IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Transform Spell Targets
tisoz
post Dec 16 2003, 08:18 AM
Post #1


Free Spirit
*******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,931
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Bloomington, IN UCAS
Member No.: 1,920



Can Transform change gender?

Can magicians target critters to transform into other critters?

Would the spell end with the target's death?

In second edition, Transform stated the target was not conscious of his previous form, third edition omits such information and makes it sound like a shapechange spell for unwilling targets. Which way is correct?

If transform is only a version of shapechange for unwilling targets, does shapechange work on unconscious targets?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sphynx
post Dec 16 2003, 08:45 AM
Post #2


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,222
Joined: 11-October 02
From: Netherlands and Belgium
Member No.: 3,437



Altering Gender is a GM call, I'd allow it unless I thought it would disrupt gameplay somehow.

Critters can indeed be transformed into other critters.

Yes, the target of any sustained (and even permanent) spell ends with the target's death.

Transform is not at all like 2nd Ed. It only works as Shapechange on an unwilling.

Sphynx

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mfb
post Dec 16 2003, 10:57 AM
Post #3


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 11,410
Joined: 1-October 03
From: Pittsburgh
Member No.: 5,670



...permanent spells end with the target's death? that sets up some weird situations--any wounds that have been magically healed will reappear.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sphynx
post Dec 16 2003, 11:45 AM
Post #4


Neophyte Runner
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,222
Joined: 11-October 02
From: Netherlands and Belgium
Member No.: 3,437



Heh, sorry, I didn't mean Permanent, I was meaning sustained spells that are made permanent (Quickens, Sustaining Foci, etc). Very poor wording on my part. Shoulda read "permanently sustained". However, I'm still looking for the reference to that. I recall reading about it when reading about Astral Projection somewhere but am having trouble finding the notation, so it may not be a Canon ruling (though I think it should be)

Sphynx
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zazen
post Dec 16 2003, 02:21 PM
Post #5


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,685
Joined: 17-August 02
Member No.: 3,123



For Mana spells that makes sense because the target is no longer valid. I don't think that Physical spells should end when the target dies, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tisoz
post Dec 16 2003, 03:06 PM
Post #6


Free Spirit
*******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,931
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Bloomington, IN UCAS
Member No.: 1,920



I know quickened, anchored and foci sustained spells end upon the caster's death.

Shapechange and transform happen to be physical.

How about casting shapechange on an unconscious target? For some spells, that supercedes consent (voluntary requirement.)

So even a transformed enemy retains all his knowledge and abilities, just limited by the form.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Spookymonster
post Dec 16 2003, 03:44 PM
Post #7


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 22-April 02
Member No.: 2,638



QUOTE (tisoz)
How about casting shapechange on an unconscious target? For some spells, that supercedes consent (voluntary requirement.)

How so? My understanding of the Voluntary requirement is that if the target is unaware of the spell, then they aren't voluntary. An involuntary target automatically succeeds at any resistance test against a Voluntary spell.

I would say that an unconscious target certainly qualifies as being unaware of the spell (or the rest of their surroundings, for that matter).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BitBasher
post Dec 16 2003, 04:59 PM
Post #8


Traumatizing players since 1992
******

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 3,282
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Las Vegas, NV
Member No.: 220



An unconscious target automatically attempts to resist all spells except heal/treat. It's in the book. Being unconscious does NOT make you a voluntary target.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Cheshire Pen...
post Dec 16 2003, 07:12 PM
Post #9


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 43
Joined: 4-December 03
From: Seattle
Member No.: 5,875



I've always ruled that whether a transformed person knows they are a transformed person or thinks they are an animal is a mechanic of the spell.
Physical manips. on targets that die are still effective because the target is still valid. :dead:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th May 2023 - 02:23 PM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.