IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Two Swords better than one?, New player question...
Phist
post May 24 2008, 08:16 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 16,002

Hey I'm new to the setting, having trouble finding clear rules on two weapon fighting. I know that you get -2 for the off hand and you split your dice pool, but what's the advantage of fighting with two pistols, or two blades, as opposed to just one?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
AngelisStorm
post May 24 2008, 08:22 AM
Post #2

Moving Target

From: Edge of the Redmond Barrens, Borderline NAN. Runnin' the border for literal milk runs.
Member No.: 11,565

I'll start with the easier one. The advantage to fighting with two pistols is that you get more shots off. Since pistols can only fire finitely fast, you can get twice as many shots off with two pistols. Probably more importantly, if you have a SS weapon in each hand, it means you can still get off 2 shots a phase (and both with smart link bonuses, since your not firing them at the same time).

Two HtH weapons is... different. Basically check out Arsenal. There are some really sick combos you can pull off with two melee weapons, though you won't have max reach if you do it (and your still splitting the dice pool).

+Quote Post
Phist
post May 24 2008, 08:35 AM
Post #3

Target

Member No.: 16,002

Man... I just started pulling through the core book.. I wont have time to touch Arsenal. Hell, I dont even think I have access to it.

So there are no core bonuses to two H2H weapon fighting?

+Quote Post
hobgoblin
post May 24 2008, 09:28 AM
Post #4

panda!

Member No.: 2,242

nope, the split dice pool do not even officially apply for hth in the main book...

+Quote Post
Snow_Fox
post May 24 2008, 02:16 PM
Post #5

Prime Runner

Member No.: 1,221