IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Priority / cost for metahumans, Go ahead, flame me, but . . .
Chodav
post Dec 1 2003, 11:07 PM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 5,852

Okay, I am relatively new to SR3 and something has me stumped. Elves and trolls use Priority C while dwarves and orks use Priority D. Or, if you prefer the point-based system in SRComp, elves and trolls cost 10 while dwarves and orks cost 5.

(Now, before I go further, let me insert a disclaimer - I am not allowing for any sort of social or role-playing benefit of this or that race, because that will vary from game to game. Some groups play in a way that makes elves very valuable, while others spend half the game smuggling between the Ork Underground and Cascade Ork lands. So, please ignore any non-game-mechanic factors for a moment . . .)

Let's compare the racial modifications:

Dwarf - +1 Body, +2 Strength, +1 Willpower (net +4), thermographic vision, resistance (+2 dice) for any test to resist a disease or toxin

Elf - +1 Quickness, +2 Charisma (net +3), low-light vision

Ork - +3 Body, +2 Strength, -1 Charisma, -1 Intelligence (net +3), low-light vision

Troll - +5 Body, -1 Quickness, +4 Strength, -2 Intelligence, -2 Charisma (net +4), thermographic vision, +1 natural reach, +1 natural dermal armor

As I see it, in terms of game mechanics, elves and orks are virtually identical - both have a net +3 and low-light vision.

Dwarves and trolls are also nearly identical - both have a net +4, thermographic vision, and two other bonuses. They also both suffer the "wrong-sized-world" problem.

Why then, do dwarves cost less than elves?! By the numbers, dwarves are a bargain, and elves are a raw deal. It would seem that dwarves and trolls should be Priority C / cost 10, and elves and orks should be Priority D / cost 5.

(As a reminder, I'm not talking about role-playing issues that will vary from group to group.)