IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Beans and bultets., Thinking about a company level mercernary idea.
rob
post Dec 12 2008, 03:48 AM
Post #1

Moving Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 11,552

I'd like to get some feedback from the wise heads around here as to what yall think about the following idea. Specifically, I'm looking for input on whether this would be feasible, whether there might be interest in it, and what kind of things could be cool with it.

I've been kicking this idea around in my head for the past several months, as a potential long-term and larger capacity PBP game.

The basic idea would run something like this:
1. 10-20 Players are the leadership of a company-sized (100-200 man) mercernary unit.
2. This unit has prioirty bid on a textbook military mission - I was thinking 'mercenary company occupies and secures (for example) refinery complex in <remote, ungoverned or semi-governed location> no later than <6 months game time after mission received> until relieved by <sponsoring corporation security> no later than <9 months game time after mission received> in order to secure valuable, unowned resources for client.
3. Unit has something like 50 million nuyen in capital.
4. Players figure out bid for the contract.
5. Players structure their company accordingly (individual and team equipment for soldiers, skill set of soldiers, chain of command among soldiers and players).
6. Players move forces from <area where company assembled and equipment bought> to <target> and execute mission.

If possible, head GM would run the general situation, and there would be one or a group of opposing force players who play the group of people currently in the area (and would have a separate mission set). Head GM could also play the chairman of the mercenary company's board of directors, who could provide advice in sticky situations.