IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Feral Cities: Chicago, Review of the first half.
imperialus
post Dec 18 2008, 07:16 PM
Post #1

Shooting Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 769

Well where to begin. This is my first time I've tried to do a real review so hopefully it remains coherent.

First, I'll state my bias. Shadowrun's metaplot has always been my favorite aspect of the game. It may be rambling, and semi-coherent at times but I love it. I remember buying Bug City as a wee lad and promptly sending my PC's there just in time for the wall to go up. It was a TPK, and it was glorious in all it's 14 year old power fantasy munchkinism. At any rate, I've got a lot of good memories of Chicago, and after reading Feral Cities I do plan on sending my group back there.

Part 1: No Place Like Home 5 pages
This is the history lesson that is by now a requirement for any Shadowrun book. The last time we saw anything dealing with Chicago was Bug City, which I think was published in around 91, long before most current players cracked a Shadowrun book. My first impression was that it was really cool to see them revisit what was, I think the first major metaplot event in the 6th world.

The history lesson is necessarily short, but well focused, and it should give most GM's and players a reasonable understanding of what the hell happened between 2055 and 2070, and why Chicago is so fucked up. There is a brief expose on the Universal Brotherhood, but details are sparse. Copies of both Bug City and Universal Brotherhood would be useful for any GM's who plan on spending much time in the windy city. Street Magic is also essential if you plan on actually using Insect Spirits/Shamans.

Part 2: Econopocalypse 7 pages