IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
psionghost
post May 25 2008, 02:35 AM
Post #1


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 9-April 08
Member No.: 15,870



I have a question regarding using Foci.

Say you have spellcasting of 5 and Magic of 5 and Force 4 Sustaining Foci.

Say i want to sustain, Armor the spell, it says i get a value of B/I armor + per hit on the check. So I roll my 10 dice and say i get however many hits.

How does this work with the sustaining foci? since its force 4 does that limit my hits to say 4 max? or is it whatever i roll? so in theory i could have a force 1 Foci sustaining armor that i scored 6 hits on giving me a +6/+6 armor value or again is it limited to the level of my foci?

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post May 25 2008, 02:55 AM
Post #2


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



Yeah. It's limited to the force of the spell. If you want your focus to sustain it, the force has to be four or less. So, then you'd be able to get four, at most.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
psionghost
post May 25 2008, 02:56 AM
Post #3


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 62
Joined: 9-April 08
Member No.: 15,870



QUOTE (Jackstand @ May 24 2008, 11:55 PM) *
Yeah. It's limited to the force of the spell. If you want your focus to sustain it, the force has to be four or less. So, then you'd be able to get four, at most.


Ok thats what i thought, just wanted to make sure is all, thanks for the quick reply.

Ciao
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post May 25 2008, 02:57 AM
Post #4


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



No problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post May 25 2008, 04:50 AM
Post #5


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Now for the question I've never seen answered adequately. What happens if you spend Edge on the test? Your force hasn't changed, but the success cap just went out the window.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post May 25 2008, 05:48 AM
Post #6


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



I consider it to be another one of those blind spots in the rules, and would house rule that a sustaining focus can only sustain spellcasting hits equal to its Force. I reason that this is a magical device with a hardwired limit to the energy it can handle, and a spell that has been jacked up beyond its normal limits would be the same as a higher Force spell as far as the focus is concerned.

This is a house rule, though. Currently, there is nothing stopping a mage from buying a Force: 1 sustaining focus, casting a Force: 1 increase reflexes spell on it while spending Edge, and winding up with +3 initiative and +3 IP.

On the other hand, maybe someone spending Edge should be able to get an extra boost from a sustaining focus. After all, they are expending points from a dice pool that refreshes very slowly, to get a boost that can be lost any time they need to deactivate the focus (going through wards, etc.). My proposed house rule is more due to how I see the logic of the game world working, than due to any perceived power imbalance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post May 25 2008, 06:20 AM
Post #7


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



I'd run it like Glyph. Focus Rating limits hits.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
i101
post May 25 2008, 04:02 PM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 30-August 07
Member No.: 12,989



Aint it that way that a force one spell limits your net hits up to one?! Fe: To cast a successful increase reflexes spell that gains you +3 initiative and +3 IP you would have to get 4 net hits, considering that a force one increase reflexes spell limits ur net hits up to one, you couldnt even get the +1 INI +1 IP boni.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post May 25 2008, 05:48 PM
Post #9


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



QUOTE (i101 @ May 25 2008, 12:02 PM) *
Aint it that way that a force one spell limits your net hits up to one?! Fe: To cast a successful increase reflexes spell that gains you +3 initiative and +3 IP you would have to get 4 net hits, considering that a force one increase reflexes spell limits ur net hits up to one, you couldnt even get the +1 INI +1 IP boni.

basically yes, though it actually limits hits (not net hits) to 1.

so for example, with a force 1 combat spell if the defender gets a single hit on their spell resistance test, your combat spell will fizzle because you can only have 1 hit total, regardless of how many net hits that might work out to be (in this case 0)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post May 25 2008, 07:44 PM
Post #10


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



What Cain brought up, though, was adding Edge to the spellcasting test. And that limitation does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaid
post May 25 2008, 08:31 PM
Post #11


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,089
Joined: 4-October 05
Member No.: 7,813



QUOTE (Glyph @ May 25 2008, 02:44 PM) *
What Cain brought up, though, was adding Edge to the spellcasting test. And that limitation does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.

lucky for me i wasn't responding to cain's comment then, but rather i101's comment.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post May 25 2008, 08:36 PM
Post #12


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Jaid @ May 26 2008, 06:31 AM) *
lucky for me i wasn't responding to cain's comment then, but rather i101's comment.


So was Glyph. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
i101
post May 25 2008, 10:58 PM
Post #13


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 30-August 07
Member No.: 12,989



@Jaid: Ahh i ment limit hits, and not net hits. My mistake.
@Cain: Spending edge on a force one spell is senseless. The reroll doesnt change nothing, cause the spended edge doenst overrule the max possible limit hits. Therefore it is nothing more then wasting his "luck" for nothing during gametime.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post May 25 2008, 11:24 PM
Post #14


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (i101 @ May 26 2008, 08:58 AM) *
Spending edge on a force one spell is senseless. The reroll doesnt change nothing, cause the spended edge doenst overrule the max possible limit hits.


That's exactly what spending Edge in this fashion is meant to do ... overrule the maximum allowable hits when casting a Spell.

We are not talking about re-rolls, but spending Edge before making the Spellcasting test.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
i101
post May 26 2008, 12:31 AM
Post #15


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 194
Joined: 30-August 07
Member No.: 12,989



I am aware that spending edge before doing any tests is much powerfuller then afterwards ... but i didnt know that it overrules the maximum allowable hits.

Thats the thing with you immortal elfs ... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post May 26 2008, 01:16 AM
Post #16


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



I'd missed that little tidbit, myself. I need to comb over my books some more. I don't get to play enough to have nearly as much memorized as I'd like. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post May 26 2008, 02:27 AM
Post #17


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



It's buried here ...

QUOTE
A spell’s Force limits the number of hits (not net hits) that can be achieved on the Spellcasting Test. So if you cast a Force 3 spell and get 5 hits, only 3 of those hits count. In other words, Force serves as a limiter effect on spells—the more oomph you put into the spell, the better you can succeed with it. This limitation does not apply to Edge dice that are used to boost a spell.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickle5125
post May 26 2008, 02:50 AM
Post #18


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,745
Joined: 30-November 07
From: St. Louis Streets
Member No.: 14,433



while we're on the topic of magic foci... which ones can an adept use? I know they can use weapon foci, and most of the others specifically go to spells or spirits, but what about power foci?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jackstand
post May 26 2008, 02:51 AM
Post #19


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 305
Joined: 15-January 08
From: Milwaukee, WI
Member No.: 15,298



Nope. Just weapon foci.

Edit: That is, of the main ones. I think they can use some of the ones in Street Magic.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post May 26 2008, 05:59 AM
Post #20


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (i101 @ May 25 2008, 02:58 PM) *
@Cain: Spending edge on a force one spell is senseless. The reroll doesnt change nothing, cause the spended edge doenst overrule the max possible limit hits. Therefore it is nothing more then wasting his "luck" for nothing during gametime.

I wasn't referring to rerolls, although I think that's been established.

Here's more of that I was talking about. Our ridiculously Lucky mage has a 5 in spellcasting (manipulation), and a Magic of 5. However, he could only afford a rating 1 sustaining focus. In the middle of a fight, he decides to cast Armor, but doesn't want to risk Drain. So, he casts a Force 1 Armor spell (either on himself or the team troll, it doesn't matter), spends Edge, and rolls 20 exploding dice. With that amount of exploding dice, let's hypothesize that he gets 10 successes. The success cap has been removed, so he now is sustaining an Armor spell that provides 10 bonus points of Ballistic/Impact. The spell is then transferred into the sustaining focus, so he loses the sustaining penalty.

See the problem here? The weak spot with what Glyph is suggesting is that assuming the same spell should nerf itself once transferred to the focus. That's not exactly balanced, smacks of GM protectionism, and would only serve to piss the player off (since he could accomplish the same thing if he ate the sustaining penalty.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post May 26 2008, 06:47 AM
Post #21


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Mickle5125 @ May 26 2008, 12:50 PM) *
while we're on the topic of magic foci... which ones can an adept use? I know they can use weapon foci, and most of the others specifically go to spells or spirits, but what about power foci?


Yes, according to the latest from Synner, Adepts can indeed bond Power Foci. They are only useful in tests that actually include the Magic Attribute though, so are of somewhat limited use to most Adepts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post May 26 2008, 06:51 AM
Post #22


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Cain @ May 26 2008, 03:59 PM) *
See the problem here?

No.

QUOTE
The weak spot with what Glyph is suggesting is that assuming the same spell should nerf itself once transferred to the focus. That's not exactly balanced, smacks of GM protectionism, and would only serve to piss the player off (since he could accomplish the same thing if he ate the sustaining penalty.

I don't agree with this at all. It could simply be that Foci are specifically designed to hold or otherwise manipulate a finite level of 'power', and that spells with effects that exceed that 'power' are reduced accordingly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post May 26 2008, 07:04 AM
Post #23


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



QUOTE (Cain @ May 25 2008, 10:59 PM) *
The weak spot with what Glyph is suggesting is that assuming the same spell should nerf itself once transferred to the focus. That's not exactly balanced, smacks of GM protectionism, and would only serve to piss the player off (since he could accomplish the same thing if he ate the sustaining penalty.


My proposed house rule is due to the fact that I don't see how a magical device with a hardwired limit would have trouble with a Force: 2 spell, but be fine with a Force: 1 spell that is chanelling enough energy to be a Force: 10 spell. It would be pretty botched as "GM protectionism", since the mage can still use Edge in conjunction with things like quickening, or spell sustaining by an ally spirit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post May 26 2008, 07:13 AM
Post #24


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE
I don't agree with this at all. It could simply be that Foci are specifically designed to hold or otherwise manipulate a finite level of 'power', and that spells with effects that exceed that 'power' are reduced accordingly.

First of all, no other focus limits the number of successes you can get. If I spend Edge with a spellcasting focus, even though it's handling a finite amount of power, it doesn't alter the success cap. I can cast a force 5 or force 10 spell with the same focus, and the focus has zero effect on the result.

Second, it's rather poor form to resort to in-game technobabble to restrict a game-breaking effect. House rules, or a discussion with the player after it's proved to be an issue, tend to be more effective.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post May 26 2008, 07:23 AM
Post #25


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



I fail to see the game-breaking effect. I am also of the opinion that Glyph's (and of course my own) view on this matter is in fact canon. If it turns out that it isn't canon, it doesn't bother me in the slightest to make a house rule (using whatever rationale I choose) to remedy any perceived problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th June 2025 - 03:27 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.