Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Possession Spirits
Navar
post Jan 5 2009, 10:11 AM
Post #1

Target

Group: Members
Member No.: 16,735

I'm new to 4th edition but have been running in 3rd edition campaigns and am making the jump. I'm thinking of taking the spirit pact quality and am wondering which spirit with the possession quality would be best to take as my spirit. I would appreciate any advice. Aside from telling me how ignorant this quality is.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
raggedhalo
post Jan 5 2009, 02:45 PM
Post #2

Moving Target

Member No.: 13,515

It depends which pact you want, really. Whether the spirit is possession or materialisation shouldn't matter too much. Choose your pact and talk to your GM about what sort of spirit you made the pact with.

+Quote Post
Lilt
post Jan 5 2009, 08:34 PM
Post #3

Shooting Target

Member No.: 2,032

Well, it really depends on what type of pact you have, and what tradition you are. Assuming you're going Voodoo (it has a good array of spirits, with access to spirits that can get everything from Weather control through Innate Spell to any Combat, Technical, or Physical skill in the game), and want a dream pact: A guardian spirit might be an interesting choice, as might a guidance or task spirit. You probably wouldn't get anything for free, but you would have access to a potentially valuable or skilled ally.

• With a guardian spirit, sleeping turns you into a (supernaturally) tough warrior with combat skills and the Magical Guard power, meaning the spirit can protect the party whilst you're asleep. If your mage is wimpy, it might even be amusing to really tire yourself out just before a run, so you can fall asleep if it looks like you're gonna get into combat.
  • A guidance spirit could divine for the group whilst you're asleep, if your party's willing to pay, and also has the Magical Guard ability.