IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

9 Pages V  « < 7 8 9  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Armor and how to get it (Sky High!), Getting 100+ armor bonus consistantly for fun and profit
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 05:15 PM
Post #201


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Oct 21 2008, 09:04 AM) *
No. The rules say, A = 0. Think of variables.
Initially and normally, A = C+B+V+P.
You do a called shot, that sets A = 0.
C B V and P do not need to change their values. Because A is no longer equal to them.

Then if A != C+B+V+P, how do you derive the initial value of A?

You're saying this:

A = C + B+ V + P

A x 0 = A

Which, of course, cannot be right from a mathematical standpoint, unless CBVP also equals 0.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azmahel
post Oct 21 2008, 05:27 PM
Post #202


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 11-September 08
Member No.: 16,338



But technicaly a called shot doesn't change anything about the armor-value of a target.
It *does* however change the damage-resistance test, which becomes simply Body, not Body+Armor,
So A is still about 50+, yet doesn't conferr any bonus dice to am damageresistance test.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 05:31 PM
Post #203


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



It's the modified armor that's compared for the penetration test. So, if you manage to modify the armor down to zero, the barrier provides no help at all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azmahel
post Oct 21 2008, 05:34 PM
Post #204


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 11-September 08
Member No.: 16,338



yet you don't modify the armor at all.
you modify the resistancetest.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 06:07 PM
Post #205


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Azmahel @ Oct 21 2008, 09:34 AM) *
yet you don't modify the armor at all.
you modify the resistancetest.

That's not quite right. For the purpose of penetration, you compare the modified armor rating.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azmahel
post Oct 21 2008, 06:11 PM
Post #206


Target
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 11-September 08
Member No.: 16,338



still the armor rating isn't modified by the longshot,
yet you might pass the barrier with an high DV, high AP Attack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 06:17 PM
Post #207


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



SR4, 157, "If the weapon’s modified Damage Value does not exceed the barrier’s Armor rating (modified by the weapon’s AP), then the weapon is simply not strong enough to pierce the barrier, and the attack automatically fails."
Quite explicitly, the only thing that effects the armor rating of the barrier is the AP value of the weapon. If Barrier Armor - AP > DV of attack, attack fails.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 06:48 PM
Post #208


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Azmahel @ Oct 21 2008, 11:11 AM) *
still the armor rating isn't modified by the longshot,
yet you might pass the barrier with an high DV, high AP Attack

The armor *is* modified. If you hit with a flechette weapon, the AP penalty doesn't apply.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 06:52 PM
Post #209


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 21 2008, 12:48 PM) *
The armor *is* modified. If you hit with a flechette weapon, the AP penalty doesn't apply.


He is actually quite correct. The called shot rules explicitly state the armor is ignored for damage resistance, and the target rolls only body. In fact, the armor never is modified to 0.

Damage resistance test normally: body + armor.
Called shot to bypass armor damage resistance test: body.

The barrier and everything else maintains its original armor rating, and all the rules for shooting through the barrier apply. You simply only roll body for his damage resistance test.

SR4, 150, "If the attack hits, the target’s armor is ignored for the damage resistance test; the target rolls only Body."

Edit: This also means that armor will still reduce a Physical DV down to Stun, even if you call a shot to bypass it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 07:14 PM
Post #210


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Actually, that particular called shot is: "Target an area not covered by armor". So, the armor is bypassed. There's no exception for barriers. Also, the physical DV is left untouched, and the AP penalty of flechette ammo does not apply.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 07:17 PM
Post #211


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



And the character is enclosed in a barrier. So you have to shoot through the barrier to hit the character. If you can't do that, the attack fails, ignoring armor for damage resistance or not.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 07:21 PM
Post #212


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (Tarantula @ Oct 21 2008, 12:17 PM) *
And the character is enclosed in a barrier. So you have to shoot through the barrier to hit the character. If you can't do that, the attack fails, ignoring armor for damage resistance or not.

By definition, when you use that Called Shot, you're targeting a weak point, so you can damage the rigger. So, not only is the armor modified to 0, but you have a shot at his unprotected flesh, never mind how. Sure, you have to take a -140 penalty to even consider the shot, but that's what Longshot tests are for.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fortune
post Oct 21 2008, 07:22 PM
Post #213


Immoral Elf
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 15,247
Joined: 29-March 02
From: Grimy Pete's Bar & Laundromat
Member No.: 2,486



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 22 2008, 06:14 AM) *
Actually, that particular called shot is: "Target an area not covered by armor".


Actually, if you're claiming that Barriers are equivalent to, and treated as worn Armor, then such an area does not exist in this case, due to the presense of the Rigger Cocoon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 07:41 PM
Post #214


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 21 2008, 01:21 PM) *
By definition, when you use that Called Shot, you're targeting a weak point, so you can damage the rigger. So, not only is the armor modified to 0, but you have a shot at his unprotected flesh, never mind how. Sure, you have to take a -140 penalty to even consider the shot, but that's what Longshot tests are for.


Armor is not modified to 0. It is ignored during the damage resistance test. That is all.

It does not say that it is ignored for everything. Only for the damage resistance. This means you need to exceed the armor of the barrier in order to do damage to him. And you need to exceed his armor rating in order to do P damage to him.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BullZeye
post Oct 21 2008, 08:15 PM
Post #215


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 228
Joined: 27-July 08
Member No.: 16,168



Just to clarify this a bit: a guy is standing behind a small town, structure of 453 and armor of 236 wearing a light body armor, you can bypass the whole tiny obstacle by reducing enough dice to drop his armor to 0? Or just to simplify, a big concrete wall with body 20 armor 10 and a guy standing behind it in lined coat, the one targeting has to reduce how many dice to kill the guy with his Ares Predator firing a fletchette round? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif)

A guy in cocoon and cocoon inside a car: you gotta get through the cocoon in order to bypass the armor the guy is wearing. But it's still a layered armor so you can nibble through it slowly if I recall (armor degrade optional rule in arsenal, somewhere?).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 21 2008, 09:28 PM
Post #216


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



QUOTE (BullZeye @ Oct 21 2008, 12:15 PM) *
Just to clarify this a bit: a guy is standing behind a small town, structure of 453 and armor of 236 wearing a light body armor, you can bypass the whole tiny obstacle by reducing enough dice to drop his armor to 0? Or just to simplify, a big concrete wall with body 20 armor 10 and a guy standing behind it in lined coat, the one targeting has to reduce how many dice to kill the guy with his Ares Predator firing a fletchette round? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif)

He couldn't make the shot, because he'd be out of range of a heavy pistol (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)

Seriously, if you have a problem with the called shot, don't allow it. Just like the mechatank: If he can get away with the rules-twisting required to have 100+ points of armor, the same GM is bloody likely to allow the called shot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 21 2008, 09:45 PM
Post #217


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 21 2008, 03:28 PM) *
He couldn't make the shot, because he'd be out of range of a heavy pistol (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif)

Seriously, if you have a problem with the called shot, don't allow it. Just like the mechatank: If he can get away with the rules-twisting required to have 100+ points of armor, the same GM is bloody likely to allow the called shot.


Just a note, one the rules were hashed out, he had 50+worn armor. So, if we took Brick and threw him in there, it'd be 100+. But more than likely in the area of 50-70. Of course, when you throw magic throws a wrench in things, but at best, with a force 12 armor on the car, and a force 12 armor on the character, that'd be 24 more armor. And I'd guess you could do a force 12 reinforce on the rigger cocoon. So 36. Assuming you can get the 12 hits on each of those and keep them sustained somehow.


Regardless, there is no rules twisting in order to get that to work, and anyone wanting to shoot at the character inside the vehicle is pretty much retarded. You'd be much better of just shooting the vehicle (or calling a shot to bypass the vehicle armor, at a 20-32 point penalty) and just blow the vehicle up. Then take your time getting up to him to take him out.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post Oct 22 2008, 06:11 AM
Post #218


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



QUOTE (Main Rulebook @ pg. 149, slight emphasis mine (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif) )
When a shot is called, either of the following may occur, at the player's choice and with the gamemaster's agreement.

Some might say that in SR4, a bit too much is left to GM discretion, rather than being iron-clad and consistent. But it does put the kibosh on things like a player claiming he should be able to bypass armor that is completely enclosing the target.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 22 2008, 08:19 AM
Post #219


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Tarantula and I are working on the assumption that the shot is already allowed. A GM could ban anything in their game, including the mechatank. My argument is that if he's allowing people to run around with 100+ points of armor, taking a -100 penalty to bypass it isn't going to change the game much.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BullZeye
post Oct 22 2008, 08:27 AM
Post #220


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 228
Joined: 27-July 08
Member No.: 16,168



So you are saying that it's possible to bypass structure with a called shot? I thought it only works for armors...

SR4 core 149-150
QUOTE
Target an area not protected by armor. Th e attacking character
receives a negative dice pool modifier equal to the target’s
armor (better armor is more difficult to bypass). If the attack
hits, the target’s armor is ignored for the damage resistance
test; the target rolls only Body.


Which means this whole debate was... pointless?

So again we hit the essence of dumpshock: I was right, you were wrong (IMG:style_emoticons/default/nyahnyah.gif) (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wobble.gif) (IMG:style_emoticons/default/grinbig.gif) Muahahahaahah (IMG:style_emoticons/default/twirl.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cain
post Oct 22 2008, 08:38 AM
Post #221


Grand Master of Run-Fu
*********

Group: Dumpshocked
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 26-February 02
From: Tir Tairngire
Member No.: 178



Well, technically speaking, all the barrier does is add armor to the subject. And if it's armor, it can be bypassed. This: "The armor is zero but it's really not" business is just a side argument.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BullZeye
post Oct 22 2008, 09:25 AM
Post #222


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 228
Joined: 27-July 08
Member No.: 16,168



Yes, it's armor but you first have to get through the barrier's body as well. And as that's not armor, you have to first "kill" the structure before you can get past it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Glyph
post Oct 22 2008, 12:37 PM
Post #223


Great Dragon
*********

Group: Members
Posts: 7,116
Joined: 26-February 02
Member No.: 1,449



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 22 2008, 01:19 AM) *
Tarantula and I are working on the assumption that the shot is already allowed.

You need to tell Tarantula that, because it seems like he has been arguing that it is not allowed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 22 2008, 02:51 PM
Post #224


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (Cain @ Oct 22 2008, 02:38 AM) *
Well, technically speaking, all the barrier does is add armor to the subject. And if it's armor, it can be bypassed. This: "The armor is zero but it's really not" business is just a side argument.

No, it does 2 things. It adds armor to the subject. And it must be shot through via the "shooting through barriers" section.
Calling a shot drops armor off from the damage resistance test. The check for being able to shoot through the barrier happens before that.

QUOTE (Glyph @ Oct 22 2008, 06:37 AM) *
You need to tell Tarantula that, because it seems like he has been arguing that it is not allowed.

A while back I was. Then I said lets continue under the assumption the GM allows the shot.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

9 Pages V  « < 7 8 9
Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th September 2025 - 05:56 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.