IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sustaining Focus with "lend" spell?
Machiavelli
post Sep 14 2008, 07:36 PM
Post #1


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,911
Joined: 26-February 02
From: near Stuttgart
Member No.: 1,749



Is there a restriction for another mage to put spells into my sustaining focus? I play an Fomori Troll who ain´t able to cast an "increased reflexes" spell at the required force, but I know a friendly mage who could and I own a bound sustaining focus. Does this possibility exist?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hyzmarca
post Sep 14 2008, 07:48 PM
Post #2


Midnight Toker
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,686
Joined: 4-July 04
From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop
Member No.: 6,456



QUOTE (Machiavelli @ Sep 14 2008, 03:36 PM) *
Is there a restriction for another mage to put spells into my sustaining focus? I play an Fomori Troll who ain´t able to cast an "increased reflexes" spell at the required force, but I know a friendly mage who could and I own a bound sustaining focus. Does this possibility exist?


To cast through a sustaining focus, you must bind that sustaining focus. No exceptions. If you could convince him to bind the focus and let you have it, that would work. But unless he binds it you're not going to accomplish anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Machiavelli
post Sep 14 2008, 08:01 PM
Post #3


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,911
Joined: 26-February 02
From: near Stuttgart
Member No.: 1,749



Damn, I think your right. Baaah....thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Sep 14 2008, 08:06 PM
Post #4


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



would the spell dissipate if someone else tried to bind the focus?
probably, but i don't remember reading anything like that . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Sep 14 2008, 08:11 PM
Post #5


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



A bound focus must also always be in contact with you. So no, you can't bond a focus for someone else, and no, you can't put a spell into someone else's focus. The Living Focus adept power is as close as you can get to such functionality. Well, aside from Anchoring Foci and Quickening, but both of those have their hurdles, too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
hyzmarca
post Sep 14 2008, 08:25 PM
Post #6


Midnight Toker
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,686
Joined: 4-July 04
From: Zombie Drop Bear Santa's Workshop
Member No.: 6,456



QUOTE (Dr. Funkenstein @ Sep 14 2008, 04:11 PM) *
A bound focus must also always be in contact with you.


Sustaining focuses have always been the exception to that rule. They simply have to be in contact with the subject of the spell. This allows a magician to cast useful spells on the whole party before a run without rendering himself useless due to penalties.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rasumichin
post Sep 14 2008, 08:33 PM
Post #7


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,300
Joined: 6-February 08
From: Cologne, Germany
Member No.: 15,648



QUOTE (hyzmarca @ Sep 14 2008, 09:25 PM) *
Sustaining focuses have always been the exception to that rule. They simply have to be in contact with the subject of the spell.


Is there any passage in SR4 that says that?
I've never heard this before.

QUOTE
This allows a magician to cast useful spells on the whole party before a run without rendering himself useless due to penalties.


You can do this when you are carrying the foci as well.
You don't even need LOS once the spells have been cast.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HappyDaze
post Sep 14 2008, 08:46 PM
Post #8


Shooting Target
****

Group: Members
Posts: 1,838
Joined: 1-September 05
Member No.: 7,669



QUOTE
Sustaining focuses have always been the exception to that rule. They simply have to be in contact with the subject of the spell. This allows a magician to cast useful spells on the whole party before a run without rendering himself useless due to penalties.

This is incorrect. In 4E, the focus stays with the casting magician not with the subject of the spell. Consider that the act of sustaining a spell always stays with the casting magician and all the sustaining focus does is create a magical 'loop' that allows the sustaining sans concentration (and thus the -2 penalty).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Sep 14 2008, 08:47 PM
Post #9


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



QUOTE (hyzmarca @ Sep 14 2008, 03:25 PM) *
Sustaining focuses have always been the exception to that rule. They simply have to be in contact with the subject of the spell. This allows a magician to cast useful spells on the whole party before a run without rendering himself useless due to penalties.

That was 3rd Edition.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wasabi
post Sep 14 2008, 08:50 PM
Post #10


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,251
Joined: 11-September 04
From: GA
Member No.: 6,651



QUOTE (BBB @ p191)
Once activated, a focus continues to operate as long as it is on the owner€™s person, be it worn, carried, handheld, or in a pocket or pouch. If the focus is snatched away or dropped, it immediately deactivates and all benefits are lost until it is recovered and reactivated.

What HappyDaze said. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

The rules for sustaining on BBB p174 do not say that touching the target must be maintained so by RAW the mage casts a touch spell, touches the subject, then may either sustain it or have a bound and 'activated' sustaining focus sustain it for him.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Stahlseele
post Sep 14 2008, 09:41 PM
Post #11


The ShadowComedian
**********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 14,538
Joined: 3-October 07
From: Hamburg, AGS
Member No.: 13,525



hmm . . owner . . so if i make a focus and sell or give it away as a gift, i ain't the owner anymore? does the thing operate as long as the new "owner" has it handy?
yes, i know, that's kinda dickish . .
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ol' Scratch
post Sep 14 2008, 09:45 PM
Post #12


Immortal Elf
**********

Group: Validating
Posts: 7,999
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,890



As soon as someone binds with a focus, it becomes "theirs." You can even give a bound focus to someone else; if they pay the karma to bind it, it's now theirs and no longer yours.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Sep 15 2008, 04:42 AM
Post #13


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Actually, IIRC, the moment someone spends karma to begin binding it, it stops being yours. I can't recall if that's a 4th ed rule or not, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wasabi
post Sep 15 2008, 11:38 AM
Post #14


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,251
Joined: 11-September 04
From: GA
Member No.: 6,651



QUOTE (Cain @ Sep 14 2008, 11:42 PM) *
Actually, IIRC, the moment someone spends karma to begin binding it, it stops being yours. I can't recall if that's a 4th ed rule or not, though.


I'd be very curious if you happen to find a reference supporting that as well as how long it takes. A HTH test to grapple it, 1 karma and the power focus 6 is unbound to the old owner seems an unduly extreme option I hope isn't supported by RAW.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Sep 15 2008, 06:57 PM
Post #15


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Wasabi @ Sep 15 2008, 04:38 AM) *
I'd be very curious if you happen to find a reference supporting that as well as how long it takes. A HTH test to grapple it, 1 karma and the power focus 6 is unbound to the old owner seems an unduly extreme option I hope isn't supported by RAW.

I do recall that Bonding requires a ritual that lasts (Force) Hours, so it isn't that easy. What I don't recall is if you can still pay for a focus piecemeal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Sep 15 2008, 07:05 PM
Post #16


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



At the end of the bonding ritual you spend the karma, so no piecemeal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darthmord
post Sep 16 2008, 02:50 PM
Post #17


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,245
Joined: 27-April 07
From: Running the streets of Southeast Virginia
Member No.: 11,548



I know there were / used to be some verbiage about piecemeal karma expenditures regarding a focus and Enchanting.

Don't remember what edition though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Sep 16 2008, 04:33 PM
Post #18


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



All editions up to 4th allowed piecemeal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th April 2024 - 01:18 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.