 05:57 PM
Post #7


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



I'd say by strict RAW no Mr. Unpronounceable. However, it can be argued due to that "while a stim patch is in effect a character is unable to rest" line, and I'd probably allow it in my games.

Also, theres a few magic spells that let you stay awake with a full stun track too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paradigm
post Nov 13 2007, 06:18 PM
Post #8


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 9-November 07
Member No.: 14,105



The way I always read the ignore (rating) boxes rule was that they could rouse you from being unconcious, though mainly because that was one of the stim's main uses.

I.E. A character has a full stun tract of 10 boxes, slap on a r3 patch, it's temporarily back to 7 boxes, anything that does 3 more stun damage knocks the character back out again. (though it'll still carry over)

that's how I'd use them, at least.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kyoto Kid
post Nov 13 2007, 09:19 PM
Post #9


Bushido Cowgirl
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,782
Joined: 8-July 05
From: On the Double K Ranch a half day's ride out of Phlogiston Flats
Member No.: 7,490



QUOTE (Mooseh)
"Frell I might be bleeding profusely and have an arm falling off, but I'm taking you with me laddie.

[derail]...man, I miss that show...[/derail]
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FriendoftheDork
post Nov 14 2007, 01:04 AM
Post #10


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,288
Joined: 4-September 06
From: The Scandinavian Federation
Member No.: 9,300



I see no problem with letting PCs or NPCs remain conscious at dramatic moments as long as they're still disabled.

Isn't there something in Augmentation about this, some optional rule?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pbangarth
post Nov 14 2007, 01:06 AM
Post #11


Old Man of the North
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 9,495
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Just north of the Centre of the Universe
Member No.: 5,463



QUOTE (Kyoto Kid)
QUOTE (Mooseh)
"Frell I might be bleeding profusely and have an arm falling off, but I'm taking you with me laddie.

[derail]...man, I miss that show...[/derail]

Enlighten the ignorant, please.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Nov 14 2007, 01:59 AM
Post #12


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



Sounds like Farscape to me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th February 2024 - 12:36 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.