IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Lionhearted
post Apr 12 2008, 01:38 PM
Post #1


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,930
Joined: 9-April 05
From: Scandinavian Union
Member No.: 7,310



Let's say a magician operates in a mana flood +3 that he aligned himself to, that would increase all his magical dicerolls by 3 right? now, if he summons a spirit within that zone how is it affected? does its force rise by 3, does it sink?
or simply does the magicians alignment to the area allow the spirit to ignore the background count?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nathanross
post Apr 12 2008, 04:10 PM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 811
Joined: 30-January 07
From: Portland, OR
Member No.: 10,845



Spirits have the same Aspect/Tradition as the magician who summoned them. Thus, the spirits gets Force +3 while in the aspect. Also, other spirits not of the same tradition get -3. This is why Toxic Spirits are scary!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sma
post Apr 12 2008, 04:54 PM
Post #3


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 160
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 282



Spirits do not get a bonus to force due to aspected background count.

They do receive a bonus to magic based tests and drain resistance tests (SM 119).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Lionhearted
post Apr 12 2008, 05:03 PM
Post #4


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,930
Joined: 9-April 05
From: Scandinavian Union
Member No.: 7,310



intresting it seems that this issue isnt entirely clear afterall
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nathanross
post Apr 12 2008, 05:16 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 811
Joined: 30-January 07
From: Portland, OR
Member No.: 10,845



QUOTE (Sma @ Apr 12 2008, 11:54 AM) *
Spirits do not get a bonus to force due to aspected background count.

They do receive a bonus to magic based tests and drain resistance tests (SM 119).

Even if the book says that, Spirits are magic embodied, and +Magic = +Force (or it should be). Same reason that if there is too much negative background count the spirit will pop.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sma
post Apr 12 2008, 06:13 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 160
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 282



The rules are quite clear regarding the effects of background count.

Thinking that extra dice to nearly all powers a spirit decides to use is not enough of a bonus, is a reasonable opinion. I just happen to disagreee with it on the grounds of spirits already being really handy, and that boosting a F 7 conjured spirits force to 10 would not be beneficial for the games I participate in.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th June 2025 - 10:33 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.