![]() |
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Post
#1
|
|
Runner ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2,925 Joined: 26-February 02 Member No.: 948 ![]() |
I remember that in SR3 you could cast multiple spells at once by splitting the casting dicepool (and perhaps even the drain pool) in order to fling two or more spells at once - is that still possible?
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#2
|
|
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,245 Joined: 27-April 07 From: Running the streets of Southeast Virginia Member No.: 11,548 ![]() |
Yes it is still possible in SR4. I recall several people talking about how useful it was to double cast two lower force Manaballs rather than one big one.
It's basically a nickel & dime effect rather than a $1 smack up side the head. Death from a thousand papercuts sort of thing. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#3
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 256 Joined: 11-March 08 Member No.: 15,759 ![]() |
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#4
|
|
Moving Target ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 536 Joined: 25-January 08 From: Can I crash on your couch? Member No.: 15,483 ![]() |
QUOTE (BBB p.173) Casting Multiple Spells: In some circumstances, a magician may seek to cast multiple spells simultaneously (including multiples of the same spell—for example, to target two different opponents with a mana bolt in the same action). Multiple spells may be cast with the same Complex Action, but to do so the magician must split her Magic + Spellcasting dice pool between each target. Additionally, the Drain Value for each of the spells is increased by +1 per additional spell (Drain Resistance Tests are also handled separately). Multiple spells are resolved in whatever order the caster desires. The maximum number of spells a character can cast in a single Complex Action is equal to her Spellcasting skill, and each spell must be allocated at least one die.
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#5
|
|
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,069 Joined: 19-July 07 From: Oakland CA Member No.: 12,309 ![]() |
How would splitting your dice pool interact with foci and fetishes? Specifically what I"m thinking about is crazy multicast moderate force indirect spells as a sneak attack. If they can't dodge they just eat the force of the spell plus whatever 1 or 2 you get on the casting. If you could stack foci, on each test that would be a lot more viable. Anyone with better RAW-fu than I care to spell that interaction?
|
|
|
![]()
Post
#6
|
|
Target ![]() Group: Members Posts: 10 Joined: 31-May 08 Member No.: 16,021 ![]() |
I had a player that asked me the same thing, i sayed him this because there is a lak of info in that, i told him that he could use the foci bonus completly on the first spell however the next spell he losed 2 dices of the foci and so on, and if the foci stayed without dices it had to make a chek equal to its rating or it would destroy.
And about the sneak attack i dont see it possible because the metahumans resist magic instinctively. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#7
|
|
Immoral Elf ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 15,247 Joined: 29-March 02 From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat Member No.: 2,486 ![]() |
In SR4 the Dice Pool typically is made up of Attribute plus Skill (plus anything that directly adds to those two stats). Anything else is a Dice Pool Modifier. When you split your Dice Pool, you effectively are creating two new and totally separate Dice Pools (for the purpose of making two separate tests). Any modifier that is applicable to either test is then added to (or subtracted from) those Dice Pools. There is nothing in the rules that limits the amount of times a single Focus can be used in a turn or how many tests that Focus can modify (merely the limit of one Focus per test).
Keep in mind that all modifiers are applicable to split Dice Pools, not just the positive ones, and there are usually a lot more negative modifiers than there are those that grant a bonus. |
|
|
![]()
Post
#8
|
|
Running Target ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 1,069 Joined: 19-July 07 From: Oakland CA Member No.: 12,309 ![]() |
Thanks, fortune that was exactly the kind of reply I was hoping for
With the sneak attack you get to bi-pass the dodge. They still get to resist with whatever they have available |
|
|
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 21st August 2025 - 04:32 AM |
Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.