IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Touch Range Spells, Can you make a damaging melee attack too?
How would you play it?
You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Total Votes: 19
Guests cannot vote 
Tarantula
post Oct 10 2008, 06:10 PM
Post #1


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



Just a question I had and was wanting to get the opinion of dumpshock on.

As a mage/mystic adept, when you cast a touch range spell on an unwilling opponent, you have to make an unarmed combat roll in order to successfully touch them and cast the spell. (SR4, 195) Making a "touch only" melee attack gives you a +2 bonus. (SR4, 148). Can the mage make a non-touch only attack but rather a normal attack and if successful inflict both unarmed damage as well as cast their spell?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ravor
post Oct 10 2008, 06:19 PM
Post #2


Cybernetic Blood Mage
******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,472
Joined: 11-March 06
From: Northeastern Wyoming
Member No.: 8,361



I'm fairly sure this is not RAW, but as long as the Mage in question was willing to 1/2 his dicepool on both tests then sure why not?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Wasabi
post Oct 10 2008, 06:49 PM
Post #3


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,251
Joined: 11-September 04
From: GA
Member No.: 6,651



I think its legal: On BBB, p195 it says, "must make a normal unarmed attack"

The word 'normal' makes me think its legal to do a damaging punch/kick/headbutt by forfeiting the modifier for touch casting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
darthmord
post Oct 10 2008, 06:53 PM
Post #4


Running Target
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,245
Joined: 27-April 07
From: Running the streets of Southeast Virginia
Member No.: 11,548



Given the mechanic exists in other games but they don't allow for damage dealt, I would go with no damage for melee attack to cast a touch range spell.

All you are doing is trying to touch them. Your efforts aren't devoted toward dealing damage but toward casting the spell. I would allow such things as a weapon focus to assist in trying to hit as long as the weapon focus was one that could be used with the Unarmed Combat skill. You would not however get the damage of the unarmed attack as that wasn't the reason for the attack. Spellcasting was.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tycho
post Oct 10 2008, 07:40 PM
Post #5


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 285
Joined: 22-April 06
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Member No.: 8,495



the FAQ state it is impossible for Shock Gloves, so i think it should be not allowed to Spells.

cya
Tycho

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TKDNinjaInBlack
post Oct 10 2008, 09:33 PM
Post #6


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 8-September 08
From: St. Louis, UCAS
Member No.: 16,329



Don't forget that there is a special bonus to an unarmed attack for just trying to touch your opponent. of course you don't get to do damage.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tarantula
post Oct 10 2008, 09:38 PM
Post #7


Dragon
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,664
Joined: 21-September 04
From: Arvada, CO
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE (TKDNinjaInBlack @ Oct 10 2008, 03:33 PM) *
Don't forget that there is a special bonus to an unarmed attack for just trying to touch your opponent. of course you don't get to do damage.

I quite clearly addressed that.
QUOTE (Tarantula)
Can the mage make a non-touch only attack but rather a normal attack and if successful inflict both unarmed damage as well as cast their spell?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TKDNinjaInBlack
post Oct 10 2008, 09:55 PM
Post #8


Moving Target
**

Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 8-September 08
From: St. Louis, UCAS
Member No.: 16,329



Whoops...

Somehow I skipped over the first post.

Sorry.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
knasser
post Oct 10 2008, 10:11 PM
Post #9


Shadow Cartographer
*******

Group: Members
Posts: 3,737
Joined: 2-June 06
From: Secret Tunnels under the UK (South West)
Member No.: 8,636



Casting a spell is a complex action as is an unarmed strike. I'd be unlikely to allow this in my game as I don't see someone being able to simultaneously perform two complex actions. That a touch spell allows something similar in that you can just brush them, would not be sufficient argument to sway me on this potentially powerful interpretation.

Regardless of whether allowed or not by a GM however, I don't think it is RAW.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th August 2025 - 07:28 AM

Topps, Inc has sole ownership of the names, logo, artwork, marks, photographs, sounds, audio, video and/or any proprietary material used in connection with the game Shadowrun. Topps, Inc has granted permission to the Dumpshock Forums to use such names, logos, artwork, marks and/or any proprietary materials for promotional and informational purposes on its website but does not endorse, and is not affiliated with the Dumpshock Forums in any official capacity whatsoever.