> Initiative
evilgoattea
post Mar 19 2008, 05:39 PM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 15,794

Hello,

I just purchased the Shadowrun 4th edition and while I am new to the rules I am not new to the setting. I have been reading the book and like what I have read so far, but I am wondering: Does anyone here on this forum have a way to play Initiative in a less clunky way, or perhaps have a decent initiative tracking program?

Thanks

-Josh
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Nightwalker450
post Mar 19 2008, 05:42 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 9,720

What problems are you having with initiative, I've never really seen any problems with it (at least that aren't in every other RPG). Except for the multiple IP's, which you just need to keep track of how many IP's each person has.

Is it turn order, number of IP's, or something else that posing problems?

+Quote Post
evilgoattea
post Mar 19 2008, 05:49 PM
Post #3

Moving Target

No Problem really, it just seems like a lot of work to keep track of initaitves for pcs and npcs everyround + keep track of modifiers as well. But in all fairness i havent played it yet, so maybe it looks complicated on paper but in actuality it isnt so bad. I guess my primary interest in this thread is to see if anyone uses any computer programs to track their initiative in their games.

-Josh

+Quote Post
Nightwalker450
post Mar 19 2008, 06:05 PM
Post #4

Moving Target

Member No.: 9,720

Usually as a GM I put the NPC's in groups instead of each rolling their own initiative. So I might have drones in one group, mooks in another group, and then the liutenant gets his own. Basically if their base initiative is pretty close, just treat 'em as a group. I've usually done this with any other RPG as well, so I guess it was overlooked on my part.