Reply to this topicStart new topic
> ultrasound vs Infiltration?
Pluckx
post Jun 22 2008, 02:48 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 16,075

Hi guys, i just started playing a few weeks ago, and created a character which relies mostly on stealth skills. I was just wondering... does Ultrasound automatically detect an infiltrating character regardless of his infiltration check? I know there is a rule to bypass motion sensors (which use an ultrasound field to detect motion) by succeding an infiltration check, threshold of 3 and moving at half a meter per combat turn. Is there a similar rule for the ultrasounds character can have or do they just see you regardless? thx for the help guys! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Sir_Psycho
post Jun 22 2008, 10:49 AM
Post #2

Shooting Target

Member No.: 10,361

A character with an ultrasound vision enhancement/similar modification has to make an opposed perception check against the infiltration roll. However, invisibility spells, ruthenium camouflage, light modifiers etc. will not count against the ultrasound roll.

So no. There is no automatic detection.

+Quote Post
Heath Robinson
post Jun 22 2008, 11:01 AM
Post #3

Running Target

Member No.: 15,736

It operates as a normal camera under SR4 rules. I guess one would remove most visibility penalties but add penalties for interpretting the image due to the alien nature of an ultrasound image compared to normal imaging. Range would be more limited and certain environments would make them near impossible to use. I'm not actually certain how common ultrasound noise is, but since everything is GM fiat anyway you shouldn't have to worry about that.

Given that ultrasound imaging is relatively common in security applications in 2070, I'd expect most characters trained in stealth will have a practical grounding in avoiding being detected by it.

+Quote Post
Shiloh
post Jun 23 2008, 04:29 PM
Post #4

Moving Target