Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Beginner Matrix tips
Murrdox
post Mar 7 2008, 07:39 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 15,752

I'm new to Shadowrun, but I love it. I'm GMing a group of three players right now through the introductory "On the Run" adventure.

I've played SOME Shadowrun before. I love the game, and read some of the novels, it's just that I could never get people who wanted to play before.

ANYWAYS as a new Shadowrun GM, I need some help on the Matrix, and what is, and isn't possible.

One of the first early tasks in the "On the Run" adventure involves hacking a commlink. The Adventure insinuates that you basically have to sneak in and grab the commlink and escape with it, or at least get the team's hacker a few minutes with it to grab the email off of it.

Well, the team has no dedicated hacker.

The team used one of their Contacts, who was a hacker, and hired him to hack the commlink. They paid him, and then basically sat back and expected him to go to work. I told the team that the Contact couldn't just sit back from the comfort of his electronics store and hack into the commlink... they had to go get it and deliver it to him. THEN he'd be able to get the information from it.

Problem is I don't fully understand WHY you'd have to do it that way. If the Commlink is on the Matrix, wouldn't there be a way to find it, and hack into it remotely? If there is, how would you go about doing that?

I'm a beginner with Matrix rules, so a newbie-friendly explanation would be great. We have another person joining the group soon, and I think he's going to create a character with some hacking ability, so I want to be able to GM Matrix things well for them.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
cryptoknight
post Mar 7 2008, 07:44 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 12,735

Best I can say is... think of it this way.

Find my computer on the Internet... now hack into it.