IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Riley37
post Jan 19 2008, 07:10 AM
Post #1


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 17-September 07
Member No.: 13,319



If one fires twice in an IP, with SA or BF, does the target get a -1 penalty on the second attack? If one fires two-gun (one in each hand), same effect? If one fires two-gun twice, does the last attack to be resolved get -3 penalty on defender's Reaction roll? That's still a tradeoff for losing Smartlink, but if a team is ganging up on one opponent, then it's also a favor to any teammates who follow up with their own attack. It might be a good tactic for gangers who outnumber the PCs and can't afford smartlink anyways.

For a PC or heavyweight NPC, I'm thinking two SMGs with gas-vents, or Sakura Fubikis, firing short wide bursts, so penalties to defender's Reaction roll would start at -2 and rise to -5. The SF and most SMGs come with extendable stock for 1 point of RC, but I visualize that as applying only if one fires the gun two-handed with stock against shoulder. (I still like Trollman's STR-based recoil rules.)

Does one have to split the dice pool evenly, or could one be mostly focused on the right hand and only allocating 1 die to the left hand?

Can a defender choose not to react to an attack, waiving their Reaction dice to oppose the attacker's roll, in return for not taking a multiple attacker penalty? eg in an astral melee, ignoring the horde of watcher spirit attacks, rather than taking -N for divided attention when their master attacks? or in a video-game-style boss fight, trusting one's armor to shrug off the minion ninja attacks, to focus exclusively on avoiding the Ninja Queen's attacks? (This is an existing rule in Hero System, and has worked reasonably well there.)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Jan 19 2008, 08:09 AM
Post #2


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Riley37)
Does one have to split the dice pool evenly, or could one be mostly focused on the right hand and only allocating 1 die to the left hand?

There is no rule that states Pools must be split evenly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ryu
post Jan 19 2008, 12:34 PM
Post #3


Awakened Asset
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,464
Joined: 9-April 05
From: AGS, North German League
Member No.: 7,309



Yes, and reducing the evasion pool of the target is indeed the goal here. I´d strongly discourage the use of a DP of 1, though. Think "1"...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kyoto Kid
post Jan 20 2008, 08:12 PM
Post #4


Bushido Cowgirl
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 5,782
Joined: 8-July 05
From: On the Double K Ranch a half day's ride out of Phlogiston Flats
Member No.: 7,490



...the Fubuki can only fire a narrow burst.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
djinni
post Jan 22 2008, 03:25 AM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 777
Joined: 22-November 06
Member No.: 9,934



QUOTE (Kyoto Kid)
...the Fubuki can only fire a narrow burst.

I think he was refering to the SMG's for the wide bursts...
and the fubuki as the multiple attackers...
and if he wasn't "SHAME ON YOU!!! Fubuki is only narrow burst!"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Riley37
post Jan 22 2008, 10:11 AM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 17-September 07
Member No.: 13,319



Cogent point re Fubuki. Well, then, it's SMG with gas-vent 3, so the first Simple Action burst gets all its recoil comped, and the second short burst gets net -2 DP from recoil. Alas, no shockpad, and the current rules don't support the wonderful image of the harness with *dual* gyro-stabilizers so that you can guide and fire a White Knight with your left arm and another with your right arm.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th June 2025 - 05:28 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.