Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Noob question about Commlinks
KCKitsune
post Feb 14 2008, 09:13 AM
Post #1

Neophyte Runner

Group: Members
Member No.: 15,665

OK everyone, noob here and I've got a few questions for everyone. I tried to search for the answer, but failed.

1) Why would anyone buy an off the shelf Commlink when you can get a Meta Link and mod it to Signal & Response 5? Not only is it cheaper, it may make people underestimate you.

2) Firewall is not limited to the Response of the Commlink it's running on. Is System limited? The only reason I ask is because it is not a common or hacking program... I think.

3) The GPS function of Commlinks... why can't it just pull the GPS sat signals from the air? Cell Phones do this today and they are a LOT less advanced than a commlink (and smaller to boot).

This post has been edited by Redjack: Feb 15 2008, 06:51 PM
Reason for edit: Flagged as sr4
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Fortune
post Feb 14 2008, 09:25 AM
Post #2

Immoral Elf

Member No.: 2,486

QUOTE (KCKitsune @ Feb 14 2008, 08:13 PM) *
1) Why would anyone buy an off the shelf Commlink when you can get a Meta Link and mod it to Signal & Response 5? Not only is it cheaper, it may make people underestimate you.

Not every Player cares, and not every character possesses the Matrix savvy to either think of it, or do it themselves.

2) Firewall is not limited to the Response of the Commlink it's running on. Is System limited? The only reason I ask is because it is not a common or hacking program... I think.

You are right that System is not a normal program, but System is specifically listed as being limited.

3) The GPS function of Commlinks... why can't it just pull the GPS sat signals from the air? Cell Phones do this today and they are a LOT less advanced than a commlink (and smaller to boot).